Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Software

Software Discuss Olympus Master, Studio and Viewer software applications as well as third party programs like Adobe Photoshop, Lightroom, Apple Aperture, and others.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12th November 2009
jonesy jonesy is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 610
Thanks: 23
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Likes: 1
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Elements editor issue

Hi all
I'm using Elements 6 for my OU course, and everything was working fine until last night. Elements crashed, and now, today, each time I try to open the editor I get a runtime error.
Has anyone come across this before, and has anyone found a solution to this error?
Many thanks
T
__________________
Tracey Jones

Its a shame that humans dont come with autofocus, like cameras do!
Travelthrutime - A Photographic Trip Down Memory Lane
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12th November 2009
snaarman's Avatar
snaarman snaarman is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Baaarkshire UK
Posts: 6,805
Thanks: 491
Thanked 416 Times in 324 Posts
Likes: 488
Liked 1,268 Times in 491 Posts
Re: Elements editor issue

That sound wrong, and rather nasty. I found this

http://forums.adobe.com/thread/520720

which might be related..

Pete
__________________
Look, I'm an old man. I shouldn't be expected to put up with this.


Pete's photoblog Misleading the public since 2010.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th November 2009
meach meach is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Stockton-on-Tees, UK
Posts: 652
Thanks: 125
Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Re: Elements editor issue

If you do a system restore to a date when you know when Elements was working ok that will probably fix it - and any files you've added since will be unaffected. If it doesn't work (tho it probably will) you can easily undo the restore to where you are now so you can't do any harm. If you need help with doing this just shout.

Paul
__________________
Paul
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12th November 2009
Adagio's Avatar
Adagio Adagio is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Marchwood, Hampshire
Posts: 815
Thanks: 49
Thanked 40 Times in 36 Posts
Likes: 78
Liked 64 Times in 36 Posts
Re: Elements editor issue

Tracey

I would uninstall Elements and then re-install. Take care to remove all residues e.g. folders in C:Programs, if you can do a registry clean after uninstall.

Lots of suggestions here
__________________
David


Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12th November 2009
jonesy jonesy is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 610
Thanks: 23
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Likes: 1
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Elements editor issue

Thanks for everyones advice. I ended up doing an uninstall/reinstall, but now I have to recreate the filing system I had....
I was so close to finishing this course and I had things just where I wanted... now the version sets have lost their association, and the tags have all got messed up

Oh well, at least I can edit my pics again
__________________
Tracey Jones

Its a shame that humans dont come with autofocus, like cameras do!
Travelthrutime - A Photographic Trip Down Memory Lane
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13th November 2009
meach meach is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Stockton-on-Tees, UK
Posts: 652
Thanks: 125
Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Re: Elements editor issue

That's why I suggested a system restore - it would have kept your settings for you. Never mind - at least you have it working again, even though you'll have to set it up all over again!
__________________
Paul
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13th November 2009
meach meach is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Stockton-on-Tees, UK
Posts: 652
Thanks: 125
Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Re: Elements editor issue

In fact you could still do that come to think of it! You could take it back a couple of days to when you know Elements was working ok. Give it a go - you can't do any harm as you can backout the restore to where you are now.

Paul
__________________
Paul
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13th November 2009
OlyPaul's Avatar
OlyPaul OlyPaul is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: West Midlands
Posts: 5,470
Thanks: 140
Thanked 715 Times in 577 Posts
Likes: 177
Liked 875 Times in 355 Posts
Re: Elements editor issue

Just seen this which is a shame, as I would have advised differently and also for you to copy your catalogue info before doing a reinstall .

The possible good news is that your old catalogue info should still be there after the reinstall as it is kept in the Program Data folder and not program files and is unaffected by a program reinstall and should be available to the Organizer.

Unless of course you followed Adagio's advise and removed all folders and files including the catalog file which is kept in C: > Program Data > Adobe > Photoshop Elements > Catalogs ! In which case you have a lot of unnececery work to do.

If you did not then you should be able to browse to the old catalog at this location in the Organizer and load it and all yout stacks, versions
and tags would still be as they were.
__________________
Regards Paul.
One day I hope to be the person my dogs think I am.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/paul_silk/

Last edited by OlyPaul; 13th November 2009 at 09:54 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13th November 2009
Adagio's Avatar
Adagio Adagio is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Marchwood, Hampshire
Posts: 815
Thanks: 49
Thanked 40 Times in 36 Posts
Likes: 78
Liked 64 Times in 36 Posts
Re: Elements editor issue

If you have deleted the catalog you may be able to recover it from Recycle Bin. Sorry if I have caused you additional problem
__________________
David


Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 13th November 2009
jonesy jonesy is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 610
Thanks: 23
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Likes: 1
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Elements editor issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adagio View Post
If you have deleted the catalog you may be able to recover it from Recycle Bin. Sorry if I have caused you additional problem
No, dont worry... you didnt cause me any additional problems... The tech people from the OU also recommended the reinstall. I'm just glad I can edit my photos again...

I've decided to wait until my course is done before I start to catalogue any more photos that are not course related (only 2 more weeks)
__________________
Tracey Jones

Its a shame that humans dont come with autofocus, like cameras do!
Travelthrutime - A Photographic Trip Down Memory Lane
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 13th November 2009
OlyPaul's Avatar
OlyPaul OlyPaul is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: West Midlands
Posts: 5,470
Thanks: 140
Thanked 715 Times in 577 Posts
Likes: 177
Liked 875 Times in 355 Posts
Re: Elements editor issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonesy View Post

I've decided to wait until my course is done before I start to catalogue any more photos that are not course related (only 2 more weeks)
Tracey unless you use Elements back up procedure (which copies your images and catalog to a new location) , when you begin doing that again I advise periodicly copying the catalog from the location I gave to some where safe in the event of a similar problem or hard drive crash.

Another good workflow is after tagging and captioning in the organizer is to go to write tags and info to files, this way that info stays with the image file and is not reliant on the catalog which can be lost as you have discovered.

I used to be beta tester for Adobe Elements from ver 3 to 6. So if you need any advise just ask
__________________
Regards Paul.
One day I hope to be the person my dogs think I am.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/paul_silk/
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 13th November 2009
jonesy jonesy is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 610
Thanks: 23
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Likes: 1
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Elements editor issue

Thanks for that advice Paul. I'll do that next time The course I'm on doesnt seem to cover work-flow and backing up, and as I have only been using Elements for the past 7 weeks I've not lost too much cataloguing thankfully. Now I'm getting more into photography, I can see I'll be taking more photos and will need to make sure everything is backed up properly
__________________
Tracey Jones

Its a shame that humans dont come with autofocus, like cameras do!
Travelthrutime - A Photographic Trip Down Memory Lane
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 13th November 2009
Adagio's Avatar
Adagio Adagio is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Marchwood, Hampshire
Posts: 815
Thanks: 49
Thanked 40 Times in 36 Posts
Likes: 78
Liked 64 Times in 36 Posts
Re: Elements editor issue

Elements 7 stores the common catalog in C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Adobe\Photoshop Elements\Catalogs\My Catalog

and a personal catalog in

C:\Documents and Settings\User\Application Data\Adobe\Photoshop Elements\Catalogs\catalogname

don't know whether 6 is the same but might be worth looking there.
__________________
David


Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 13th November 2009
jonesy jonesy is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 610
Thanks: 23
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Likes: 1
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Elements editor issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adagio View Post
Elements 7 stores the common catalog in C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Adobe\Photoshop Elements\Catalogs\My Catalog

and a personal catalog in

C:\Documents and Settings\User\Application Data\Adobe\Photoshop Elements\Catalogs\catalogname

don't know whether 6 is the same but might be worth looking there.
Thanks, but IT support advised me to delete those folders and empty the recycle bin, then reboot before reinstalling. I wish I'd had the idea to save it on a flash drive... oh well, too late
__________________
Tracey Jones

Its a shame that humans dont come with autofocus, like cameras do!
Travelthrutime - A Photographic Trip Down Memory Lane
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 13th November 2009
meach meach is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Stockton-on-Tees, UK
Posts: 652
Thanks: 125
Thanked 30 Times in 28 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Re: Elements editor issue

I hate to go on but a system restore will take you back to where you were before the crash.
__________________
Paul
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CF Card issue meach General accessories 2 10th November 2009 09:21 AM
CF Card issue PeterD Camera conference 8 13th July 2009 09:15 AM
Elements HELP! shirley Software 7 22nd July 2008 05:23 PM
Elements 6 Haisbro Software 4 25th February 2008 04:24 PM
Elements 5 + Raw Barr1e Software 4 3rd January 2008 03:03 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:36 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2018, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger