Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Olympus E-510

Olympus E-510 E-510 specific discussion.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 29th January 2010
gregles gregles is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,176
Thanks: 615
Thanked 396 Times in 381 Posts
Likes: 175
Liked 112 Times in 67 Posts
Bulb Function

Hi there,

could someone please explain how best to utilise the bulb function on the E510. I understand that it requires a remote release cable or a remote control. Which is best?

I would also appreciate some info on setting the exposure etc and whether the manual setting would meter for the optimal exposure.

Many thanks

Greg
__________________
My Flickr Home Page
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29th January 2010
theMusicMan's Avatar
theMusicMan theMusicMan is offline
E-3 Enthusiast....:)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: South Wales
Posts: 5,859
Thanks: 145
Thanked 266 Times in 178 Posts
Likes: 8
Liked 15 Times in 12 Posts
Re: Bulb Function

Hey Greg - what it is you are trying to do with bulb mode? Used for very long exposures or simply to hold the shutter open whilst you light the scene with something such as a bulb or light/laser thingy.
__________________
John

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29th January 2010
gregles gregles is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,176
Thanks: 615
Thanked 396 Times in 381 Posts
Likes: 175
Liked 112 Times in 67 Posts
Re: Bulb Function

Hi John,

I have been taking longer exposure shots like this



I am limited to 60 seconds and anything longer requires bulb function which I am not familiar with at all I would love to utilise the longer exposure function and would appreciate any advice
__________________
My Flickr Home Page
Reply With Quote
The Following User Liked This Post:
Pupkin (16th April 2017)
  #4  
Old 29th January 2010
theMusicMan's Avatar
theMusicMan theMusicMan is offline
E-3 Enthusiast....:)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: South Wales
Posts: 5,859
Thanks: 145
Thanked 266 Times in 178 Posts
Likes: 8
Liked 15 Times in 12 Posts
Re: Bulb Function

WOW - lovely shot... you don't need any advice really do ya!

Seriously though, all you need to do is for a given aperture where the correct exposure is 60sec, keep the aperture, but double the time i.e. 120s, to double the exposure.

So if the reading suggests that the exposure is 2 stops under at 60s and f4.0, then simply set the camera to bulb mode and time a shot for 4mins exposure.
__________________
John

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29th January 2010
gregles gregles is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,176
Thanks: 615
Thanked 396 Times in 381 Posts
Likes: 175
Liked 112 Times in 67 Posts
Re: Bulb Function

Thanks John I have only just started shooting in manual thanks to this forum I have lots and lots to learn

Would it be best to use a cable or a remote for bulb?
__________________
My Flickr Home Page
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30th January 2010
theMusicMan's Avatar
theMusicMan theMusicMan is offline
E-3 Enthusiast....:)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: South Wales
Posts: 5,859
Thanks: 145
Thanked 266 Times in 178 Posts
Likes: 8
Liked 15 Times in 12 Posts
Re: Bulb Function

Either really would do, as well as a massively sturdy tripod
__________________
John

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 30th January 2010
BobS BobS is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Isle of Purbeck, Dorset
Posts: 1,247
Thanks: 50
Thanked 51 Times in 47 Posts
Likes: 39
Liked 11 Times in 9 Posts
Re: Bulb Function

Hi Greg

If it's of interest, I purchased a cable release recently (item no. 220478405997 for 3.99 and free post) from Higadjetshop an eBayer in Hong Kong which arrived in about a week. I've tested it and works fine.

Regards
Bob
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 30th January 2010
gregles gregles is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,176
Thanks: 615
Thanked 396 Times in 381 Posts
Likes: 175
Liked 112 Times in 67 Posts
Re: Bulb Function

Quote:
Originally Posted by theMusicMan View Post
Either really would do, as well as a massively sturdy tripod
Thanks John,

have to make do with my 10 Hama tripod from Tesco for now

It jams quite nicely down in the mud and with a time delay before the shot any movement seems to be minimised.
__________________
My Flickr Home Page
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 30th January 2010
gregles gregles is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,176
Thanks: 615
Thanked 396 Times in 381 Posts
Likes: 175
Liked 112 Times in 67 Posts
Re: Bulb Function

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobS View Post
Hi Greg

If it's of interest, I purchased a cable release recently (item no. 220478405997 for 3.99 and free post) from Higadjetshop an eBayer in Hong Kong which arrived in about a week. I've tested it and works fine.

Regards
Bob
That looks ideal Bob

Thanks for the link. I will get one ordered and then come back with more questions when I have completely confused myself
__________________
My Flickr Home Page
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 30th January 2010
Baffled Baffled is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Derbyshire
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Bulb Function

I am a little confused. How can you use a cable release on an E510? The lack of such a facility is something I have sorely missed. The remote is limited as to use it one has to stand in front of the camera. Alas my E510 doesn't seem to have a cable socket. Am I missing something?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 30th January 2010
gregles gregles is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,176
Thanks: 615
Thanked 396 Times in 381 Posts
Likes: 175
Liked 112 Times in 67 Posts
Re: Bulb Function

Have a look at this link to the Olympus UK site. The remote release cable from Oly for the E510

http://www.olympus.co.uk/consumer/19...-uc1_14176.htm
__________________
My Flickr Home Page
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 30th January 2010
Baffled Baffled is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Derbyshire
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Bulb Function

Thanks Gregles. All is now clear. In my old fashioned way I was looking for a screw in socket as proper cameras used to have. It never occurred to me that it might be electronic!

My only excuse, apart from incipient senility, is that there seems no mention of it in the Instruction Manual - at least not in the index, nor any place obvious. Only the RM-1. Perhaps it is buried somewhere.

Thanks again
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Checking image stabilisation function. Jim Ford Olympus E-3 10 15th July 2009 07:13 AM
Brief explanation of the 'Calendar Function' theMusicMan Site news 0 20th February 2009 09:48 AM
12-60 zoom function. mike_j Lens focus 3 17th February 2009 10:24 PM
Quick test of CS3 Panorama function... theMusicMan Foto Fair 3 24th March 2008 06:12 PM
Fn Function Button Crouchy Olympus E-3 3 26th November 2007 12:47 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:54 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2018, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger