Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Micro Four Thirds > Olympus OM-D E-M5 Mark II

Olympus OM-D E-M5 Mark II The first OM-D's successor.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 3rd July 2016
Cygnet Cygnet is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Bolton
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Live Boost

Hi
I see a lot of articles on the net saying use Live View Boost when shooting in manual mode. However when I try to set it up in the menu whilst in manual mode the option is greyed out ! Can anyone help me to sort it out please ?

Thanks !

Wes
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 3rd July 2016
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 6,638
Thanks: 526
Thanked 795 Times in 600 Posts
Likes: 1,708
Liked 1,030 Times in 617 Posts
Re: Live Boost

According to the MANUAL on page 102, it's available.

It says the same for my E-M1 and that works.

Try setting the camera to "A or S" then setting the LVB to On1 then switch to Manual Mode.

Hope it works
__________________
Graham

We often repeat the mistakes we most enjoy...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 3rd July 2016
Cygnet Cygnet is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Bolton
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Live Boost

Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham_of_Rainham View Post
According to the MANUAL on page 102, it's available.

It says the same for my E-M1 and that works.

Try setting the camera to "A or S" then setting the LVB to On1 then switch to Manual Mode.

Hope it works

Thanks for your reply Graham. It doesn't work for A,S,P or M. That is unless the exposure required is say .5 sec or more ! I am wanting to use it in a studio situation at 1/125 or similar so I can see my model ! I have managed to turn it on in the SCN and ART and video modes but that is all !
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd July 2016
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 6,638
Thanks: 526
Thanked 795 Times in 600 Posts
Likes: 1,708
Liked 1,030 Times in 617 Posts
Re: Live Boost

I use live view boost in the studio all the time, in Manual Mode at 1/250s as exposure is set by the flash meter.

I'm at a loss to know why that is not working...

Try a "Factory Reset"
__________________
Graham

We often repeat the mistakes we most enjoy...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3rd July 2016
Cygnet Cygnet is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Bolton
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Live Boost

Thanks again Graham !

Reset Worked !!

Now to set all my options again... long evening coming up LOL
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 3rd July 2016
Cygnet Cygnet is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Bolton
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Live Boost

Ohhhh heck !

Setting it up I came to S-OVF Under menu J ....if turned ON it stops Live view boost from working !! If only it was documented !!
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Cygnet For This Useful Post:
OM USer (4th July 2016)
  #7  
Old 4th July 2016
Ross the fiddler's Avatar
Ross the fiddler Ross the fiddler is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Blue Mtns, NSW Australia
Posts: 10,934
Thanks: 1,754
Thanked 1,059 Times in 837 Posts
Likes: 3,752
Liked 1,155 Times in 721 Posts
Re: Live Boost

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cygnet View Post
Ohhhh heck !

Setting it up I came to S-OVF Under menu J ....if turned ON it stops Live view boost from working !! If only it was documented !!
I'm glad you found that. Usually a Menu option has been greyed out because of another conflicting setting & it is not so good if the only way it was cleared was to reset the camera. That way you don't discover the conflict.
__________________
Ross
I fiddle with violins (when I'm not fiddling with a camera).
Cameras: OM-D E-M1 & Mk II, Olympus Stylus 1, OM-D E-M5.
Lenses: M.ZD40-150mm f2.8 PRO Lens with MC-14, M.ZD12-50, M.ZD60 Macro, M.ZD75-300 Mk II, MMF-3, ZD14-54 II, ZD12-60 SWD, ZD50-200 SWD, EC14, EC20, EX25, Sigma 150mm F2.8 APO Macro DG HSM.
Flashes: FL36R X2, FL50R, FL50.
Software: Capture One Pro 10 (& Olympus Viewer 3).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
JTQ live crimbo Show your movies 3 20th August 2014 04:44 PM
Live Streaming with EM5 cowboy Movie mode - technical discussions 1 19th August 2014 06:17 PM
Live and Let Die pandora Foto Fair 5 29th January 2012 07:02 AM
My memory needs a boost! Homer Simpson Software 14 13th June 2011 07:25 AM
A small win, but a huge ego boost! Janet Foto Fair 13 20th September 2010 06:30 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:33 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2017, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger