Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Site news and information > Announcements > Articles from FourThirds-User.com

Articles from FourThirds-User.com News and features from a sibling to the e-group, Four Thirds User.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 7th March 2013
David Morison's Avatar
David Morison David Morison is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fulbeck, Lincolnshire
Posts: 3,507
Thanks: 71
Thanked 588 Times in 472 Posts
Likes: 48
Liked 298 Times in 175 Posts
Re: Four Thirds User DNS problem

Still can't get in by any means.

David ( Rural Lincolnshire - if that makes any difference)
__________________
PBase Galleries:-http://www.pbase.com/davidmorisonimages
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 7th March 2013
peak4's Avatar
peak4 peak4 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: sheffield
Posts: 1,601
Thanks: 113
Thanked 198 Times in 167 Posts
Likes: 164
Liked 149 Times in 102 Posts
Re: Four Thirds User DNS problem

I think it's down to the ISP rather than geographical area.
For what it's worth I'm on BT in Sheffield and can't get in from my landline adsl broadband
__________________
Best Regards
Bill

The nearest I have to a home page.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/peak4/
They're Watching You!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 7th March 2013
reggieb reggieb is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SC
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Four Thirds User DNS problem

DNS still not working for me, but you can add a hosts file entry if you're still having trouble.

On a PC:
Right click Notepad, and run as administrator
Click File > Open
Go to C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc
In the bottom right, there is a dropdown that says Text Documents (.txt)
Change that to all files, then open the file called "hosts"
Add the following to the end of that file:

72.52.140.89 fourthirds-user.com

After you do that, open a command prompt (click start, type cmd in the search field and hit enter)

type in ipconfig /flushdns
then hit enter

Re-open browser, and the site will load for you.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to reggieb For This Useful Post:
Ross the fiddler (7th March 2013)
  #19  
Old 7th March 2013
peak4's Avatar
peak4 peak4 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: sheffield
Posts: 1,601
Thanks: 113
Thanked 198 Times in 167 Posts
Likes: 164
Liked 149 Times in 102 Posts
Re: Four Thirds User DNS problem

Just tried OpenDNS servers and can't get on with that either, so scrub that idea.
Tesco Mobile works fine, so their DNS servers have updated OK
__________________
Best Regards
Bill

The nearest I have to a home page.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/peak4/
They're Watching You!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 7th March 2013
reggieb reggieb is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SC
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Four Thirds User DNS problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by peak4 View Post
Just tried OpenDNS servers and can't get on with that either, so scrub that idea.
Tesco Mobile works fine, so their DNS servers have updated OK
Yeah, I use OpenDNS, but had to set up a hosts file entry.

Should finish propagating in the next day or so.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 7th March 2013
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,259
Thanks: 410
Thanked 2,378 Times in 1,198 Posts
Likes: 799
Liked 1,535 Times in 696 Posts
Re: Four Thirds User DNS problem

Some people are still reporting they can't see FTU.

My advice is to clear your browser cache. When DNS was restored I was at home (we are with Virgin Broadband at home) and pages that were open in Firefox refused to see anything put the DNS expiry page but when I opened IE9 which had not previously seen or cached the DNS expiry pages FTU appeared quite normally.

Some help can be found here:

http://www.wikihow.com/Clear-Your-Browser%27s-Cache

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 7th March 2013
Ross the fiddler's Avatar
Ross the fiddler Ross the fiddler is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Blue Mtns, NSW Australia
Posts: 13,300
Thanks: 1,985
Thanked 1,250 Times in 986 Posts
Likes: 4,995
Liked 1,834 Times in 1,028 Posts
Re: Four Thirds User DNS problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian View Post
Some people are still reporting they can't see FTU.

My advice is to clear your browser cache. When DNS was restored I was at home (we are with Virgin Broadband at home) and pages that were open in Firefox refused to see anything put the DNS expiry page but when I opened IE9 which had not previously seen or cached the DNS expiry pages FTU appeared quite normally.

Some help can be found here:

http://www.wikihow.com/Clear-Your-Browser%27s-Cache

Ian
I didn't need to do that, but in previous situations where there were issues, I reset (powered down for 10 seconds) the home modem with successful results (because other computers on the home network had the same issues). Perhaps Reggie might be able to explain the technical reasons for that maybe or if it is futile in this situation. My old computer knowledge makes me think of it as going through a 'handshake' sequence again (as in RS323).
__________________
Ross
I fiddle with violins (when I'm not fiddling with a camera).
Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/ross-the-fiddler/
Cameras: OM-D E-M1 & Mk II, Olympus Stylus 1, OM-D E-M5.
Lenses: M.ZD12-40mm f2.8 PRO Lens, M.ZD40-150mm f2.8 PRO Lens with MC-14, M.ZD12-50, M.ZD60 Macro, M.ZD75-300 Mk II, MMF-3, ZD14-54 II, Sigma 150mm F2.8 APO Macro DG HSM.
Flashes: FL36R X2, FL50R, FL50.
Software: Capture One Pro 10 (& Olympus Viewer 3).
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 7th March 2013
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,259
Thanks: 410
Thanked 2,378 Times in 1,198 Posts
Likes: 799
Liked 1,535 Times in 696 Posts
Re: Four Thirds User DNS problem

OK, it might require a Windows DNS cache to be cleared:

http://lifehacker.com/343211/clean-y...wsing-problems

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 7th March 2013
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,259
Thanks: 410
Thanked 2,378 Times in 1,198 Posts
Likes: 799
Liked 1,535 Times in 696 Posts
Re: Four Thirds User DNS problem

OK that would indicate that the modem/router holds a DNS cache in it... interesting.

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 7th March 2013
andym's Avatar
andym andym is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Epping Forest
Posts: 4,344
Thanks: 36
Thanked 345 Times in 257 Posts
Likes: 39
Liked 999 Times in 296 Posts
Re: Four Thirds User DNS problem

Restart of my hub cured it for me.Also got rid of the page jumping to the bottom every time when this site was opened which I think a few people also had yesterday.
__________________
All the best

Being left handed my brain sometimes works sdrawkcab

Andy

Lots of cameras and lenses.


My Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 8th March 2013
pault pault is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Herts
Posts: 716
Thanks: 149
Thanked 108 Times in 56 Posts
Likes: 482
Liked 42 Times in 29 Posts
Re: Four Thirds User DNS problem

Cache cleared...several times, virgins super hub restarted several times,-- still no access to FTU. Same message appearing.
getting fed up now.
pault
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 8th March 2013
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,259
Thanks: 410
Thanked 2,378 Times in 1,198 Posts
Likes: 799
Liked 1,535 Times in 696 Posts
Re: Four Thirds User DNS problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by pault View Post
Cache cleared...several times, virgins super hub restarted several times,-- still no access to FTU. Same message appearing.
getting fed up now.
pault
We have Virgin (and super hub) at home (we're probably in the same catchment area as you here in Hemel) and it was the first to clear, so something odd there - what computer and OS are you using? Is it the same if you connect through a tablet or smartphone through your super hub?

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 8th March 2013
pault pault is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Herts
Posts: 716
Thanks: 149
Thanked 108 Times in 56 Posts
Likes: 482
Liked 42 Times in 29 Posts
Re: Four Thirds User DNS problem

Hi Ian, I'm using Apple Macbook Pro, Safari browser. Have tried Camino browser but same issue. Strangely, I got it working yesterday.
I can get FTU on my iPad
Thanks for getting back to me
pault
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 8th March 2013
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,259
Thanks: 410
Thanked 2,378 Times in 1,198 Posts
Likes: 799
Liked 1,535 Times in 696 Posts
Re: Four Thirds User DNS problem

Unfortunately, I am not technical with Macs - I suspect that there is a DNS cache in your Mac that needs to be flushed. I know how to do this with Windows but not MacOS - maybe someone else can help here?

Hang on - I will search using Google...

OK, found this:

http://www.hongkiat.com/blog/how-to-...c-osx-leopard/

Hope it works!

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 8th March 2013
pault pault is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Herts
Posts: 716
Thanks: 149
Thanked 108 Times in 56 Posts
Likes: 482
Liked 42 Times in 29 Posts
Re: Four Thirds User DNS problem

Ian, thanks for lead, unfortunately didn't work. I'm using Mountain Lion system, and found command to use. i.e. "sudo killall -HUP mDNSResponder".
Thanks for your help
pault
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Four Thirds User hands-on coverage of a production sample OM-D E-M5 coming up Four Thirds User Articles from FourThirds-User.com 0 12th March 2012 12:10 AM
Flickr links on Four Thirds User David Gethin The lounge 10 3rd July 2011 10:05 AM
Four Thirds User introduces blog facility Four Thirds User Articles from FourThirds-User.com 1 21st September 2009 07:48 PM
Four Thirds User technical problems Ian Announcements 1 13th March 2009 05:38 PM
Four Thirds User Problems ? Zuiko Announcements 46 28th April 2008 09:29 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:31 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2018, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger