Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference

Camera conference General and model-specific E-System camera chat.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 16th September 2009
davinharvey
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
AF issues on E-410

Hi,

I've had my E-410 for a couple of years now, and recently I've noticed that the auto-focus has pretty much stopped working when using the 3-point auto selection. The AF is OK if I manually select the centre point, but not with either of the 2 outside ones. I can change it manually, but the camera loses the change when I turn the camera off and back on.

So, this brings up 2 questions really:

1) Any advice on what could be wrong/what I can clean to solve this.
2) If the answer to 1) comes to nothing, is there any way I can make the camera save the AF setting between power cycles.

One more thing, it doesn't matter what the lighting is like, inside or outside, nor whether I'm using the internal flash or an FL36. The camera will pretty much refuse to focus.

Thanks
Davin
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16th September 2009
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,261
Thanks: 410
Thanked 2,378 Times in 1,198 Posts
Likes: 799
Liked 1,542 Times in 698 Posts
Re: AF issues on E-410

Quote:
Originally Posted by davinharvey View Post
Hi,

I've had my E-410 for a couple of years now, and recently I've noticed that the auto-focus has pretty much stopped working when using the 3-point auto selection. The AF is OK if I manually select the centre point, but not with either of the 2 outside ones. I can change it manually, but the camera loses the change when I turn the camera off and back on.

So, this brings up 2 questions really:

1) Any advice on what could be wrong/what I can clean to solve this.
2) If the answer to 1) comes to nothing, is there any way I can make the camera save the AF setting between power cycles.

One more thing, it doesn't matter what the lighting is like, inside or outside, nor whether I'm using the internal flash or an FL36. The camera will pretty much refuse to focus.

Thanks
Davin
Grabbing at straws here - but have you cleaned the lens and body electrical contacts with a clean, lint-free, cloth?

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16th September 2009
davinharvey
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: AF issues on E-410

Thanks Ian - I haven't done anything as yet except check the lenses and shutter mechanism inside the camera for dirt. Unfortunately, it's not just me that uses the camera and my kids are not quite as careful when changing lenses as me. I cleaned the rear of the lenses, which improved things for a while but it's worse than ever now.

I'll try what you suggest tonight and see how it goes.

Davin
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16th September 2009
cychwr's Avatar
cychwr cychwr is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: CYMRU.
Posts: 76
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Likes: 1
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: AF issues on E-410

In all but the auto mode you can choose Auto reset, from the settings, the camera will then keep your last setting.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17th September 2009
davinharvey
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: AF issues on E-410

Well, it looks like I might have sorted it. I tried wiping the contacts but that made no difference. Then I found a post on another forum (http://photo.net/olympus-camera-forum/00RHbH) regarding dust getting onto the AF sensor as it is in a pit at the bottom of the camera, and is pretty much the only place for dust to settle when it gets shaken off by the SSWF.

I put my cleaning brush in to try and clear some of the dust that may have been in there and the AF is much, much better now. I'm going to get one of those rocket air blowers tomorrow and finish the job off, but I'm actually quite hopeful that it'll be fine.

Davin
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18th September 2009
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,261
Thanks: 410
Thanked 2,378 Times in 1,198 Posts
Likes: 799
Liked 1,542 Times in 698 Posts
Re: AF issues on E-410

Quote:
Originally Posted by davinharvey View Post
Well, it looks like I might have sorted it. I tried wiping the contacts but that made no difference. Then I found a post on another forum (http://photo.net/olympus-camera-forum/00RHbH) regarding dust getting onto the AF sensor as it is in a pit at the bottom of the camera, and is pretty much the only place for dust to settle when it gets shaken off by the SSWF.

I put my cleaning brush in to try and clear some of the dust that may have been in there and the AF is much, much better now. I'm going to get one of those rocket air blowers tomorrow and finish the job off, but I'm actually quite hopeful that it'll be fine.

Davin
Thanks for letting us know - I hadn't thought of that. Another new lesson learned!

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18th September 2009
ChrisW's Avatar
ChrisW ChrisW is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 488
Thanks: 7
Thanked 47 Times in 22 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Re: AF issues on E-410

I had similar problems with my E1 and found what looked like fine cotton strands over the pit at the bottom of the camera body where the AF sensor lives. I tried a blower, but this did not remove them.

In the end I went hi-tech and used a toothpick with a tiny finger of blue of Blu-Tac on its end to remove the cotton strands. Needless to say I took great care not to touch the AF sensor, but only the edges of the pit above it.

Presumably somebody had been poking around inside the camera with cotton buds, or something similar in the past
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lightroom 2 discussion & Issues HughofBardfield Software 25 3rd January 2009 09:52 PM
Flash issues ?? lurksalot Olympus E-510 6 14th July 2008 02:10 PM
Focusing issues with the E-510 Rawcoll Olympus E-510 20 12th March 2008 05:35 PM
Focussing Issues with the E3 DerekW Olympus E-3 266 19th February 2008 04:28 PM
Firmware update issues... advice please... theMusicMan Software 11 23rd November 2007 06:41 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:38 PM.


© The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2018, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger