Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Olympus E-5

Olympus E-5 E-5 specific discussion.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2nd December 2010
andym's Avatar
andym andym is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Epping Forest
Posts: 4,352
Thanks: 37
Thanked 345 Times in 257 Posts
Likes: 39
Liked 1,006 Times in 298 Posts
Buffer size.

I found something on the E5 thats not as good as the E3,well apart from not having a dedicated button for IS.
The buffer does not seem to have increased and therefore you can only take about 11 raw frames on the high setting before the buffer fills and it drops back to about 1 frame per second.This was with a Sandisk extreame 3 card.I assume if I had a faster card it would empty the buffer quicker.
On the E3 I can shoot about 20 frames before the buffer fills.It seems to be about the same for LSF jpegs.If you drop to LF it seems to go on forever till the card fills on both.
I don't shoot continuous very often but it would have been nice to see the buffer increased.I know that file size has increase as the E3 is 10 mp and the E5 is 12mp but I'm only getting about half as many.
Interested if anyone with an E5 who has a very fast card can see what they can get.


Something to do while the weathers cxxp outside
__________________
All the best

Being left handed my brain sometimes works sdrawkcab

Andy

Lots of cameras and lenses.


My Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2nd December 2010
Ross the fiddler's Avatar
Ross the fiddler Ross the fiddler is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Blue Mtns, NSW Australia
Posts: 13,763
Thanks: 2,024
Thanked 1,300 Times in 1,015 Posts
Likes: 5,273
Liked 1,942 Times in 1,079 Posts
Re: Buffer size.

Unfortunately it was one thing they didn't consider as important, but if you need an IS button, you can always sacrifice the preview function & use that button (that was one good thing they did with that).
__________________
Ross
I fiddle with violins (when I'm not fiddling with a camera).
Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/ross-the-fiddler/
Cameras: OM-D E-M1 & Mk II, Olympus Stylus 1, OM-D E-M5.
Lenses: M.ZD12-40mm f2.8 PRO Lens, M.ZD40-150mm f2.8 PRO Lens with MC-14, M.ZD12-50, M.ZD60 Macro, M.ZD75-300 Mk II, MMF-3, ZD14-54 II, Sigma 150mm F2.8 APO Macro DG HSM.
Flashes: FL36R X2, FL50R, FL50.
Software: Capture One Pro 10 (& Olympus Viewer 3).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2nd December 2010
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,381
Thanks: 413
Thanked 2,438 Times in 1,227 Posts
Likes: 821
Liked 1,635 Times in 730 Posts
Re: Buffer size.

Extreme III cards are a fair bit slower than UDMA cards (Extreme IV and later) on the E-5 (and there is some benefit on the E-3 as well). Of course E-5 files are 20% larger as well. On the other hand, I did notice that the shooting rate is not noticeably dulled when using continuous AF.

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2nd December 2010
photo_owl photo_owl is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kent
Posts: 1,423
Thanks: 37
Thanked 129 Times in 113 Posts
Likes: 55
Liked 53 Times in 42 Posts
Re: Buffer size.

I don't notice a practical difference between the 3 and 30 in this respect (using 30mbs cards), and can't see that the 5 will be 'worse' than the 30.

Theoretically, with RAW files, it's going to be a data transfer issue with either the bus or the card read speed being the bottleneck. I always thought it would be the jpeg engines rendering that would be a factor but, as you have illustrated in your post, it isn't - and definitely won't be on the 5.

As Ian hints, I would expect the 5 to have a faster bus (than the 3 or 30) and to be able to benefit from faster cards (better than 30mbs) in a way that the 3 and 30 don't seem to. It would be interesting to know what the optimum speed is - and if it's faster than the others can handle.
__________________
E, Pen and OM-D bodies
43 m43 and legacy glass
loads of flashes and accessories from all the systems
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2nd December 2010
andym's Avatar
andym andym is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Epping Forest
Posts: 4,352
Thanks: 37
Thanked 345 Times in 257 Posts
Likes: 39
Liked 1,006 Times in 298 Posts
Re: Buffer size.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian View Post
Of course E-5 files are 20% larger as well. On the other hand, I did notice that the shooting rate is not noticeably dulled when using continuous AF.

Ian
Probably some other factor comes into play but I seem to get 50% less in terms of amount of continous frame from the E5 than the E3.As I said it's not much of a problem to me but may be to some people.
__________________
All the best

Being left handed my brain sometimes works sdrawkcab

Andy

Lots of cameras and lenses.


My Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2nd December 2010
andym's Avatar
andym andym is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Epping Forest
Posts: 4,352
Thanks: 37
Thanked 345 Times in 257 Posts
Likes: 39
Liked 1,006 Times in 298 Posts
Re: Buffer size.

Quote:
Originally Posted by photo_owl View Post
I don't notice a practical difference between the 3 and 30 in this respect (using 30mbs cards), and can't see that the 5 will be 'worse' than the 30.

Theoretically, with RAW files, it's going to be a data transfer issue with either the bus or the card read speed being the bottleneck. I always thought it would be the jpeg engines rendering that would be a factor but, as you have illustrated in your post, it isn't - and definitely won't be on the 5.

As Ian hints, I would expect the 5 to have a faster bus (than the 3 or 30) and to be able to benefit from faster cards (better than 30mbs) in a way that the 3 and 30 don't seem to. It would be interesting to know what the optimum speed is - and if it's faster than the others can handle.
Interested in what the E30 can do if you want to run a little unscientific test.
__________________
All the best

Being left handed my brain sometimes works sdrawkcab

Andy

Lots of cameras and lenses.


My Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2nd December 2010
Seonnaidh's Avatar
Seonnaidh Seonnaidh is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Isle of Skye
Posts: 1,344
Thanks: 44
Thanked 279 Times in 189 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 33 Times in 11 Posts
Re: Buffer size.

Hi,

I've just tested mine and got 18 frames on RAW before it all started to get a bit pedestrian.
I'm using Lexar 4gb 300X Professional cards.
As with yourself dropping down to LF JPEGS I can fil the card before the buffer fills.
Any help?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2nd December 2010
andym's Avatar
andym andym is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Epping Forest
Posts: 4,352
Thanks: 37
Thanked 345 Times in 257 Posts
Likes: 39
Liked 1,006 Times in 298 Posts
Re: Buffer size.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seonnaidh View Post
Hi,

I've just tested mine and got 18 frames on RAW before it all started to get a bit pedestrian.
I'm using Lexar 4gb 300X Professional cards.
As with yourself dropping down to LF JPEGS I can fil the card before the buffer fills.
Any help?
Thanks and interesting.May be the card speed.But could it be as rumoured that the E5 image pipeline does do a little bit to RAWs ie the anti moire effect.

Who knows.
__________________
All the best

Being left handed my brain sometimes works sdrawkcab

Andy

Lots of cameras and lenses.


My Flickr
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Size of prints The Technician The lounge 7 1st December 2010 05:24 PM
resolution size monoboard Olympus E-3 1 20th September 2010 02:55 PM
JPEG/File Size/Image Size/Image Quality jdal Software 7 23rd August 2009 01:51 PM
The size of the E-P1 benvendetta Micro Four Thirds 5 4th July 2009 10:33 PM
size matters muckup61 Software 2 5th August 2008 05:50 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:55 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger