Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!

Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Olympus E-450

Old 11th February 2013

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
e-450 dark images help please

I have acquired an E-450 which is new and to be honest I was hoping for great things, however to say I am disappointed is a bit of an understatement. First I should point out that I am an amateur who just likes to take pictures in the hope of getting something reasonable once in a while. however with the 450 I have found that it is difficult to get anything even reasonable without constant fiddling.
The problem is that on auto the pictures are always way to dark the only way I can bet something about right is to mess around with the exposure compensation, take a picture view it adjust the exposure, take the picture more adjustment etc etc, not much good for wild life or sports shots as the wild life is long gone by the time I get the settings right or the moment in sport is done. I am coming to the conclusion that it may well be the lens that is causing the problem. The one that came with the camera is the 14-42 1:3.5-5.6. Can anyone advise am I going to have to go out and buy another lens? if so what do I need? (I have seen people talking about the 14-54 zuiko but for what I am going to have to pay for one of those I may as well trade in and get something completely different) or am I missing something, I have to say that once a get a picture the quality of the image is very nice but I am fast running out of patience with all the faffing around to try and get a reasonable picture.
Old 11th February 2013

Liked 38 Times in 24 Posts