Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Micro Four Thirds > Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II

Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II The second Micro Four Thirds camera that offers phase detect focusing so you can use Four Thirds DSLR lenses normally as well a Micro Four Thirds lenses.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #61  
Old 8th May 2017
Ross the fiddler's Avatar
Ross the fiddler Ross the fiddler is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Blue Mtns, NSW Australia
Posts: 12,714
Thanks: 1,905
Thanked 1,191 Times in 941 Posts
Likes: 4,682
Liked 1,605 Times in 938 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

All is fixed in the latest firmware update today.
https://www.olympus.com.au/Learn-Exp...mware-Upgrades
__________________
Ross
I fiddle with violins (when I'm not fiddling with a camera).
Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/ross-the-fiddler/
Cameras: OM-D E-M1 & Mk II, Olympus Stylus 1, OM-D E-M5.
Lenses: M.ZD12-40mm f2.8 PRO Lens, M.ZD40-150mm f2.8 PRO Lens with MC-14, M.ZD12-50, M.ZD60 Macro, M.ZD75-300 Mk II, MMF-3, ZD14-54 II, Sigma 150mm F2.8 APO Macro DG HSM.
Flashes: FL36R X2, FL50R, FL50.
Software: Capture One Pro 10 (& Olympus Viewer 3).
Reply With Quote
The Following Users Liked This Post:
Michael Sewell (8th May 2017), tuootal (25th September 2018)
  #62  
Old 8th May 2017
Michael Sewell's Avatar
Michael Sewell Michael Sewell is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Burnley
Posts: 382
Thanks: 24
Thanked 52 Times in 35 Posts
Likes: 89
Liked 220 Times in 100 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ross the fiddler View Post
All is fixed in the latest firmware update today.
https://www.olympus.com.au/Learn-Exp...mware-Upgrades
Hi Ross, Good to see you here
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
Ross the fiddler (8th May 2017)
  #63  
Old 8th May 2017
Ross the fiddler's Avatar
Ross the fiddler Ross the fiddler is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Blue Mtns, NSW Australia
Posts: 12,714
Thanks: 1,905
Thanked 1,191 Times in 941 Posts
Likes: 4,682
Liked 1,605 Times in 938 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Sewell View Post
Hi Ross, Good to see you here
Thanks. I haven't been doing much with my camera this year & have spent more than I could have on the E-M1Mk II on battery powered tools for the garden & workshop etc instead & so I've been a little quiet here as a result (& on other forums). I've been watching price reductions happening for the E-M1Mk II & maybe by Christmas that might be a possibility. I'll have to sell more violins though.

I should add, it's nice to see you here on this great forum too.
__________________
Ross
I fiddle with violins (when I'm not fiddling with a camera).
Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/ross-the-fiddler/
Cameras: OM-D E-M1 & Mk II, Olympus Stylus 1, OM-D E-M5.
Lenses: M.ZD12-40mm f2.8 PRO Lens, M.ZD40-150mm f2.8 PRO Lens with MC-14, M.ZD12-50, M.ZD60 Macro, M.ZD75-300 Mk II, MMF-3, ZD14-54 II, Sigma 150mm F2.8 APO Macro DG HSM.
Flashes: FL36R X2, FL50R, FL50.
Software: Capture One Pro 10 (& Olympus Viewer 3).
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
Michael Sewell (8th May 2017)
  #64  
Old 18th September 2018
tuootal tuootal is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Finland
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 2
Liked 5 Times in 3 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Just checking, was this problem corrected in such way that you can use non-olympus flash transmitters in HR-mode? Obviously profoto and elinchrome should work, but I am interested in younguy and other cheap center-pin transmitters.

I am in planning to do some repro-photography of some museum stuff and plan to use EM-M1 mk II in HR-mode. I also have 3 FL-50R (and FS-SRF11 & FS-STF22, but range is too limited) but I am sceptical whether those will get optical rc-command from flash in camera as the FL-50R's are located inside softboxes. So I think that I should obtain some cheap rf flash transmitters. I have already ordered softboxes, but as time is of essence I might need to order flash transmitters before getting softboxes.

One of challenges is the large size of artwork which is being reproed, they are approx 2-3m wide so with 50mm F2 (old 4/3) I have to get quite far from art.

Any guidance is welcomed,

Tuomas
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 18th September 2018
Michael Sewell's Avatar
Michael Sewell Michael Sewell is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Burnley
Posts: 382
Thanks: 24
Thanked 52 Times in 35 Posts
Likes: 89
Liked 220 Times in 100 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Quote:
Originally Posted by tuootal View Post
Just checking, was this problem corrected in such way that you can use non-olympus flash transmitters in HR-mode? Obviously profoto and elinchrome should work, but I am interested in younguy and other cheap center-pin transmitters.

I am in planning to do some repro-photography of some museum stuff and plan to use EM-M1 mk II in HR-mode. I also have 3 FL-50R (and FS-SRF11 & FS-STF22, but range is too limited) but I am sceptical whether those will get optical rc-command from flash in camera as the FL-50R's are located inside softboxes. So I think that I should obtain some cheap rf flash transmitters. I have already ordered softboxes, but as time is of essence I might need to order flash transmitters before getting softboxes.

One of challenges is the large size of artwork which is being reproed, they are approx 2-3m wide so with 50mm F2 (old 4/3) I have to get quite far from art.

Any guidance is welcomed,

Tuomas
The issue with the central pin was resolved in the next firmware date, about three months later.

If you can get a hold of a 25mm lens, it would likely better suit your needs.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Michael Sewell For This Useful Post:
tuootal (25th September 2018)
The Following User Liked This Post:
tuootal (25th September 2018)
  #66  
Old 19th September 2018
blu-by-u blu-by-u is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Selangor, Malaysia
Posts: 1,422
Thanks: 169
Thanked 72 Times in 60 Posts
Likes: 197
Liked 472 Times in 251 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Quote:
Originally Posted by super_claret View Post
High Res Shot has a setting of its own. Camera Menu 2 > High Res Shot. When selected it displays an offset grid indicating sensor shift (I presume). I cannot change the shutter/drive modes.

There is no option to enable flash in high speed silent.
I don't think it's possible to use flash in Hi Res mode. The sensor camera takes a series of shots with the sensor in different positions and is combined into a single image. If Flash is to work, it will have to have to flash with each of the shots.
__________________
* Henry
* Location: Subang Jaya, Selangor
* Malaysia


All my garbage so far.
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 19th September 2018
Ross the fiddler's Avatar
Ross the fiddler Ross the fiddler is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Blue Mtns, NSW Australia
Posts: 12,714
Thanks: 1,905
Thanked 1,191 Times in 941 Posts
Likes: 4,682
Liked 1,605 Times in 938 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Quote:
Originally Posted by blu-by-u View Post
I don't think it's possible to use flash in Hi Res mode. The sensor camera takes a series of shots with the sensor in different positions and is combined into a single image. If Flash is to work, it will have to have to flash with each of the shots.
I know there was a delay time for flash charging in Focus Stacking & so thought there is no reason for it not being possible in High Res too, so I went looking & in Shooting Menu 2 there is the settings for High Res Shot which does allow for flash charge time (up to 30 secs) & also post shutter delay.

__________________
Ross
I fiddle with violins (when I'm not fiddling with a camera).
Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/ross-the-fiddler/
Cameras: OM-D E-M1 & Mk II, Olympus Stylus 1, OM-D E-M5.
Lenses: M.ZD12-40mm f2.8 PRO Lens, M.ZD40-150mm f2.8 PRO Lens with MC-14, M.ZD12-50, M.ZD60 Macro, M.ZD75-300 Mk II, MMF-3, ZD14-54 II, Sigma 150mm F2.8 APO Macro DG HSM.
Flashes: FL36R X2, FL50R, FL50.
Software: Capture One Pro 10 (& Olympus Viewer 3).
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ross the fiddler For This Useful Post:
OM USer (19th September 2018)
  #68  
Old 19th September 2018
blu-by-u blu-by-u is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Selangor, Malaysia
Posts: 1,422
Thanks: 169
Thanked 72 Times in 60 Posts
Likes: 197
Liked 472 Times in 251 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ross the fiddler View Post
I know there was a delay time for flash charging in Focus Stacking & so thought there is no reason for it not being possible in High Res too, so I went looking & in Shooting Menu 2 there is the settings for High Res Shot which does allow for flash charge time (up to 30 secs) & also post shutter delay.

Imagine what artistic images we can do with that The HiRes is suppose to combine 5 sensor shift to create this, right?
__________________
* Henry
* Location: Subang Jaya, Selangor
* Malaysia


All my garbage so far.
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 19th September 2018
Michael Sewell's Avatar
Michael Sewell Michael Sewell is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Burnley
Posts: 382
Thanks: 24
Thanked 52 Times in 35 Posts
Likes: 89
Liked 220 Times in 100 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Quote:
Originally Posted by blu-by-u View Post
I don't think it's possible to use flash in Hi Res mode. The sensor camera takes a series of shots with the sensor in different positions and is combined into a single image. If Flash is to work, it will have to have to flash with each of the shots.
No issue now, although there was initially, which was sorted with a firmware update.

https://www.sewellshouse.co.uk/blog/...-studio-flash/
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Michael Sewell For This Useful Post:
blu-by-u (19th September 2018)
  #70  
Old 19th September 2018
Ross the fiddler's Avatar
Ross the fiddler Ross the fiddler is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Blue Mtns, NSW Australia
Posts: 12,714
Thanks: 1,905
Thanked 1,191 Times in 941 Posts
Likes: 4,682
Liked 1,605 Times in 938 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Quote:
Originally Posted by blu-by-u View Post
Imagine what artistic images we can do with that The HiRes is suppose to combine 5 sensor shift to create this, right?
It's actually 8 positions, so seven delays for the flash to charge & flash.

__________________
Ross
I fiddle with violins (when I'm not fiddling with a camera).
Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/ross-the-fiddler/
Cameras: OM-D E-M1 & Mk II, Olympus Stylus 1, OM-D E-M5.
Lenses: M.ZD12-40mm f2.8 PRO Lens, M.ZD40-150mm f2.8 PRO Lens with MC-14, M.ZD12-50, M.ZD60 Macro, M.ZD75-300 Mk II, MMF-3, ZD14-54 II, Sigma 150mm F2.8 APO Macro DG HSM.
Flashes: FL36R X2, FL50R, FL50.
Software: Capture One Pro 10 (& Olympus Viewer 3).
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 19th September 2018
blu-by-u blu-by-u is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Selangor, Malaysia
Posts: 1,422
Thanks: 169
Thanked 72 Times in 60 Posts
Likes: 197
Liked 472 Times in 251 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ross the fiddler View Post
It's actually 8 positions, so seven delays for the flash to charge & flash.

Will definitely have a go with this knowledge. 8 exposures

Thanks
__________________
* Henry
* Location: Subang Jaya, Selangor
* Malaysia


All my garbage so far.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
Ross the fiddler (19th September 2018)
  #72  
Old 19th September 2018
tuootal tuootal is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Finland
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 2
Liked 5 Times in 3 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Great many thanks for your comments.

Actually I have tried HR-mode with flash (2x Fl-50R) and it works nicely. Needed some fiddling around timings in menus, but worked. Problem was that Oly RC-stuff uses onboard flash to control FL-50R's so I suspect that it wont work with flash enclosed in softbox.

I have also 35mm F3.5 macro, which could be useful. I am just trying to get best possible results from this as the museum stuff is challenging to organize. Even getting originals out of their storage is challenge and setting everything up. I guess that this will be one-off-effort which will not be repeated.

Is there some kind of receiver for Godox flash transmitters (X1T-O TTL, Xpro-O TTL) which could be used with FL-50R? And does somebody know that they work with HR-mode?

Tuomas
Reply With Quote
The Following Users Liked This Post:
OM USer (19th September 2018), Ross the fiddler (19th September 2018)
  #73  
Old 25th September 2018
tuootal tuootal is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Finland
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 2
Liked 5 Times in 3 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

I think that I have solved this problem. I ran into this product

See godox site for S_type_Speedlite_Bracket

Which allows using bowens-mount softboxes with FL-50R. Cannot get confirmation whether it fits, but it looks promising. Actually I ordered 2 combos of S-type bracket and foldable 60x60 softboxes (product is this, see ebay fo DE-Godox-60x60cm-Faltbar-Softbox-Bowens-Blitz-Schirmhalter-fur-Aufsteckblitz).

Idea is to allow end of FL-50R flash to stick outside of softbox. This then make it possible to use Olympus RC-control.

Hope this works & I will keep you posted.

Tuomas
ps : yes... I would have posted direct links but ... forum sw says that I must have postcount greater than 6. Which I do not have.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
Ross the fiddler (25th September 2018)
  #74  
Old 4 Weeks Ago
tuootal tuootal is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Finland
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 2
Liked 5 Times in 3 Posts
Re: High Res shot and studio flash - not working on EM1 Mk2

Greetings,

Idea I presented in previous message was excellent in writing, but in practice it did not work. Getting FL-50R's reliably working with softboxes in large room using oly RC-signalling proved to be challenge. I got roughly 1/2 of shots working and with Hires-mode you need to have 8 good shots in row. Sadly, fail.

I then bite the bullet and purchased 2x cheapo Godox SK300 II's with matching X-pro-o-controller. This works like a charm. Even with Hires-mode.

Tuomas

ps : I am just a bit slightly disappointed as I have been oly user since E-300 (and before that from C-400, E-100, E-10, E-20, E-3, E-5, E-400, E-500..) and owning almost every possible gear Oly has sold. This is first non-oly gear in decade. But it works and that is only thing in real life which has meaning.
Reply With Quote
The Following Users Liked This Post:
bassman (4 Weeks Ago), Ross the fiddler (4 Weeks Ago)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High res shot problem super_claret Olympus OM-D E-M5 Mark II 13 8th February 2017 09:12 AM
Olympus high res shot plugin not working super_claret Software 1 24th January 2017 11:57 AM
Future of High Res Shot mode Invicta Camera conference 2 16th February 2015 10:41 PM
Flash settings not working Olybirder Olympus OM-D E-M1 2 20th October 2013 11:41 AM
First studio shot.. brianvickers Foto Fair 1 31st October 2012 06:32 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:16 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2018, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger