Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!

Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Lens focus > Wide angle

Wide angle Lenses with focal lengths shorter than 14mm.

Old 19th January 2016

Liked 48 Times in 41 Posts
Samyang 7.5mm Fisheye

I have never owned a proper fisheye lens and deciding to get one, looked over the possibilities. It is for occasional "fun shooting" only and so I want something that is not expensive but good quality. Looking at the reviews on the web, the Samyang 7.5mm f3.5 looked like a good bet but before I buy, I have a few questions because I have never used this type of lens before.

1. That same spec lens is sold by Samyang, Rokinon, Walimex and maybe others. They all look the same and so I assume they are actually the same lens? Or is there a difference?

2. As it is a fully mechanised non-electronic manual lens, I have to set the aperture manually on the lens and focus manually, right?(That sounds like fun after decades of AF). What about the shutter speed? Since MFT cameras are not optically TTL, can the light meter in the camera 'see' what is coming through and set the right shutter speed or is it trial and error? I no longer own a hand held light meter.

3. I am assuming that the EVF will not work without the electronic link. Will the LCD screen show the image field correctly?

I request anyone who owns and/or have used this lens to clear these queries, please. Or anything else that I have to consider before buying.
Old 19th January 2016

Liked 76 Times in 52 Posts
Re: Samyang 7.5mm Fisheye

1. Can't comment directly as I don't have the lens, but I understand that to be the case by hearsay.