Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Accessory talk > Flash

Flash FL-related discussions can be found here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 22nd December 2018
Harold Gough Harold Gough is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Reading UK
Posts: 5,636
Thanks: 56
Thanked 782 Times in 713 Posts
Likes: 40
Liked 3,097 Times in 1,664 Posts
First Macro with A7R & Triple Nissin Air 1 Flash

This may seem out of place here but the same Nissin System, and the later Nissin 10 update, are available in m4/3 versions.

I regularly use triple TTL RC flash for macro with my Olympus m4/3 system

A couple of years ago, I invested in a Sony A7R for wide angle landscapes, etc . but also for macro with flash. I initially purchased one Nissin Di700 and its Air 1 Command unit. Affordability being an issue, there was some delay before adding a second Di700. There was a much longer delay to obtain a third unit, the smaller i60a, which arrived this week.

When lighting subjects from behind, or at some angles from the side, it is important to be able to direct some light downwards, which also avoids flash light entering the front of the lens directly, causing flare and greatly reducing contrast. Two of my Olympus units can be locked in position, tilted downwards at 45 degrees. Placing these two higher up, each on a separate block of wood gets them into ideal (flexible) orientation.

The Nissin guns do not tilt downwards at all so I use a mini tripod for the i60A. A standard female thread in the base of its detachable stand fits the male thread on most tripods.

There is not a wide choice of flowers available to me at this time of year but some of our Christmas cactus (Schlumbergera hybrid) offer colour and interesting shape.

Sony A7R (manual mode), Leitz Wetzlar 60mm Elmarit at 1/160 at f11, ISO 320, triple TTL RC flash, handheld.

The stereo is crosseye.

So, this was a first try of a setup with a rarely-used camera, a very rarely used lens and a new setup of three flash guns, only two of which were used before, and not very often. I can see that I can work with this in much the same way as with my very familiar m4/3 hardware.

Harold



__________________
The body is willing but the mind is weak.
Reply With Quote
The Following Users Liked This Post:
Darkroom (23rd December 2018), drmarkf (23rd December 2018), Jax (23rd December 2018), Ricoh (23rd December 2018)
  #2  
Old 23rd December 2018
Ricoh Ricoh is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 5,792
Thanks: 592
Thanked 421 Times in 373 Posts
Likes: 787
Liked 1,919 Times in 1,143 Posts
Re: First Macro with A7R & Triple Nissin Air 1 Flash

Nice work!
__________________
Steve

on flickr
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23rd December 2018
Harold Gough Harold Gough is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Reading UK
Posts: 5,636
Thanks: 56
Thanked 782 Times in 713 Posts
Likes: 40
Liked 3,097 Times in 1,664 Posts
Re: First Macro with A7R & Triple Nissin Air 1 Flash

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricoh View Post
Nice work!
Thanks, Steve.

It took me ages, not for the first time with Nissin, to get the third unit linked in to the Command unit. Their video misses out a procedure.

Harold
__________________
The body is willing but the mind is weak.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23rd December 2018
Walti Walti is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 3,287
Thanks: 306
Thanked 214 Times in 182 Posts
Likes: 235
Liked 1,628 Times in 608 Posts
Re: First Macro with A7R & Triple Nissin Air 1 Flash

I've not managed to make multiple flash units run as true TTL, mainly because sticking some sort of diffuser in the way seems to muck the process up, when I have three "naked" flash guns all pointing directly the exposure seems about right, but in any other scenario I end up going manual.

I have a mini studio set up I'm starting to use quite a bit and I can only get decent results in manual settings for the flash units there.

NB this is all with Olympus "R" flash guns. (FL-600R and FL36R).
__________________

Some Olympus stuff
I didn't get where I am today...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23rd December 2018
Harold Gough Harold Gough is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Reading UK
Posts: 5,636
Thanks: 56
Thanked 782 Times in 713 Posts
Likes: 40
Liked 3,097 Times in 1,664 Posts
Re: First Macro with A7R & Triple Nissin Air 1 Flash

Quote:
Originally Posted by Walti View Post
I've not managed to make multiple flash units run as true TTL, mainly because sticking some sort of diffuser in the way seems to muck the process up, when I have three "naked" flash guns all pointing directly the exposure seems about right, but in any other scenario I end up going manual.

I have a mini studio set up I'm starting to use quite a bit and I can only get decent results in manual settings for the flash units there.

NB this is all with Olympus "R" flash guns. (FL-600R and FL36R).
I don't know what you are doing but I can assure you that all my guns are diffused, except the control unit. With the Olympus set-up (FL-36R and FL-300Rs) the flash of the LM2 is turned off and does not contribute to the image.

Harold
__________________
The body is willing but the mind is weak.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Harold Gough For This Useful Post:
Walti (23rd December 2018)
  #6  
Old 23rd December 2018
Harold Gough Harold Gough is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Reading UK
Posts: 5,636
Thanks: 56
Thanked 782 Times in 713 Posts
Likes: 40
Liked 3,097 Times in 1,664 Posts
Re: First Macro with A7R & Triple Nissin Air 1 Flash

Quote:
Originally Posted by Walti View Post
I have a mini studio set up I'm starting to use quite a bit and I can only get decent results in manual settings for the flash units there.

NB this is all with Olympus "R" flash guns. (FL-600R and FL36R).
Just check:

On your 36R, use the mode button to select RC, displayed as C I C, plus any compensation value (select with large dial).

I don't have the 600R but the manual says:

Wireless Flash Settings Wireless control is available with Olympus digital cameras that support RC mode. The unit is controlled by means of a flash mounted on the camera. It can also be mounted on a camera for wireless control of multiple remote flash units. For information on cameras that support this system, see the camera manual. 1 Set the camera and flash to RC mode. Press MODE (F) and rotate the dial to select a flash control mode. 2 Use the flash to select the channel and group. Press MODE (F) and use FGHI to highlight items and rotate the dial to change. Channel Set the camera and flash to the same channel. Group The camera can adjust flash settings * separately for up to 3 groups; choose the group to which the flash belongs. * Including flash control mode, flash level, and flash compensation.

I hope this helps.

Harold
__________________
The body is willing but the mind is weak.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Harold Gough For This Useful Post:
Walti (23rd December 2018)
  #7  
Old 23rd December 2018
Harold Gough Harold Gough is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Reading UK
Posts: 5,636
Thanks: 56
Thanked 782 Times in 713 Posts
Likes: 40
Liked 3,097 Times in 1,664 Posts
Re: First Macro with A7R & Triple Nissin Air 1 Flash

A final thought: Have you got RC On in the camera menu?

Harold
__________________
The body is willing but the mind is weak.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Harold Gough For This Useful Post:
Walti (23rd December 2018)
  #8  
Old 23rd December 2018
Walti Walti is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 3,287
Thanks: 306
Thanked 214 Times in 182 Posts
Likes: 235
Liked 1,628 Times in 608 Posts
Re: First Macro with A7R & Triple Nissin Air 1 Flash

I've got them set up correctly and they are controllable in manual from the camera, but the will not do TTL - however hard I try - exposures always come out very underexposed... Set them up manually and all is fine and dandy - so I've no eye deer what I'm doing wrong - but it's definitely me rather than the kit!
__________________

Some Olympus stuff
I didn't get where I am today...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 23rd December 2018
Harold Gough Harold Gough is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Reading UK
Posts: 5,636
Thanks: 56
Thanked 782 Times in 713 Posts
Likes: 40
Liked 3,097 Times in 1,664 Posts
Re: First Macro with A7R & Triple Nissin Air 1 Flash

On my EM-1 I see, as soon as the camera is switched on, a black "RC" in a white square at the top of the screen.

Harold
__________________
The body is willing but the mind is weak.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 23rd December 2018
Walti Walti is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 3,287
Thanks: 306
Thanked 214 Times in 182 Posts
Likes: 235
Liked 1,628 Times in 608 Posts
Re: First Macro with A7R & Triple Nissin Air 1 Flash

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harold Gough View Post
On my EM-1 I see, as soon as the camera is switched on, a black "RC" in a white square at the top of the screen.

Harold
Me too!
__________________

Some Olympus stuff
I didn't get where I am today...
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 24th December 2018
Harold Gough Harold Gough is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Reading UK
Posts: 5,636
Thanks: 56
Thanked 782 Times in 713 Posts
Likes: 40
Liked 3,097 Times in 1,664 Posts
Re: First Macro with A7R & Triple Nissin Air 1 Flash

Have you seen your RC flash menu panel?

If you go the Shooting Menu, choose the second option and select RC from that.

Turn RC off & press "OK" button. Then back on again & press "OK" button.

Then, instead of the usual Master Control Panel (via OK button on my camera) you should see the flash RC panel (not labelled as such). (The panels sometimes alternate).

My settings are:

A TTL Z/FP Z (Z means squiggle)
B TTL * LO (* is a camera symbol)
C TTL ch 1
* OFF (* is a camera symbol)

Harold
__________________
The body is willing but the mind is weak.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 24th December 2018
Walti Walti is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 3,287
Thanks: 306
Thanked 214 Times in 182 Posts
Likes: 235
Liked 1,628 Times in 608 Posts
Re: First Macro with A7R & Triple Nissin Air 1 Flash

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harold Gough View Post
Have you seen your RC flash menu panel?

If you go the Shooting Menu, choose the second option and select RC from that.

Turn RC off & press "OK" button. Then back on again & press "OK" button.

Then, instead of the usual Master Control Panel (via OK button on my camera) you should see the flash RC panel (not labelled as such). (The panels sometimes alternate).

My settings are:

A TTL Z/FP Z (Z means squiggle)
B TTL * LO (* is a camera symbol)
C TTL ch 1
* OFF (* is a camera symbol)

Harold
I find it all works as expected when the flashes are pointing directly at the subject and thereís nothing compromising the flash in the way of diffusion and so on, stick a diffuser on the flash and itís generally OK but a bit hit and miss, move away from the simple and it all falls to pieces and exposures are all over the place! So I think itís the way Iím diffusing the flash more than anything, especially in the studio scenario as Iím using umbrellas and so on....
__________________

Some Olympus stuff
I didn't get where I am today...
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 24th December 2018
Harold Gough Harold Gough is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Reading UK
Posts: 5,636
Thanks: 56
Thanked 782 Times in 713 Posts
Likes: 40
Liked 3,097 Times in 1,664 Posts
Re: First Macro with A7R & Triple Nissin Air 1 Flash

Quote:
Originally Posted by Walti View Post
I find it all works as expected when the flashes are pointing directly at the subject and thereís nothing compromising the flash in the way of diffusion and so on, stick a diffuser on the flash and itís generally OK but a bit hit and miss, move away from the simple and it all falls to pieces and exposures are all over the place! So I think itís the way Iím diffusing the flash more than anything, especially in the studio scenario as Iím using umbrellas and so on....
You may be asking too much of the flash power available. Try zooming to telephoto. Alternatively, increase ISO.

Harold
__________________
The body is willing but the mind is weak.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nissin di466 Flash Help Keith1974 Olympus OM-D E-M5 5 26th December 2016 10:18 AM
Canon and Nissin flash units Pipsternat51 Olympus OM-D E-M1 5 29th September 2016 06:24 PM
For sale Nissin i40 Flash rosco For sale or wanted small ads 6 30th August 2016 07:42 PM
For sale Nissin Di466 Flash Iiyama For sale or wanted small ads 7 22nd July 2016 05:21 PM
Nissin Di466 flash and E-M5 cariadus Flash 11 21st December 2014 01:21 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:55 PM.


© The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger