Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!

Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Micro Four Thirds

Micro Four Thirds Discuss the newly announced Micro Four Thirds addition to the Four Thirds system family here.

Old 17th March 2018

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question E-M1 mark ii - flash compensation

Hello all, I'm new to her so please excuse my lack of knowledge if I'll do something wrong.

I have an OM-D E-M1 mark ii couple with with an FL-900R. Whilst working in pure MANUAL mode (camera) and TTL flash, I'm trying to do flash compensation on camera, even trying the extremes (-3EV to 3 EV) and I'm not noticing any change in the results - really and truly I'm seeing them overexposed. I've made sure that the exposure compensation setting on camera is just for the flash (not flash + camera although this won't make any difference when being used in Manual mode). It seems that when I switch the FLASH to AUTO instead of TTL, which is not the best setting as it will not communicate with the camera, the compensation settings do work.. which is strange. Can anyone help me out with this please?

THANK YOU!

regards
david
Old 17th March 2018
Administrator

Thanked 2,445 Times in 1,233 Posts
Liked 1,653 Times in 740 Posts
Re: E-M1 mark ii - flash compensation

Hi David and welcome to the site. Must try to visit your interestiung island some time

You make an ineresting point about adjusting the flash in the way you describe.