Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Micro Four Thirds > Olympus OM-D E-M5 Mark II

Olympus OM-D E-M5 Mark II The first OM-D's successor.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old 14th July 2017
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 10,184
Thanks: 341
Thanked 2,127 Times in 1,058 Posts
Likes: 566
Liked 991 Times in 483 Posts
Re: Windows 10 Codec for ORf

One way of know you have it installed is the existenced of a 3D version of Paint

It's not really an 'edition' - so you will stay as 'Home edition' but the Creators update is more of a major update than a routine one. I think there is another scheduled feature update scheduled before the end of the year.

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 14th July 2017
Johnheatingman's Avatar
Johnheatingman Johnheatingman is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NW-UK
Posts: 2,421
Thanks: 466
Thanked 293 Times in 231 Posts
Likes: 488
Liked 554 Times in 327 Posts
Re: Windows 10 Codec for ORf

As stated in previous posts, I found after installing the Creators Update that my photo files had been all jumbled up regarding the order they were previously in.

Opening the Control Panel by right clicking on the start button will no longer be available, it will need to be manually installed onto your desktop !

You may discover more surprises as time goes on, anything is possible

John
__________________
Where ignorance is bliss .. tis folly to be wise - Thomas Gray
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 14th July 2017
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 10,184
Thanks: 341
Thanked 2,127 Times in 1,058 Posts
Likes: 566
Liked 991 Times in 483 Posts
Re: Windows 10 Codec for ORf

Just type co on the search bar and the control panel icon appears and I click on it. In fact just 'c' will do it

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 14th July 2017
Johnheatingman's Avatar
Johnheatingman Johnheatingman is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NW-UK
Posts: 2,421
Thanks: 466
Thanked 293 Times in 231 Posts
Likes: 488
Liked 554 Times in 327 Posts
Re: Windows 10 Codec for ORf

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian View Post
Just type co on the search bar and the control panel icon appears and I click on it. In fact just 'c' will do it

Ian
You must have a different much better search bar than I have as that doesn't work on mine. ( it's the Google powered version ). Typing c or co into the Start Menu works.

I've put the Control Panel Icon on the Desktop and Task Bar and that seems to work ok.

John
__________________
Where ignorance is bliss .. tis folly to be wise - Thomas Gray
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 14th July 2017
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 10,184
Thanks: 341
Thanked 2,127 Times in 1,058 Posts
Likes: 566
Liked 991 Times in 483 Posts
Re: Windows 10 Codec for ORf

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnheatingman View Post
You must have a different much better search bar than I have as that doesn't work on mine. ( it's the Google powered version ). Typing c or co into the Start Menu works.

I've put the Control Panel Icon on the Desktop and Task Bar and that seems to work ok.

John
I think we are referring to the same thing; the search bar next to the windows start icon?

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 14th July 2017
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 10,184
Thanks: 341
Thanked 2,127 Times in 1,058 Posts
Likes: 566
Liked 991 Times in 483 Posts
Re: Windows 10 Codec for ORf

c-search.jpg

Like this?

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 14th July 2017
Johnheatingman's Avatar
Johnheatingman Johnheatingman is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NW-UK
Posts: 2,421
Thanks: 466
Thanked 293 Times in 231 Posts
Likes: 488
Liked 554 Times in 327 Posts
Re: Windows 10 Codec for ORf

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian View Post
I think we are referring to the same thing; the search bar next to the windows start icon?

Ian
I have the Windows "start" icon on the far bottom left of the screen, followed immediately by the "task bar" with all the program Icons Iv'e chosen to place on it filling the rest of the bottom screen, but no Search Bar in that configuration ? Opening the start menu and typing "c" works.

John
__________________
Where ignorance is bliss .. tis folly to be wise - Thomas Gray
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 14th July 2017
Johnheatingman's Avatar
Johnheatingman Johnheatingman is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NW-UK
Posts: 2,421
Thanks: 466
Thanked 293 Times in 231 Posts
Likes: 488
Liked 554 Times in 327 Posts
Re: Windows 10 Codec for ORf

Sorry Ian our post crossed. What did you click or type on to bring up the oblong white box. Maybe you have a Search Icon on your task bar ?

John
__________________
Where ignorance is bliss .. tis folly to be wise - Thomas Gray
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 14th July 2017
Johnheatingman's Avatar
Johnheatingman Johnheatingman is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NW-UK
Posts: 2,421
Thanks: 466
Thanked 293 Times in 231 Posts
Likes: 488
Liked 554 Times in 327 Posts
Re: Windows 10 Codec for ORf

I get the same as you by right clicking on the start button & selecting "search "

John
__________________
Where ignorance is bliss .. tis folly to be wise - Thomas Gray
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 14th July 2017
DavyG DavyG is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Suffolk
Posts: 2,522
Thanks: 448
Thanked 331 Times in 277 Posts
Likes: 1,397
Liked 955 Times in 259 Posts
Re: Windows 10 Codec for ORf

I have Windows 10 with the Creators update installed.

.ORF files from the E-M1 show as an image in windows explorer, .ORF files from he E-M5 II and E-M1 II only show an icon, when you try to open the icon using photos, the program states "it appears that we don't support this file format".

Dave
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 14th July 2017
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 10,184
Thanks: 341
Thanked 2,127 Times in 1,058 Posts
Likes: 566
Liked 991 Times in 483 Posts
Re: Windows 10 Codec for ORf

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnheatingman View Post
I get the same as you by right clicking on the start button & selecting "search "

John
Ah, that box is there all the time for me. Maybe because Cortana is enabled?

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 14th July 2017
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 10,184
Thanks: 341
Thanked 2,127 Times in 1,058 Posts
Likes: 566
Liked 991 Times in 483 Posts
Re: Windows 10 Codec for ORf

Quote:
Originally Posted by DavyG View Post
I have Windows 10 with the Creators update installed.

.ORF files from the E-M1 show as an image in windows explorer, .ORF files from he E-M5 II and E-M1 II only show an icon, when you try to open the icon using photos, the program states "it appears that we don't support this file format".

Dave
Interesting. Seems like something changed after the E-M1 Mark 1...

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 14th July 2017
Johnheatingman's Avatar
Johnheatingman Johnheatingman is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NW-UK
Posts: 2,421
Thanks: 466
Thanked 293 Times in 231 Posts
Likes: 488
Liked 554 Times in 327 Posts
Re: Windows 10 Codec for ORf

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian View Post
Ah, that box is there all the time for me. Maybe because Cortana is enabled?

Ian
Thats very possible Ian. Cortana is currently serving 15 yrs hard labour deep in the confines of my laptop, silenced and never to see the light of day

John
__________________
Where ignorance is bliss .. tis folly to be wise - Thomas Gray
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 15th July 2017
Ivor Ivor is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North East England
Posts: 191
Thanks: 41
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Likes: 86
Liked 51 Times in 33 Posts
Re: Windows 10 Codec for ORf

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnheatingman View Post
Lets hope you can see lots of little Orfs when it's installed

John
Alas, No!

Downloaded and updated late last night. On my old E-5 raw files I can still see the images as thumbnails and can view the associated image in Windows Photos. With the E-M5 I still get my default program icon and if I try to open it in Windows Photos I get a message saying "It appears we don't support this file format."

Battling on...
__________________
https://ivorphotography.co.uk

My Flickr


OMD E-M5 Mk II, E-5 and E-510

"A race, a fight or a game can be won but to call something 'the best' in the arts is absurd" Sir Alec Guinness, 28th March 1995
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 15th July 2017
Ivor Ivor is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North East England
Posts: 191
Thanks: 41
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Likes: 86
Liked 51 Times in 33 Posts
Re: Windows 10 Codec for ORf

Quote:
Originally Posted by DavyG View Post
I have Windows 10 with the Creators update installed.

.ORF files from the E-M1 show as an image in windows explorer, .ORF files from he E-M5 II and E-M1 II only show an icon, when you try to open the icon using photos, the program states "it appears that we don't support this file format".

Dave
Sorry, Dave. I posted my last before reading this. SNAP!

I have sent my report to Microsoft.

Ivor
__________________
https://ivorphotography.co.uk

My Flickr


OMD E-M5 Mk II, E-5 and E-510

"A race, a fight or a game can be won but to call something 'the best' in the arts is absurd" Sir Alec Guinness, 28th March 1995
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
codec, e-m5 mark ii, orf, raw

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SOLVED Raw codec andym Software 7 23rd August 2013 02:57 PM
HELP! Olympus RAW codec on Windows XP Ian Software 11 6th March 2010 06:50 PM
Olympus Codec for XP shenstone Software 5 14th April 2009 08:35 AM
Windows Vista RAW codec Ian Software 4 24th November 2008 09:14 PM
Olympus Raw codec for Windows Vista Invicta Software 3 7th January 2008 07:57 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:45 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2017, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger