Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Olympus E-3

Olympus E-3 E-3 specific discussion.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 3rd December 2015
Imageryone Imageryone is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Suffolk,England
Posts: 4,934
Thanks: 1,101
Thanked 797 Times in 755 Posts
Likes: 656
Liked 564 Times in 336 Posts
Advice required,please.

No matter which lens I fit, the auto-focus works as I would expect, fast in good light and signals " locked ".
However, when the images are put into editing software afterwards, only about 10 % are actually in focus and are really sharp. No sharp point to signify off centre focus.

The camera is set to single point focus and single frame. ISO 100 and I do use IS 1 mostly as my hands shake. Even at shutter speeds above 1/500 I still get the same problem.
The camera was bought on the forum from a member I trust implicitly, so, have I in my techno ignorance, switched something I should not have?
__________________
The picture tells the story, great when you have a bad memory.DW.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 3rd December 2015
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 8,050
Thanks: 635
Thanked 931 Times in 720 Posts
Likes: 2,241
Liked 1,568 Times in 900 Posts
Re: Advice required,please.

Try putting the camera on a tripod or bean bag and use a remote trigger.

I seem to recall sending you a focus chart, so that would be a useful subject to test against.

Also try using all the focus points as the PDAF may have a fault on one sensor.

Good luck.
__________________
Graham

We often repeat the mistakes we most enjoy...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 3rd December 2015
Imageryone Imageryone is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Suffolk,England
Posts: 4,934
Thanks: 1,101
Thanked 797 Times in 755 Posts
Likes: 656
Liked 564 Times in 336 Posts
Re: Advice required,please.

Thanks Graham,
you did indeed send me a focus chart, which I have used to test this problem.
Using the E-1 and E-330 on a studio tripod, geared head, remote and timed delay, I get perfect auto-focus 95% of the time.

With the E-3, however, using the same set up it still only goes up to 20% totally sharp images.

I, will, however take your advice and try on multifocus tommorrow, but having tried that before, it seemed appreciably slower to lock on focus?
__________________
The picture tells the story, great when you have a bad memory.DW.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd December 2015
David M's Avatar
David M David M is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: A Brit now living in Ontario, Canada.
Posts: 6,605
Thanks: 39
Thanked 678 Times in 640 Posts
Likes: 254
Liked 1,312 Times in 792 Posts
Re: Advice required,please.

Isn't there an option to take a shot before achieving focus, maybe that is set.
__________________
It's the image that's important, not the tools used to make it.

David M's Photoblog or follow me on Instagram.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 4th December 2015
Imageryone Imageryone is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Suffolk,England
Posts: 4,934
Thanks: 1,101
Thanked 797 Times in 755 Posts
Likes: 656
Liked 564 Times in 336 Posts
Re: Advice required,please.

Quote:
Originally Posted by David M View Post
Isn't there an option to take a shot before achieving focus, maybe that is set.
Thanks David, I will check that too.
__________________
The picture tells the story, great when you have a bad memory.DW.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 4th December 2015
Imageryone Imageryone is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Suffolk,England
Posts: 4,934
Thanks: 1,101
Thanked 797 Times in 755 Posts
Likes: 656
Liked 564 Times in 336 Posts
Re: Advice required,please.

Had a thought, would some-one please tell me how to Factory Reset the E-3, that way I can start from scratch , thanks.
__________________
The picture tells the story, great when you have a bad memory.DW.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 4th December 2015
Bikie John's Avatar
Bikie John Bikie John is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wessex
Posts: 3,889
Thanks: 186
Thanked 639 Times in 567 Posts
Likes: 471
Liked 712 Times in 478 Posts
Re: Advice required,please.

Quick google for Olympus e-3 factory reset turned up this link, which looks plausible and low risk:

http://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/34998548

Hope this helps.

John
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Bikie John For This Useful Post:
Imageryone (4th December 2015)
  #8  
Old 4th December 2015
Imageryone Imageryone is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Suffolk,England
Posts: 4,934
Thanks: 1,101
Thanked 797 Times in 755 Posts
Likes: 656
Liked 564 Times in 336 Posts
Re: Advice required,please.

Thanks , John, will try that.
__________________
The picture tells the story, great when you have a bad memory.DW.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 4th December 2015
Ralph Harwood's Avatar
Ralph Harwood Ralph Harwood is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Wirral
Posts: 1,822
Thanks: 213
Thanked 294 Times in 274 Posts
Likes: 765
Liked 412 Times in 254 Posts
Re: Advice required,please.

Does the E-3 have the same focus adjustment options as the E-30? If so it could be that the previous owner has adjusted it for his lens, but your lens is missing focus slightly because of the adjustment. Do you get sharp images with contrast focus on liveview?

Cheers,

Ralph.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 4th December 2015
Imageryone Imageryone is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Suffolk,England
Posts: 4,934
Thanks: 1,101
Thanked 797 Times in 755 Posts
Likes: 656
Liked 564 Times in 336 Posts
Re: Advice required,please.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralph Harwood View Post
Does the E-3 have the same focus adjustment options as the E-30? If so it could be that the previous owner has adjusted it for his lens, but your lens is missing focus slightly because of the adjustment. Do you get sharp images with contrast focus on liveview?

Cheers,

Ralph.
Thanks Ralph, i did research this, but the E-3 does not have this facility.
__________________
The picture tells the story, great when you have a bad memory.DW.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ID Required Danny Foto Fair 5 20th June 2012 09:24 PM
Eye Cup Required xp1 For sale or wanted small ads 4 24th March 2012 08:33 PM
help required Roberta Looking for improvement 8 13th March 2011 03:56 PM
Advice required xp1 General accessories 17 30th September 2010 06:54 AM
Advice required re studio lighting beardedwombat Flash 16 30th December 2007 09:56 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:40 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger