Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Olympus E-520

Olympus E-520 E-520 specific discussion.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 28th May 2012
MMcK
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
E520 faulty in full manual mode

While my E520 in full manual mode has, on rare occasions, worked properly, most of the time it won't work as specified in the instructions.

Aperture can be adjusted as set out in the instruction manual but shutter speed rarely changes when the control dial is turned.
I try to overcome this by shifting the mode to shutter priority, setting the speed, then returning to full manual - but the shutter speed then shifts to one stop before or after the one I selected. I then try to overcome this by setting a 'false' value in shutter priority and hoping that it shifts to the one I want in manual mode. If I'm lucky enough to set it correctly, the camera loses the setting when I turn it off and selects a random one on startup.

My reason for trying to persist with manual mode is that I frequently use an after-market ring-flash for macro work so I can't rely on the auto settings of the camera. The problem was evident before I purchased the ring-flash.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28th May 2012
johnwb johnwb is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 289
Thanks: 8
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Likes: 4
Liked 13 Times in 10 Posts
Re: E520 faulty in full manual mode

Full manual seems to work like this.

Enter full manual mode and press the info button.
Screen is shown with all the settings.
On my camera the speed is selected. this can be changed by rotating the dial.
To select the aperture press the +/- dial by the shuitter button. The selection goes to the aperture figure. Again rotate the the dial and the value changes.

Press the info button to return to norm.
Go to live view press !()! and you will see the settings along with the over/under exposure figure.

Hope this helps.

John
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28th May 2012
MMcK
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: E520 faulty in full manual mode

Yes, thanks John.

What you describe is how the manual says it should work but the problem I encounter is as I stated. I suspect the computer or whatever runs the thing is faulty as the problem shows up more times than not.

M.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th May 2012
johnwb johnwb is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: West Sussex
Posts: 289
Thanks: 8
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Likes: 4
Liked 13 Times in 10 Posts
Re: E520 faulty in full manual mode

What is 'the manual'? Not trying to describe a manual just trying to isolate the symptoms.

You could be right as to suspect the computer chip, but my next step would be to reset the camera by taking the battery out. In so doing remove all the settings. Re-charge the battery, and when ready clean all the common contact points for the battery and the camera, insert the battery, switch on. This would the best I can think of at the moment to a 'reboot' of the system. You may have perhaps, tried this already but and I will think on.

If you have tried this, set the main dial to A, press info button and then the +/- button and hold. Rotate the dial. Does the over/under exposure indicator change? If it does this will show that the +/- button if functioning.

Another aspect I have just noticed is that when I press the +/- button from the manual setting, I get the info screen and pressing the +/- button again does not select the other setting. ??? You must press the info button to get into the info screen, and then the +/- button to change the selection.

John
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to johnwb For This Useful Post:
  #5  
Old 28th May 2012
MMcK
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: E520 faulty in full manual mode

Thanks again John,

I've given the contacts a good clean and worked with the +/- button, Mode dial and control dial as you suggested and it appears that somewhere in the process all has become normal.

I'll give it a workout in the field in a few day's time and see how it goes.

Regards

M.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28th May 2012
Ross the fiddler's Avatar
Ross the fiddler Ross the fiddler is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Blue Mtns, NSW Australia
Posts: 12,592
Thanks: 1,907
Thanked 1,180 Times in 938 Posts
Likes: 4,640
Liked 1,539 Times in 908 Posts
Re: E520 faulty in full manual mode

Hope you have it sorted OK. I didn't see it mentioned (well not the way I was expecting it to be), that in M, when the the [+/-] button is pressed, the shutter speed or aperture will be highlighted yellow (from white) & that is the active adjustment. Did it & does do it now, toggle from one to the other (when pressing the [+/-] button)?

BTW, the contacts of the mode dial selecter can become a little tarnished & if that happens, that will give spurious selections (as it does on my E30 occasionally) when first switching on. If this happens, just rotate the mode slector dial in both directions a couple of times & it usually clears the issue (for the time being).
__________________
Ross
I fiddle with violins (when I'm not fiddling with a camera).
Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/ross-the-fiddler/
Cameras: OM-D E-M1 & Mk II, Olympus Stylus 1, OM-D E-M5.
Lenses: M.ZD12-40mm f2.8 PRO Lens, M.ZD40-150mm f2.8 PRO Lens with MC-14, M.ZD12-50, M.ZD60 Macro, M.ZD75-300 Mk II, MMF-3, ZD14-54 II, Sigma 150mm F2.8 APO Macro DG HSM.
Flashes: FL36R X2, FL50R, FL50.
Software: Capture One Pro 10 (& Olympus Viewer 3).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28th May 2012
MMcK
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: E520 faulty in full manual mode

Thanks Ross,

See the previous discussion thread with John.

It seems that cleaning the battery contacts inside the camera and 're-booting' it has - for the present - fixed the problem. All will be revealed when I put it to serious work again.

M.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 17th November 2012
koxlc
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: E520 faulty in full manual mode

I have encountered that same problem and in my case solution was in bracketing settings, while camera was operating in one shot mode (opposite of burst mode used for bracketing).
Have tried it out, so i am pretty sure you should take care that AE BKT is set off. (Menu> Record 2> 7 Selection (3 from behind))
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Full manual -free offer weecountyman Olympus E-400 0 28th March 2012 11:17 AM
For sale Olympus E400 full manual - free offer !!! weecountyman For sale or wanted small ads 0 28th March 2012 11:14 AM
HELP! Is my E3 faulty? birdboy Lens focus 41 13th June 2011 07:59 PM
burst mode with manual focus override?!? Falk Olympus E-30 4 9th June 2011 12:45 PM
Super FP (manual) mode, FL36R and off-camera shoe cord? dkayuk Flash 5 7th September 2009 08:59 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:28 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2018, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger