Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Software

Software Discuss Olympus Master, Studio and Viewer software applications as well as third party programs like Adobe Photoshop, Lightroom, Apple Aperture, and others.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 1 Week Ago
sapper sapper is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Leigh on Sea, Essex
Posts: 4,556
Thanks: 112
Thanked 441 Times in 245 Posts
Likes: 270
Liked 794 Times in 298 Posts
iMac problem

Any iMac experts on here? Migrating to new iMac problem.
__________________
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 1 Week Ago
wornish's Avatar
wornish wornish is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 3,490
Thanks: 229
Thanked 323 Times in 247 Posts
Likes: 1,549
Liked 934 Times in 453 Posts
Re: iMac problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by sapper View Post
Any iMac experts on here? Migrating to new iMac problem.
I have one, whats the problem you have ?
__________________
Dave

My Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1 Week Ago
sapper sapper is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Leigh on Sea, Essex
Posts: 4,556
Thanks: 112
Thanked 441 Times in 245 Posts
Likes: 270
Liked 794 Times in 298 Posts
Re: iMac problem

I got a new one delivered Monday. Did what it said on the tin, set up an account and then opened Migration assistant, connected by wi- fi. It took an age to do anything, so I went on to Mac forums to ask if my data could be moved using cables.

And got this reply,"It is possible, however, the best way is to use the Migration Assistant. One word of caution though... do not create an account on the new iMac before you use the Migration Assistant. In order to do it and make sure everything gets transferred, make a full Time Machine backup first. Then attach the Time Machine drive to the new iMac and use that to Migrate everything. Old system files will not get transferred, only your apps, data, and user account.

Do not use WiFi as it is too slow and errors can occur."

So I then put this, "Thanks. Too late, account created and using wifi, as you say, very slow. I will leave it for a while but it seems as if it has frozen. Maybe start again using a cable.'

And this, 'Unfortunately, that will likely result in 2 different accounts on your Mac. That can be a real hassle to sort out. If this proves to be the case, as is likely, come back to us and we'll do our best to sort things out for you."

I replied, "Yes, that has happened. Although i don't have a problem with that, or should I?"

And got his, "I'm afraid you do.

Have a look at these articles which describe the problem you face and how you might Merge them:

https://discussions.apple.com/thread/3691381
https://apple.stackexchange.com/ques...-user-accounts
https://discussions.apple.com/thread/3862590"

I could go on, but it seems that I will have permission issues because of the two accounts.

The latest advice is to "My recommendation is to erase/wipe the new iMac, and start fresh again.

You would need to start up in Recovery, https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201314. When booted into Recovery, select Reinstall macOS. From there it will give you the option to restore from Time Machine backup, use that option.

Obviously, you will need to have your Time Machine backup drive from your old iMac connected to your new iMac."

Some of this makes sense, but most of it is above my head, its a bit like, I can drive a car, but not fix it when it goes wrong. I can use the mac, but not fix it.

Any advice would be most welcome.
__________________
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1 Week Ago
wornish's Avatar
wornish wornish is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 3,490
Thanks: 229
Thanked 323 Times in 247 Posts
Likes: 1,549
Liked 934 Times in 453 Posts
Re: iMac problem

It sounds like you need to start from scratch.

I assume you already have a time machine back up of your existing (old) Mac ?
If not what are you migrating from ?

If you have a full Time Machine backup on a separate external disk drive then all you have too do is follow the instructions in the link you posted. I certainly would connect the Time Machine disk directly to the new Mac and don't try to use WiFi.

You need to start up the new iMac in Recovery mode.
then follow these instructions.
https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201314.

I can't really add any more than what they say.
__________________
Dave

My Flickr
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to wornish For This Useful Post:
sapper (1 Week Ago)
  #5  
Old 1 Week Ago
percy percy is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Hereford
Posts: 104
Thanks: 6
Thanked 15 Times in 11 Posts
Likes: 41
Liked 20 Times in 12 Posts
Re: iMac problem

Good advice from Wornish.

It can seem quite daunting doing a re-installation like this but Macs generally do this kind of task quite well and without too much fuss and bother so don't worry about it too much
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to percy For This Useful Post:
sapper (1 Week Ago)
  #6  
Old 1 Week Ago
sapper sapper is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Leigh on Sea, Essex
Posts: 4,556
Thanks: 112
Thanked 441 Times in 245 Posts
Likes: 270
Liked 794 Times in 298 Posts
Re: iMac problem

It is a bit scary, but needs must. I hope to pluck up courage in the morning.
__________________
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 1 Week Ago
DerekW DerekW is online now
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 2,746
Thanks: 65
Thanked 299 Times in 234 Posts
Likes: 16
Liked 398 Times in 286 Posts
Re: iMac problem

and do not watch it once it has started - watched kettles never boil
__________________
This space for rent
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 1 Week Ago
sapper sapper is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Leigh on Sea, Essex
Posts: 4,556
Thanks: 112
Thanked 441 Times in 245 Posts
Likes: 270
Liked 794 Times in 298 Posts
Re: iMac problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by wornish View Post
It sounds like you need to start from scratch.

I assume you already have a time machine back up of your existing (old) Mac ?
If not what are you migrating from ?

If you have a full Time Machine backup on a separate external disk drive then all you have too do is follow the instructions in the link you posted. I certainly would connect the Time Machine disk directly to the new Mac and don't try to use WiFi.

You need to start up the new iMac in Recovery mode.
then follow these instructions.
https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201314.

I can't really add any more than what they say.
Thanks Dave. Done all that but ended up where I was. I suspect that I should have erased my start up disc then re installed macOS, which when it restarts, it starts in set up assistant.
Does that make sense?
__________________
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 1 Week Ago
wornish's Avatar
wornish wornish is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 3,490
Thanks: 229
Thanked 323 Times in 247 Posts
Likes: 1,549
Liked 934 Times in 453 Posts
Re: iMac problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by sapper View Post
Thanks Dave. Done all that but ended up where I was. I suspect that I should have erased my start up disc then re installed macOS, which when it restarts, it starts in set up assistant.
Does that make sense?
Yes, makes sense.
Its best to erase the startup disk on the new iMac before doing the re install using the recovery process.

All your data and apps are safe as long as you have a full time machine backup.
__________________
Dave

My Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 1 Week Ago
sapper sapper is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Leigh on Sea, Essex
Posts: 4,556
Thanks: 112
Thanked 441 Times in 245 Posts
Likes: 270
Liked 794 Times in 298 Posts
Re: iMac problem

I have time machine on a external drive, how do i know if it is a full back up? Not sure it matters as there hasn't been any changes in the last day or two.
__________________
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 1 Week Ago
wornish's Avatar
wornish wornish is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 3,490
Thanks: 229
Thanked 323 Times in 247 Posts
Likes: 1,549
Liked 934 Times in 453 Posts
Re: iMac problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by sapper View Post
I have time machine on a external drive, how do i know if it is a full back up? Not sure it matters as there hasn't been any changes in the last day or two.
Then the Time Machine backup has all you need.

Does your old Mac work OK as well?

If so, then you have two effective copies so you are good to go.
__________________
Dave

My Flickr
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to wornish For This Useful Post:
sapper (1 Week Ago)
  #12  
Old 1 Week Ago
sapper sapper is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Leigh on Sea, Essex
Posts: 4,556
Thanks: 112
Thanked 441 Times in 245 Posts
Likes: 270
Liked 794 Times in 298 Posts
Re: iMac problem

I give up!
Done all that and cannot get in. I put my password in and it will not recognise it. The hint is correct but it still won't work! Frustrated or what!!
__________________
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 1 Week Ago
wornish's Avatar
wornish wornish is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 3,490
Thanks: 229
Thanked 323 Times in 247 Posts
Likes: 1,549
Liked 934 Times in 453 Posts
Re: iMac problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by sapper View Post
I give up!
Done all that and cannot get in. I put my password in and it will not recognise it. The hint is correct but it still won't work! Frustrated or what!!
So you did a full clean install and then transferred your data and apps from the Time Machine backup. Before transferring the Time Machine data did it ask you for a user name and a password ?

Is it showing the correct user name ?

If yes Make sure you didn't have caps lock on for your password.

Try shutting down and rebooting the new iMac again.

Don't give up , the data is not lost.
__________________
Dave

My Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 1 Week Ago
sapper sapper is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Leigh on Sea, Essex
Posts: 4,556
Thanks: 112
Thanked 441 Times in 245 Posts
Likes: 270
Liked 794 Times in 298 Posts
Re: iMac problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by wornish View Post
So you did a full clean install and then transferred your data and apps from the Time Machine backup. Before transferring the Time Machine data did it ask you for a user name and a password ?

Is it showing the correct user name ?

If yes Make sure you didn't have caps lock on for your password.

Try shutting down and rebooting the new iMac again.

Don't give up , the data is not lost.
Not sure if it asked me for a user name, but it is showing the correct user name, and the hint is correct, caps is not on. By rebooting do you mean, re start?
__________________
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 1 Week Ago
wornish's Avatar
wornish wornish is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 3,490
Thanks: 229
Thanked 323 Times in 247 Posts
Likes: 1,549
Liked 934 Times in 453 Posts
Re: iMac problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by sapper View Post
Not sure if it asked me for a user name, but it is showing the correct user name, and the hint is correct, caps is not on. By rebooting do you mean, re start?

Yes, shutdown power off and then restart again.
__________________
Dave

My Flickr
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For sale Ram for iMac sapper For sale or wanted small ads 0 28th April 2017 09:54 AM
24" iMac Seonnaidh The lounge 7 24th November 2012 02:43 AM
Slow IMac Susan The lounge 13 4th September 2011 03:20 PM
Imac which one? WPJ The lounge 10 9th November 2010 11:16 PM
imac gooner3900 Software 6 7th September 2010 07:26 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:50 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2018, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger