Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Micro Four Thirds > Olympus Pen E-P5

Olympus Pen E-P5 The Pen E-P5 is the first Olympus system camera to offer integrated wifi and a top shutter speed of 1/800th second.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2nd July 2013
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,278
Thanks: 410
Thanked 2,381 Times in 1,201 Posts
Likes: 803
Liked 1,566 Times in 703 Posts
Exclamation Yes! I have an E-P5 and VF-4 here

At last, a review E-P5 and VF-4 finder has arrived. I only have it for a few days so if you have any questions about either, please don't hesitate! Post your questions here

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ian For This Useful Post:
Pierre L (2nd July 2013)
  #2  
Old 2nd July 2013
Glee Glee is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: North Yorkshire
Posts: 206
Thanks: 8
Thanked 21 Times in 20 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 8 Times in 5 Posts
Yes! I have an E-P5 and VF-4 here

Jealousy is an ugly emotion, I hope you enjoy your new camera.

Best wishes
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Glee For This Useful Post:
Ian (2nd July 2013)
  #3  
Old 2nd July 2013
Ulfric M Douglas Ulfric M Douglas is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Northumberland
Posts: 2,863
Thanks: 261
Thanked 233 Times in 214 Posts
Likes: 124
Liked 164 Times in 114 Posts
Re: Yes! I have an E-P5 and VF-4 here

Yeah I've a question, still unanswered.
Set ISO 200, ISO-bracket to the full +/-1 EV, RAW+Jpeg
Take one shot.
From this one ISO 200 frame you will get three identical (with different apparrent ISO settings) RAW files and, perhaps, three different Jpegs.
Are these Jpegs reflecting the exposures of ISO 200, 200, 400 (as in e-M5 et al)
or
do they reflect the exposure of ISO LOW, 200, 400 as is 'possible' in the e-P5?

Currently to get my tasty three Jpegs from each frame I'm stuck with the noisier sensors up to and including the e-pL1,
to get three tasty Jpegs from the e-pL2 (& ilk) I have to set ISO 400 which is not workable as the higher jpeg is noisy at false 800 ISO.
The e-M5 is alright with these levels as noise is excellent but exposure is way too bright from fast primes.

The e-P5 may be back to useable ISO-bracket ... tell me.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2nd July 2013
StephenL's Avatar
StephenL StephenL is offline
Senior Pixelmonger
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Yorkshire Dales
Posts: 9,863
Thanks: 984
Thanked 1,126 Times in 921 Posts
Likes: 658
Liked 755 Times in 499 Posts
Re: Yes! I have an E-P5 and VF-4 here

Genuinely interested if you could mount the VF-4 onto an E-M5 and see if a) it's much of an improvement and b) if it's practical to use.
__________________
Stephen

A camera takes a picture. A photographer makes a picture

Fuji X system, + Leica and Bronica film

My Flickr site
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2nd July 2013
Zuiko's Avatar
Zuiko Zuiko is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dunmow, Essex
Posts: 21,594
Thanks: 1,953
Thanked 3,063 Times in 2,381 Posts
Likes: 3,202
Liked 4,274 Times in 2,011 Posts
Re: Yes! I have an E-P5 and VF-4 here

No specific questions, Ian, but very interested in your impressions.
__________________
John

"A hundredth of a second here, a hundredth of a second there even if you put them end to end, they still only add up to one, two, perhaps three seconds, snatched from eternity." ~ Robert Doisneau
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 3rd July 2013
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,278
Thanks: 410
Thanked 2,381 Times in 1,201 Posts
Likes: 803
Liked 1,566 Times in 703 Posts
Re: Yes! I have an E-P5 and VF-4 here

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ulfric M Douglas View Post
Yeah I've a question, still unanswered.
Set ISO 200, ISO-bracket to the full +/-1 EV, RAW+Jpeg
Take one shot.
From this one ISO 200 frame you will get three identical (with different apparrent ISO settings) RAW files and, perhaps, three different Jpegs.
Are these Jpegs reflecting the exposures of ISO 200, 200, 400 (as in e-M5 et al)
or
do they reflect the exposure of ISO LOW, 200, 400 as is 'possible' in the e-P5?

Currently to get my tasty three Jpegs from each frame I'm stuck with the noisier sensors up to and including the e-pL1,
to get three tasty Jpegs from the e-pL2 (& ilk) I have to set ISO 400 which is not workable as the higher jpeg is noisy at false 800 ISO.
The e-M5 is alright with these levels as noise is excellent but exposure is way too bright from fast primes.

The e-P5 may be back to useable ISO-bracket ... tell me.
Does it matter if the conditions are overcast? Which lens would you like used and what aperture?

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 3rd July 2013
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 7,880
Thanks: 623
Thanked 913 Times in 705 Posts
Likes: 2,180
Liked 1,513 Times in 862 Posts
Re: Yes! I have an E-P5 and VF-4 here

Tiny question

In the tech specs they say RC Flash Control has 4 Channels and 4 Groups

Do the new FL 300R & 600R have and extra group, accessible by the E-P5
__________________
Graham

We often repeat the mistakes we most enjoy...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 3rd July 2013
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,278
Thanks: 410
Thanked 2,381 Times in 1,201 Posts
Likes: 803
Liked 1,566 Times in 703 Posts
Re: Yes! I have an E-P5 and VF-4 here

Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham_of_Rainham View Post
Tiny question

In the tech specs they say RC Flash Control has 4 Channels and 4 Groups

Do the new FL 300R & 600R have and extra group, accessible by the E-P5
I think that is three channels to control up to three external RC units and one channel representing the flash on the camera. But let me double check.

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 3rd July 2013
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,278
Thanks: 410
Thanked 2,381 Times in 1,201 Posts
Likes: 803
Liked 1,566 Times in 703 Posts
Re: Yes! I have an E-P5 and VF-4 here

Let me know if this was what you wanted:

http://e-group.uk.net/files/forum/E-P5_ISO_bracket.zip (73MB)

6 files 3 JPEG and three RAW (the RAW files are different densities as well as the JPEGs). I used LSF JPEG setting and noise filter set to off.

Ian

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ulfric M Douglas View Post
Yeah I've a question, still unanswered.
Set ISO 200, ISO-bracket to the full +/-1 EV, RAW+Jpeg
Take one shot.
From this one ISO 200 frame you will get three identical (with different apparrent ISO settings) RAW files and, perhaps, three different Jpegs.
Are these Jpegs reflecting the exposures of ISO 200, 200, 400 (as in e-M5 et al)
or
do they reflect the exposure of ISO LOW, 200, 400 as is 'possible' in the e-P5?

Currently to get my tasty three Jpegs from each frame I'm stuck with the noisier sensors up to and including the e-pL1,
to get three tasty Jpegs from the e-pL2 (& ilk) I have to set ISO 400 which is not workable as the higher jpeg is noisy at false 800 ISO.
The e-M5 is alright with these levels as noise is excellent but exposure is way too bright from fast primes.

The e-P5 may be back to useable ISO-bracket ... tell me.
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com

Last edited by Ian; 3rd July 2013 at 03:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 3rd July 2013
Ulfric M Douglas Ulfric M Douglas is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Northumberland
Posts: 2,863
Thanks: 261
Thanked 233 Times in 214 Posts
Likes: 124
Liked 164 Times in 114 Posts
Re: Yes! I have an E-P5 and VF-4 here

Downloading NOW, thanks a ton Ian!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian View Post
Does it matter if the conditions are overcast? Which lens would you like used and what aperture?
Lenses & aperture are immaterial, overcast is fine, white fluffy clouds in a blue sky would be perfect though... although telling you NOW is a bit late

...

Oh no, it really does do what my good old e-P2 does, giving three different Jpegs, one of which has a pulled-down exposure from the top of the RAW ...
This could be expensive 'cos now I want an e-P5.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 3rd July 2013
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,278
Thanks: 410
Thanked 2,381 Times in 1,201 Posts
Likes: 803
Liked 1,566 Times in 703 Posts
Re: Yes! I have an E-P5 and VF-4 here

Quote:
Originally Posted by StephenL View Post
Genuinely interested if you could mount the VF-4 onto an E-M5 and see if a) it's much of an improvement and b) if it's practical to use.
Yes, the VF-4 works on the E-M5 with the latest firmware but I don't think the eye sensor works and it looks to me like the resolution is interpolated up so fine details don't have smooth edges like they do when the VF-4 is connected to the E-P5. You do get the big spacious view, though and side by side with the E-M5 the difference is quite noticeable.

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 3rd July 2013
StephenL's Avatar
StephenL StephenL is offline
Senior Pixelmonger
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Yorkshire Dales
Posts: 9,863
Thanks: 984
Thanked 1,126 Times in 921 Posts
Likes: 658
Liked 755 Times in 499 Posts
Re: Yes! I have an E-P5 and VF-4 here

Thanks Ian. Does it feel practical in use? In other words, is it a suitable upgrade for the E-M5?
__________________
Stephen

A camera takes a picture. A photographer makes a picture

Fuji X system, + Leica and Bronica film

My Flickr site
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 4th July 2013
Internaut Internaut is online now
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,377
Thanks: 286
Thanked 243 Times in 222 Posts
Likes: 1,297
Liked 461 Times in 216 Posts
Re: Yes! I have an E-P5 and VF-4 here

Two questions:

1. What is the lowest ISO setting on this camera?
2. By your estimation (assuming you care either way ), do you think this is the base ISO?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 4th July 2013
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,278
Thanks: 410
Thanked 2,381 Times in 1,201 Posts
Likes: 803
Liked 1,566 Times in 703 Posts
Re: Yes! I have an E-P5 and VF-4 here

The base ISO is 200; the sensor is the same Sony part used in the E-PL5, E-PM1 and the OM-D E-M5. However, there is an 'Extended' ISO option down to ISO 100. Not yet properly assessed ISO 100 performance but would probably expect a reduction in dynamic range and maybe some additional noise compared to ISO 200.

Ulfric seems very happy with the test images I linked to him earlier in this thread - by all means download them and check them for yourself.

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 4th July 2013
Internaut Internaut is online now
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,377
Thanks: 286
Thanked 243 Times in 222 Posts
Likes: 1,297
Liked 461 Times in 216 Posts
Re: Yes! I have an E-P5 and VF-4 here

And so am I. Thanks for sharing. This may be tempting at some point. I don't often use ISO100 on my E-PL1 and E-30, but it occasionally does the job where the light is perfect, with no risk of blown this or blocked that.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:52 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2018, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger