Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Out of Focus area > The lounge

The lounge Relax, take a break from photo and camera talk - have a chat about something else for a change. Just keep it clean and polite!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 24th September 2011
theMusicMan's Avatar
theMusicMan theMusicMan is offline
E-3 Enthusiast....:)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: South Wales
Posts: 5,871
Thanks: 139
Thanked 266 Times in 177 Posts
Likes: 8
Liked 23 Times in 16 Posts
Darned Photoshop Content Aware tool... just makes a hash of it on times...

Hi All

I am practising using the content aware tool and just can't get it to do something simple.

Is anyone here an expert on the use of the Photoshop content aware tool...? I am trying to do something that is what I would consider an easy task for such an esteemed photoshop tool, but all it is doing is making a complete and utter mess of the attempt.

OK, I am sure it's 99.9% me and 0.1% photoshop - but nonetheless I am a frustrated bunny this morning. All I am trying to practice is how to remove the switch out of this image...




OK, it's not a final shot... but I have one that I want to remove something similar out of and want to practice on this. Is anyone willing to lend a hand and show me the best way to achieve this please?

Here's the result of...

Selecting the light switch using polygonal lasoo tool
Edit - fill - content aware

YUK

__________________
John

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24th September 2011
stevednp3's Avatar
stevednp3 stevednp3 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Wales
Posts: 1,787
Thanks: 76
Thanked 44 Times in 38 Posts
Likes: 2
Liked 76 Times in 23 Posts
Re: Darned Photoshop Content Aware tool... just makes a hash of it on times...

John first thing is don't select anything, you limit the tools scanning area, create a new blank layer and make sure sample all layers is selected for the tool and use content aware on this new layer. As the correction is on a new layer you can mask out or eraser out any errors and the old layer will show through. Hope this helps
__________________
E-M10 Mk2 - 14-42mm EZ - 40-150mm ED - Falcon 8mm Fisheye - FL-36R

Wedding Photography Wales | Commercial Photography | Party Photographer Cardiff | Cheap Business Cards | Photoshop Training Cardiff
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stevednp3 For This Useful Post:
Wee man (24th September 2011)
  #3  
Old 24th September 2011
theMusicMan's Avatar
theMusicMan theMusicMan is offline
E-3 Enthusiast....:)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: South Wales
Posts: 5,871
Thanks: 139
Thanked 266 Times in 177 Posts
Likes: 8
Liked 23 Times in 16 Posts
Re: Darned Photoshop Content Aware tool... just makes a hash of it on times...

Hmmmm... not sure if I understand Steve sorry. If I mask out or erase the layer and the old layer shows through... won't that bring back the switch (old layer = switch??)
__________________
John

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24th September 2011
stevednp3's Avatar
stevednp3 stevednp3 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Wales
Posts: 1,787
Thanks: 76
Thanked 44 Times in 38 Posts
Likes: 2
Liked 76 Times in 23 Posts
Re: Darned Photoshop Content Aware tool... just makes a hash of it on times...

What I mean is mask out any areas that content aware goes over in the shoulder, also the good old clone tool might do a better job here using the same technique on a new layer
__________________
E-M10 Mk2 - 14-42mm EZ - 40-150mm ED - Falcon 8mm Fisheye - FL-36R

Wedding Photography Wales | Commercial Photography | Party Photographer Cardiff | Cheap Business Cards | Photoshop Training Cardiff
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24th September 2011
OlyPaul's Avatar
OlyPaul OlyPaul is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: West Midlands
Posts: 5,470
Thanks: 140
Thanked 715 Times in 577 Posts
Likes: 177
Liked 875 Times in 355 Posts
Re: Darned Photoshop Content Aware tool... just makes a hash of it on times...

Quote:
Originally Posted by theMusicMan View Post
Hi All



OK, I am sure it's 99.9% me and 0.1% photoshop - but nonetheless I am a frustrated bunny this morning. All I am trying to practice is how to remove the switch out of this image...
No John in this particular case it's 99% photoshop and 1% you.

The content aware fill samples from surrounding areas and this particular image is not a good use for it as it has it's limitations and for sharp edge areas of differing plain tones close together it rarely does the job.

As always best to pick the best tool for the job.

Select a area with the lasso tool as below to keep a large amount of source space but also to protect the image area you want to keep intact then use the clone tool and then deselect and usethe content aware spot healing brush on the bit of hair that the clone tool is no good for.



__________________
Regards Paul.
One day I hope to be the person my dogs think I am.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/paul_silk/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24th September 2011
theMusicMan's Avatar
theMusicMan theMusicMan is offline
E-3 Enthusiast....:)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: South Wales
Posts: 5,871
Thanks: 139
Thanked 266 Times in 177 Posts
Likes: 8
Liked 23 Times in 16 Posts
Re: Darned Photoshop Content Aware tool... just makes a hash of it on times...

Thanks Steve and Paul... will have a bash now.
__________________
John

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24th September 2011
stevednp3's Avatar
stevednp3 stevednp3 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Wales
Posts: 1,787
Thanks: 76
Thanked 44 Times in 38 Posts
Likes: 2
Liked 76 Times in 23 Posts
Re: Darned Photoshop Content Aware tool... just makes a hash of it on times...

I think Paul has hit the nail on the head, the clone tool is the best tool for this type of job
__________________
E-M10 Mk2 - 14-42mm EZ - 40-150mm ED - Falcon 8mm Fisheye - FL-36R

Wedding Photography Wales | Commercial Photography | Party Photographer Cardiff | Cheap Business Cards | Photoshop Training Cardiff
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24th September 2011
tomphotofx's Avatar
tomphotofx tomphotofx is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bexleyheath UK
Posts: 2,545
Thanks: 262
Thanked 545 Times in 481 Posts
Likes: 408
Liked 295 Times in 147 Posts
Re: Darned Photoshop Content Aware tool... just makes a hash of it on times...

Hi

What you need to do is unlock the backround layer, select the person and hair with on of the selection tools. If you use OlyPaul's example you would need to inverse the selection. Then Alt click on the layer mask this will then hide everything apart from the light switch and some of the background. Then click back on the layer make a rough selection around the light switch then use edit fill Content Aware and because the mask is hiding the person it will only use the visible background and you will have an excellent result. Delete the layer mask and there you have it.

Sorry if it seems long winded but it works.

All the best

Tom
__________________
"Who is watching the Watchers, watching the Watchers watching us"

Its not what you see, it's the way that you see it"

Flickr http://www.flickr.com/photos/photofxstudios
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
They Move too darned fast shenstone Foto Fair 4 28th February 2011 07:02 PM
Content aware in Elements 9 OlyPaul Software 4 20th January 2011 12:43 PM
The Power of Content Aware Fill stevednp3 The lounge 3 5th August 2010 08:02 PM
Content aware healing tool David Gethin Software 6 23rd July 2010 12:52 PM
A very useful tool... nad The lounge 2 16th February 2008 10:57 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:46 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2018, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger