Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Micro Four Thirds > Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II

Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II The second Micro Four Thirds camera that offers phase detect focusing so you can use Four Thirds DSLR lenses normally as well a Micro Four Thirds lenses.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #151  
Old 30th May 2018
raichea raichea is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 581
Thanks: 78
Thanked 98 Times in 80 Posts
Likes: 90
Liked 96 Times in 62 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricoh View Post
With regard to the Lock-Up malarkey, if the manufacturer incorporated a data logger within the system (stored in E^2 memory for example) it would be a simple job for them to diagnose issues such as this. Other manufacturers do this, eg Leica, which I know to be fact, revealed to me in written communication when my M240 went back for investigation.
I'd be amazed if Olympus weren't logging some information that they thought might be useful in case of errors.

In addition, while logging can and does help to resolve bugs, there are classes of errors that logging may not offer any help at all - in particular, race hazards. In fact, the use of logging can hide race hazards due to changing the timing of the events causing the problem.
__________________
Steve
  #152  
Old 30th May 2018
Ricoh Ricoh is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 4,904
Thanks: 516
Thanked 365 Times in 326 Posts
Likes: 625
Liked 1,473 Times in 892 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnheatingman View Post
How do we know they don't incorporate a data logger ? I doubt if Olympus would make the fact public knowledge.

John
Maybe they do, but if they have incorporated a logger why does it take so long to resolve the issues.
Not just Olympus, many camera manufactures seem to 'employ' the general public as part of their development team. Imagine a TV disappearing up its own armpit, they'd go out of business pdq if not resolved.
__________________
Steve

on flickr
  #153  
Old 30th May 2018
Ricoh Ricoh is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 4,904
Thanks: 516
Thanked 365 Times in 326 Posts
Likes: 625
Liked 1,473 Times in 892 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

Quote:
Originally Posted by raichea View Post
I'd be amazed if Olympus weren't logging some information that they thought might be useful in case of errors.

In addition, while logging can and does help to resolve bugs, there are classes of errors that logging may not offer any help at all - in particular, race hazards. In fact, the use of logging can hide race hazards due to changing the timing of the events causing the problem.
Race hazards I know well. It's sorted in the design phase. In the past by pen and paper, then spreadsheets and now s/w emulation. As an example an FPGA can be emulated with all the timing tolerances coupled with temperature effects etc.
__________________
Steve

on flickr
  #154  
Old 30th May 2018
TimP TimP is online now
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Deepest Darkest Dorset
Posts: 599
Thanks: 17
Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts
Likes: 56
Liked 203 Times in 146 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

Presumably any data logged is uploaded at some point? At time of firmware update? When connecting camera to Viewer etc? Surely they don’t rely on getting hold of it should they ever receive a camera in the workshops for repair / investigation?
  #155  
Old 30th May 2018
Ricoh Ricoh is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 4,904
Thanks: 516
Thanked 365 Times in 326 Posts
Likes: 625
Liked 1,473 Times in 892 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

I guess error files are read at the repair facility if and when the camera is returned, e.g. when the user says 'enough is enough'.
__________________
Steve

on flickr
  #156  
Old 30th May 2018
Ricoh Ricoh is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 4,904
Thanks: 516
Thanked 365 Times in 326 Posts
Likes: 625
Liked 1,473 Times in 892 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

I've noticed Microsoft running telemetry on my computer, error log or something like that. It's all possible.
__________________
Steve

on flickr
  #157  
Old 30th May 2018
raichea raichea is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 581
Thanks: 78
Thanked 98 Times in 80 Posts
Likes: 90
Liked 96 Times in 62 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricoh View Post
Race hazards I know well. It's sorted in the design phase. In the past by pen and paper, then spreadsheets and now s/w emulation. As an example an FPGA can be emulated with all the timing tolerances coupled with temperature effects etc.
Ideally, yes. But, while modern design tools can do a lot to help ensure timing tolerances are accounted for in logic circuitry, it's much more difficult to account for many asynchronous inputs such as from the multiple buttons switches and dials on the camera. Factoring in real-time interrupt-driven software running on multi-core processors makes it even harder.
__________________
Steve
  #158  
Old 30th May 2018
wornish's Avatar
wornish wornish is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 3,604
Thanks: 230
Thanked 329 Times in 253 Posts
Likes: 1,570
Liked 976 Times in 477 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

Blimey this thread has taken on a life of it's own
__________________
Dave

My Flickr
The Following User Liked This Post:
Ross the fiddler (30th May 2018)
  #159  
Old 30th May 2018
MJ224's Avatar
MJ224 MJ224 is online now
Full member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Carmarthenshire
Posts: 8,328
Thanks: 517
Thanked 410 Times in 388 Posts
Likes: 3,811
Liked 1,884 Times in 968 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

My own experience of the EM1 I and 2 has never had a lock up...

So there....

Was a bit of a troll I reckon....
__________________
My Sailing Page

My Flickr
The Following Users Liked This Post:
Johnheatingman (30th May 2018), wornish (30th May 2018)
  #160  
Old 30th May 2018
Ricoh Ricoh is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 4,904
Thanks: 516
Thanked 365 Times in 326 Posts
Likes: 625
Liked 1,473 Times in 892 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

On the plus side it keeps us amused.
__________________
Steve

on flickr
The Following User Liked This Post:
Ross the fiddler (30th May 2018)
  #161  
Old 30th May 2018
jima's Avatar
jima jima is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 219
Thanks: 3
Thanked 55 Times in 24 Posts
Likes: 1
Liked 13 Times in 10 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnheatingman View Post
Unless you have all the Win10 invasive options set to "Off", Microsoft collect information on everything that happens on the PC via Windows Error Reporting and then save it it their Win Log Files. They probably even know what you had for breakfast If you're a Kapersky user, maybe Putin knows too

I have CCleaner configured to delete all the log files every time the PC or laptop shuts down. This does mean the files would no longer be any assistance in the event of a problem but at least it deters Microsoft's invasive Big Brother Syndrome

Microsoft is the most invasive data collection system on the planet, followed closely by Google !

John
Yep, that's why despite being a Windows user since version 3 I abandoned it in favour of Mac and OSX/MacOS 18 months ago and have never looked back or had such a peaceful user experience. None of my remaining Windows systems (professional use) are allowed to progress beyond Windows 7 except the servers which are a whole other ball game. I also have as little to do with Google as humanly possible, including Android etc. I - don't - trust - any - of - them.

Anyhoo, not to drift off-topic, the purpose of this post is to address those who thing that debugging and troubleshooting is as simple as recording a log for later examination. Let me tell you, useful as they may seem to be, for lock-ups they are next to useless. A locked, deadlocked or wait-listed processor is usually unable to record log events. In many years of working with IT systems no logs have ever been really useful, lock-ups more quickly resolved by component swap which is not so easy on an integrated digital device. Changing batteries, memory cards or lenses seems to me to be more likely to lead to a resolution.

I would also report a couple of years use of an EM-1 Mk I without a single lock-up and look forward to a similar experience with my recently acquired Mk II.
__________________
James

Loves photography but so little time
The Following User Says Thank You to jima For This Useful Post:
  #162  
Old 30th May 2018
MJ224's Avatar
MJ224 MJ224 is online now
Full member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Carmarthenshire
Posts: 8,328
Thanks: 517
Thanked 410 Times in 388 Posts
Likes: 3,811
Liked 1,884 Times in 968 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

Quote:
Originally Posted by jima View Post
Yep, that's why despite being a Windows user since version 3 I abandoned it in favour of Mac and OSX/MacOS 18 months ago and have never looked back or had such a peaceful user experience. None of my remaining Windows systems (professional use) are allowed to progress beyond Windows 7 except the servers which are a whole other ball game. I also have as little to do with Google as humanly possible, including Android etc. I - don't - trust - any - of - them.

Anyhoo, not to drift off-topic, the purpose of this post is to address those who thing that debugging and troubleshooting is as simple as recording a log for later examination. Let me tell you, useful as they may seem to be, for lock-ups they are next to useless. A locked, deadlocked or wait-listed processor is usually unable to record log events. In many years of working with IT systems no logs have ever been really useful, lock-ups more quickly resolved by component swap which is not so easy on an integrated digital device. Changing batteries, memory cards or lenses seems to me to be more likely to lead to a resolution.

I would also report a couple of years use of an EM-1 Mk I without a single lock-up and look forward to a similar experience with my recently acquired Mk II.
Has James lost it? I do not understand what he is trying to get at, the whole thread is a troll......

WGAF.................
__________________
My Sailing Page

My Flickr
  #163  
Old 31st May 2018
TimP TimP is online now
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Deepest Darkest Dorset
Posts: 599
Thanks: 17
Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts
Likes: 56
Liked 203 Times in 146 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

Quote:
Originally Posted by jima View Post
......In many years of working with IT systems no logs have ever been really useful......
Presumably not working in a professional capacity then. Windows event logs (server and desktop O/S) can be a surprisingly useful, and often overlooked, source of information.

(Should I stop feeding the trolls now?)
  #164  
Old 31st May 2018
jima's Avatar
jima jima is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 219
Thanks: 3
Thanked 55 Times in 24 Posts
Likes: 1
Liked 13 Times in 10 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimP View Post
Presumably not working in a professional capacity then. Windows event logs (server and desktop O/S) can be a surprisingly useful, and often overlooked, source of information.

(Should I stop feeding the trolls now?)
In the context of lock-ups, Tim, please try to keep up Stopping feeding the trolls now. Perhaps a mod might be kind enough to lock this one out?
__________________
James

Loves photography but so little time
  #165  
Old 31st May 2018
shenstone's Avatar
shenstone shenstone is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 2,939
Thanks: 100
Thanked 241 Times in 182 Posts
Likes: 214
Liked 378 Times in 205 Posts
Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up

If it doesn't calm down a bit we will have to. The thread should return to objective evidence and discussions on such if people want it to stay open

When posting please remember we aim to be a family friendly forum

Regards

Andy
__________________
My Kit (OK I'm a hoarder...)
4/3 E500, E510, E30 + 35macro, 50macro, 7-14, 11-22, 14-45 (x2), 14-54, 40-150 (both types), 50-200, 70-300, 50-500,
m 4/3 EM1MkII + 60 macro, 12-100 Pro
FL20, FL36 x2 , FL50, cactus slaves etc.
The Boss (Mrs Shenstone) E620, EM10-II, 14-41Ez, 40-150R, 9 cap and whatever she can nick from me when she wants it

My places
http://www.shenstone.me.uk
http://landroverkaty.blogspot.com/
https://vimeo.com/shenstone
http://cardiffnaturalists.org.uk/
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to shenstone For This Useful Post:
Graham from Wirral (3rd June 2018), jima (31st May 2018), Ross the fiddler (1st June 2018), Zuiko (31st May 2018)
The Following Users Liked This Post:
drmarkf (31st May 2018), George Dorn (31st May 2018), jima (31st May 2018), MJ224 (31st May 2018)
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First Lock-up. paullus Olympus OM-D E-M1 10 21st December 2014 03:25 PM
HELP! TTL Lock??? niranhopper Flash 6 29th August 2014 02:13 PM
HLD-6 Lock doesn't lock all! Ross the fiddler Olympus OM-D E-M5 18 16th April 2013 01:23 AM
Lock SAF+MF Alan Clogwyn Olympus E-520 6 21st October 2010 09:20 AM
Lock up sapper Olympus E-3 17 7th November 2008 01:33 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:42 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2018, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger