Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Software

Software Discuss Olympus Master, Studio and Viewer software applications as well as third party programs like Adobe Photoshop, Lightroom, Apple Aperture, and others.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 9th August 2014
Sisi Sisi is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: London
Posts: 84
Thanks: 36
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 4
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
RAW files from EM1 in Aperture

Hi,
Does Apples Aperture support RAW files from the EM1?

Just tried shooting RAW but seem unable to import them???

Thanks for any help!

Sisi
__________________
Sisi Burn
Photography for musicians.
www.sisiburn.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10th August 2014
StephenL's Avatar
StephenL StephenL is offline
Senior Pixelmonger
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Yorkshire Dales
Posts: 9,855
Thanks: 988
Thanked 1,125 Times in 923 Posts
Likes: 658
Liked 750 Times in 497 Posts
Re: RAW files from EM1 in Aperture

I don't have Aperture, but Mavericks supports up to the E-M10 now, so check for updates.
__________________
Stephen

A camera takes a picture. A photographer makes a picture

Fuji X system, Olympus E-1 + Olympus and Bronica film

My Flickr site
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th August 2014
Olybirder Olybirder is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 5,078
Thanks: 2,070
Thanked 833 Times in 662 Posts
Likes: 1,235
Liked 1,747 Times in 615 Posts
Re: RAW files from EM1 in Aperture

According to this page Aperture does support the E-M1 but you need version 3.4 or later.

Ron
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th August 2014
Sisi Sisi is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: London
Posts: 84
Thanks: 36
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 4
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: RAW files from EM1 in Aperture

Quote:
Originally Posted by Olybirder View Post
According to this page Aperture does support the E-M1 but you need version 3.4 or later.

Ron
Thanks. I have just discovered that I would have to update the whole OSX as well to get this update as I need OS 10.9!!
__________________
Sisi Burn
Photography for musicians.
www.sisiburn.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10th August 2014
Olybirder Olybirder is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 5,078
Thanks: 2,070
Thanked 833 Times in 662 Posts
Likes: 1,235
Liked 1,747 Times in 615 Posts
Re: RAW files from EM1 in Aperture

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sisi View Post
Thanks. I have just discovered that I would have to update the whole OSX as well to get this update as I need OS 10.9!!
As a work around, if you don't wish to update your OSX, you could download Adobe DNG Converter and convert the files to DNG format (keep the original ORF versions too.) It is a bit of a hassle but it would enable you to see if you think that raw is worth pursuing.

Ron
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10th August 2014
Sisi Sisi is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: London
Posts: 84
Thanks: 36
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 4
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: RAW files from EM1 in Aperture

Quote:
Originally Posted by Olybirder View Post
As a work around, if you don't wish to update your OSX, you could download Adobe DNG Converter and convert the files to DNG format (keep the original ORF versions too.) It is a bit of a hassle but it would enable you to see if you think that raw is worth pursuing.

Ron
Thanks, but my version of Aperture does not seem to read the DNG file either!
It should do but it's not.

Does anyone use Olympus viewer 3 for RAW?
Tried that as well but as some of the photos were shot using digital tele converter, it won't show me the original crop area???
__________________
Sisi Burn
Photography for musicians.
www.sisiburn.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10th August 2014
pdk42's Avatar
pdk42 pdk42 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Leamington Spa
Posts: 3,723
Thanks: 326
Thanked 807 Times in 614 Posts
Likes: 57
Liked 3,275 Times in 1,121 Posts
Re: RAW files from EM1 in Aperture

Apple for some odd reason have decided that raw file processing should be done in the OS. So, new cameras=new OS version. Given that Apple are discontinuing Aperture, it might make sense to consider switching to Lightroom?
__________________
Paul
E-M1ii, Pen-F and too many lenses
flickr
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to pdk42 For This Useful Post:
Sisi (10th August 2014)
  #8  
Old 10th August 2014
Sisi Sisi is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: London
Posts: 84
Thanks: 36
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 4
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: RAW files from EM1 in Aperture

Quote:
Originally Posted by pdk42 View Post
Apple for some odd reason have decided that raw file processing should be done in the OS. So, new cameras=new OS version. Given that Apple are discontinuing Aperture, it might make sense to consider switching to Lightroom?
Goodness, I had no idea they were going to discontinue Aperture. Thanks for this information.
__________________
Sisi Burn
Photography for musicians.
www.sisiburn.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10th August 2014
tomphotofx's Avatar
tomphotofx tomphotofx is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bexleyheath UK
Posts: 2,532
Thanks: 260
Thanked 544 Times in 480 Posts
Likes: 404
Liked 292 Times in 144 Posts
Re: RAW files from EM1 in Aperture

Aperture and iPhoto will be replaced with a new Program called Photos very soon. As mentioned above you need to be running version 3.4 the current is 3.5 I can confirm EM 1 raw files can be imported and edited in Aperture. The reason for this is because Apple will be releasing a new operating system called Yosemite with a new raw convertor version 6.

Try this site for more info http://www.apertureexpert.com

Tom
__________________
"Who is watching the Watchers, watching the Watchers watching us"

Its not what you see, it's the way that you see it"

Flickr http://www.flickr.com/photos/photofxstudios
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10th August 2014
DerekW DerekW is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 2,499
Thanks: 51
Thanked 278 Times in 216 Posts
Likes: 12
Liked 290 Times in 216 Posts
Re: RAW files from EM1 in Aperture

Do not jump ship until you have reviewed the replacement product due out in 2015.

YOu will not be able to do a transfer of your existing images to in Aperture to Lightroom without having to do a lot of rework, so if you do adopt Lightroom you will have to support two methods of storing and processing images.

The camera RAW support has just been updated to support RAW files from the
Olympus OM-D E-M10
and the Stylus 1

AS for the statement that RAW file conversion is done in the OS so a new camera requires a new OS is not true - you just need to download and install the Digital Camera RAW Compatibility file which enables Preview, Aperture, iPhoto, Pixelmator and any other application written to really work with OSX as opposed to sit on top of it to handle RAW files.
__________________
This space for rent
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DerekW For This Useful Post:
Sisi (11th August 2014)
  #11  
Old 11th August 2014
Sisi Sisi is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: London
Posts: 84
Thanks: 36
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 4
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: RAW files from EM1 in Aperture

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerekW View Post
Do not jump ship until you have reviewed the replacement product due out in 2015.

YOu will not be able to do a transfer of your existing images to in Aperture to Lightroom without having to do a lot of rework, so if you do adopt Lightroom you will have to support two methods of storing and processing images.

The camera RAW support has just been updated to support RAW files from the
Olympus OM-D E-M10
and the Stylus 1

AS for the statement that RAW file conversion is done in the OS so a new camera requires a new OS is not true - you just need to download and install the Digital Camera RAW Compatibility file which enables Preview, Aperture, iPhoto, Pixelmator and any other application written to really work with OSX as opposed to sit on top of it to handle RAW files.
Thanks for this. So do you think it would be more worth my while to update my OS X? I am currently using OS 10.6. And do you know if the the new replacement of Aperture be a professional program??
__________________
Sisi Burn
Photography for musicians.
www.sisiburn.com
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11th August 2014
Olybirder Olybirder is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 5,078
Thanks: 2,070
Thanked 833 Times in 662 Posts
Likes: 1,235
Liked 1,747 Times in 615 Posts
Re: RAW files from EM1 in Aperture

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sisi View Post
So do you think it would be more worth my while to update my OS X? I am currently using OS 10.6.
Is there any reason why you haven't updated your operating software? You should be able to do it free from 10.6. I am very happy running Mavericks and can't remember any major problems arising from updating. I think the initial download was quite large though.

Ron
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11th August 2014
Sisi Sisi is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: London
Posts: 84
Thanks: 36
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 4
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: RAW files from EM1 in Aperture

Quote:
Originally Posted by Olybirder View Post
Is there any reason why you haven't updated your operating software? You should be able to do it free from 10.6. I am very happy running Mavericks and can't remember any major problems arising from updating. I think the initial download was quite large though.

Ron
No reason! just time and unless I'm forced to given these kinds of issues.
__________________
Sisi Burn
Photography for musicians.
www.sisiburn.com
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12th August 2014
tomphotofx's Avatar
tomphotofx tomphotofx is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bexleyheath UK
Posts: 2,532
Thanks: 260
Thanked 544 Times in 480 Posts
Likes: 404
Liked 292 Times in 144 Posts
Re: RAW files from EM1 in Aperture

If you decide to switch to Lightroom you will find this webcast very helpful in the transition from Aperture to Lightroom.

http://kelbyone.com/aperture-to-lightroom/webcast/

Hope this helps as you seem worried about about Apple not supporting Aperture in the future.

Tom
__________________
"Who is watching the Watchers, watching the Watchers watching us"

Its not what you see, it's the way that you see it"

Flickr http://www.flickr.com/photos/photofxstudios
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aperture, em1, omd, raw

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple Aperture / E-M1 RAW files: some files pink/purple after import Angus Olympus OM-D E-M1 0 20th December 2013 06:01 PM
Apple released support for EM1 Raw files in Aperture and Iphoto DerekW Olympus OM-D E-M1 13 20th December 2013 05:58 AM
Aperture and iPhoto now support EM1 Raw files DerekW Software 0 17th December 2013 11:02 PM
Importing RAW files into Aperture from OMD cOMpact Software 2 24th August 2013 07:56 PM
E5 RAW & Aperture Seonnaidh Olympus E-5 8 16th February 2011 11:17 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:31 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2017, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger