Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > General photography discussion

General photography discussion Please look for a specific board to start your thread but if you can't find an appropriate one, post it here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 8th April 2018
Roy Mathers Roy Mathers is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Berkhamsted
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Can't import using Olympus OI Share

I don't know whether this is the right place /forum but I can't seem to find the right one, so here goes.

I've been experimenting with Olympus OI Share and, while I can use the remote control facilities satisfactorily, I am unable to make it import photos. The display tells me that there are no images, although I know the camera has many images. Does it only import images that were taken using the app?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 8th April 2018
IainMacD's Avatar
IainMacD IainMacD is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Drumnadrochit
Posts: 3,499
Thanks: 1,185
Thanked 516 Times in 464 Posts
Likes: 1,508
Liked 671 Times in 207 Posts
Re: Can't import using Olympus OI Share

If I remember correctly it only imports jpgs and not RAW files; do you shoot jpgs?
__________________
Iain

E-M5 II, E-M1, 7.5, 8-18, 12-40, 17, 25, 40-150, 45, 60, 300

Website
Flickr
Reply With Quote
The Following Users Liked This Post:
MJ224 (8th April 2018), RobEW (9th April 2018)
  #3  
Old 8th April 2018
Roy Mathers Roy Mathers is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Berkhamsted
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Can't import using Olympus OI Share

Both - RAW on slot 1, jpeg on slot 2. Shouldn't it pick the jpegs on slot 2 - or is there a way of telling it to?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th April 2018
IainMacD's Avatar
IainMacD IainMacD is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Drumnadrochit
Posts: 3,499
Thanks: 1,185
Thanked 516 Times in 464 Posts
Likes: 1,508
Liked 671 Times in 207 Posts
Re: Can't import using Olympus OI Share

Sorry Roy, I don't have the mark II so can't help with that.
__________________
Iain

E-M5 II, E-M1, 7.5, 8-18, 12-40, 17, 25, 40-150, 45, 60, 300

Website
Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 9th April 2018
Ross the fiddler's Avatar
Ross the fiddler Ross the fiddler is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Blue Mtns, NSW Australia
Posts: 12,565
Thanks: 1,893
Thanked 1,181 Times in 934 Posts
Likes: 4,598
Liked 1,556 Times in 916 Posts
Re: Can't import using Olympus OI Share

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roy Mathers View Post
Both - RAW on slot 1, jpeg on slot 2. Shouldn't it pick the jpegs on slot 2 - or is there a way of telling it to?
To view images from Card slot 2 in camera, press & hold play button & rotate front dial to change. That might be necessary with OIShare as well.
__________________
Ross
I fiddle with violins (when I'm not fiddling with a camera).
Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/ross-the-fiddler/
Cameras: OM-D E-M1 & Mk II, Olympus Stylus 1, OM-D E-M5.
Lenses: M.ZD12-40mm f2.8 PRO Lens, M.ZD40-150mm f2.8 PRO Lens with MC-14, M.ZD12-50, M.ZD60 Macro, M.ZD75-300 Mk II, MMF-3, ZD14-54 II, Sigma 150mm F2.8 APO Macro DG HSM.
Flashes: FL36R X2, FL50R, FL50.
Software: Capture One Pro 10 (& Olympus Viewer 3).
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 9th April 2018
Roy Mathers Roy Mathers is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Berkhamsted
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Can't import using Olympus OI Share

I tried that Ross, but with the same result. I even tried after having taken out card No 1, but it still says the same thing - 'No Images'.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 9th April 2018
birdboy birdboy is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Essex
Posts: 1,322
Thanks: 338
Thanked 227 Times in 192 Posts
Likes: 176
Liked 280 Times in 141 Posts
Re: Can't import using Olympus OI Share

Have you selected the images on the camera first. Go to images press ok and select share. Then put camera in smartphone mode launch image share and the number of images shared should appear in the import.
__________________
John

OM-D E-M1, 12-40 f2.8 Pro, Tamron 14-150mm f5.8, E5, E3, Zuiko 50-200mm SWD, Zuiko 12-60mm SWD, Zuiko ED 70-300mm f5.6, 50mmf2, Zuiko ED 9-18mm f5.6, Sigma 50-500mm f6.3, EC14, EC20, RM-1, VA-1
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 9th April 2018
Roy Mathers Roy Mathers is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Berkhamsted
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Can't import using Olympus OI Share

Quote:
Originally Posted by birdboy View Post
Have you selected the images on the camera first. Go to images press ok and select share. Then put camera in smartphone mode launch image share and the number of images shared should appear in the import.
No, I haven't - I didn't think it was necessary. I thought the import images command was all that was needed.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10th April 2018
MJ224's Avatar
MJ224 MJ224 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Carmarthenshire
Posts: 8,342
Thanks: 518
Thanked 414 Times in 391 Posts
Likes: 3,819
Liked 1,886 Times in 968 Posts
Re: Can't import using Olympus OI Share

Must admit I have never been given the choice of which card to download from. Suspect it only works on SD slot 1............
__________________
My Sailing Page

My Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10th April 2018
Phill D's Avatar
Phill D Phill D is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Derbyshire
Posts: 8,172
Thanks: 929
Thanked 1,196 Times in 1,113 Posts
Likes: 626
Liked 1,577 Times in 796 Posts
Re: Can't import using Olympus OI Share

Definitely interested in your outcome Roy, hope you get it working. I haven't tried it myself except for when I first got my old Mk1 a few years ago and I couldn't get it to work either. To be honest at the time I didn't have a tablet and had tried it on my wife's iPad so didn't pursue it any further. I have an android tablet now so may well give it a go sometime.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 14th May 2018
Dave in Wales's Avatar
Dave in Wales Dave in Wales is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: West Wales
Posts: 717
Thanks: 46
Thanked 88 Times in 72 Posts
Likes: 81
Liked 430 Times in 146 Posts
Re: Can't import using Olympus OI Share

I've just sussed how to do it.......

After setting up wifi on the camera go into iPhone settings and join the camera network wif, just as one would when joining any other wifi network. The password is displayed on the camera screen.

Downside 1, one has to go into iPhone setting each time one wants to share and select camera wifi network....as far as I can tell.

Downside 2, my iPhone would bot recognise my main network wifi password, I had to rejoin and enter the password.

It seems to me It's not worth the b****y aggravation, I had similar problems when using the remote control feature as well.

O.I.Share......a big thumbs down.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 14th May 2018
Ross the fiddler's Avatar
Ross the fiddler Ross the fiddler is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Blue Mtns, NSW Australia
Posts: 12,565
Thanks: 1,893
Thanked 1,181 Times in 934 Posts
Likes: 4,598
Liked 1,556 Times in 916 Posts
Re: Can't import using Olympus OI Share

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave in Wales View Post
I've just sussed how to do it.......

After setting up wifi on the camera go into iPhone settings and join the camera network wif, just as one would when joining any other wifi network. The password is displayed on the camera screen.

Downside 1, one has to go into iPhone setting each time one wants to share and select camera wifi network....as far as I can tell.

Downside 2, my iPhone would bot recognise my main network wifi password, I had to rejoin and enter the password.

It seems to me It's not worth the b****y aggravation, I had similar problems when using the remote control feature as well.

O.I.Share......a big thumbs down.
I don't think it is the fault of OIShare that your iPhone doesn't switch to another WiFi network & worse, not remember the password. I only use my iPad at home & haven't used it for some time with OIShare, but I'm sure it remembered the passwords though.
__________________
Ross
I fiddle with violins (when I'm not fiddling with a camera).
Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/ross-the-fiddler/
Cameras: OM-D E-M1 & Mk II, Olympus Stylus 1, OM-D E-M5.
Lenses: M.ZD12-40mm f2.8 PRO Lens, M.ZD40-150mm f2.8 PRO Lens with MC-14, M.ZD12-50, M.ZD60 Macro, M.ZD75-300 Mk II, MMF-3, ZD14-54 II, Sigma 150mm F2.8 APO Macro DG HSM.
Flashes: FL36R X2, FL50R, FL50.
Software: Capture One Pro 10 (& Olympus Viewer 3).
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 14th May 2018
Walti Walti is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 2,369
Thanks: 257
Thanked 143 Times in 128 Posts
Likes: 193
Liked 1,068 Times in 425 Posts
Re: Can't import using Olympus OI Share

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ross the fiddler View Post
I don't think it is the fault of OIShare that your iPhone doesn't switch to another WiFi network & worse, not remember the password. I only use my iPad at home & haven't used it for some time with OIShare, but I'm sure it remembered the passwords though.
My iPhone needs a manual intervention to connect it to the camera.... i.e. go to wireless networks and choose the camera, no passwords or anything else are needed past the initial setup.

When I switch the camera off it automatically re-attaches to my home network without any input from me - Dave I think there's a setting wrong in your phone.

I only use OIShare as a remote control and am more than happy with the way it works.

I would LOVE the MacBook to be able to use the WiFi connection for Capture, but a cable solution works so well without any lag that I'm happy to accept the limitation. (just need to get a longer cable for it!)
__________________

Some Olympus stuff
I didn't get where I am today...
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 15th May 2018
AMc AMc is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: East Anglia
Posts: 1,090
Thanks: 90
Thanked 115 Times in 101 Posts
Likes: 535
Liked 236 Times in 132 Posts
Re: Can't import using Olympus OI Share

With the E-M10 there are two WiFi connection options.
Private and One-Time.
Private the same settings are used to connect each time.
One-Time different settings are used each time.


I have to manually select my E-M10 WiFi if my phone is already connected to WiFi when I enable the WiFi on the camera.
The password is remembered from session to session.
If I power down the camera - on the body or from the app - then it reconnects to my home WiFi by itself without needing the password - just like when I come home.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 15th May 2018
cliff's Avatar
cliff cliff is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: NW London
Posts: 743
Thanks: 327
Thanked 78 Times in 66 Posts
Likes: 465
Liked 101 Times in 57 Posts
Re: Can't import using Olympus OI Share

Hi Roy, only just seen this thread, I think it's just a setting, open the app, tap the cog on the top right of screen, uncheck the box saying "Display todays image". This should give you access to all images on that card, you can also change image size for thumbnail display and import, also set the dates on divises as "Display today's image" can be a usefull filter, good luck
__________________
Cliff, my Flickr https://www.flickr.com/photos/cliffscrivens/
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
Ross the fiddler (16th May 2018)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Olympus Image Share - Import Photos (Am I being dumb?) IanH1967 Olympus OM-D E-M10 11 28th July 2015 09:56 PM
Olympus Image Share App. paullus Olympus OM-D E-M1 11 19th March 2014 08:16 AM
Olympus OI Share app brian1208 Olympus OM-D E-M1 20 31st January 2014 10:36 AM
Olympus share-Android cliff Software 0 18th September 2013 09:15 AM
Olympus release Olympus Image Share app 2.0 update Four Thirds User Articles from FourThirds-User.com 1 28th June 2013 04:33 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:45 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2018, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger