Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!

Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Software

Software Discuss Olympus Master, Studio and Viewer software applications as well as third party programs like Adobe Photoshop, Lightroom, Apple Aperture, and others.

Old 26th November 2009

Liked 57 Times in 26 Posts
Editing software

I've heard many of you talk about CS and Lightroom etc... can someone explain what Photoshop CS does, and where does Lightroom fit in to this workflow please. Is it worth moving from Elements to something like this, and whats the difference between Elements and the "full-blown" versions.

Also, as I am currently a student with the OU, it means I am entitled to buy the adobe software at student rate, does anyone know if the software is a fully-functioning piece of software that leaves no watermarks or banners across the photos (not a daft question, as this happens with the academic versions of the CAD software I use)

Thanks in advance

Its a shame that humans dont come with autofocus, like cameras do!
Old 26th November 2009
Administrator

Liked 494 Times in 275 Posts
Re: Editing software

Adobie's marketing used to say

Ligrtroom for the Many, Photoshop for the one. On other words Lightroom was for browsing, cataloguing (some simple functions) and preparing and batch processing multiple images, especially from Raw

Photoshop ( be that CS or elements) was for detailed processing of an image to get the effect you want using things like layers, seperations, Selective adjustment to parts of an images and many other detailed adjustments