Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Olympus E-3

Olympus E-3 E-3 specific discussion.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 6th November 2008
sapper sapper is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Leigh on Sea, Essex
Posts: 4,370
Thanks: 85
Thanked 437 Times in 241 Posts
Likes: 238
Liked 745 Times in 278 Posts
Lock up

I bin in Glencoe Scotland for a few days doing a masterclass with a guy called Ian Cameron. Very good weather and light but my E 3 'locked up' on me a couple of times.
I was shooting bracket exposures, no IS, shutter delay, and more than once the camera just seized up. No response at all. Even turning camera on and off didn't work straight away. Fully charged battery. No mention in the manual of this that I can see.
Anyone got an idea as to what happened? It will probably have to go back to Oly for a service.
__________________
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 6th November 2008
Dick Bowman Dick Bowman is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: N/a
Posts: 124
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Lock up

I've had that happen with both an E-1 and an E-3.

Was having problems getting a properly working E-3 in December-January, the dealer arranged a swap and I don't think I've had it happen to me with the E-3 since.

From other comments over the years it seems to be "one of those thigs" with Olympus DSLRs - don't think anyone ever pinned down precisely what sets it off.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 6th November 2008
PeterD PeterD is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 2,248
Thanks: 44
Thanked 88 Times in 73 Posts
Likes: 14
Liked 36 Times in 11 Posts
Re: Lock up

Quote:
Originally Posted by sapper View Post
I bin in Glencoe Scotland for a few days doing a masterclass with a guy called Ian Cameron. Very good weather and light but my E 3 'locked up' on me a couple of times.
I was shooting bracket exposures, no IS, shutter delay, and more than once the camera just seized up. No response at all. Even turning camera on and off didn't work straight away. Fully charged battery. No mention in the manual of this that I can see.
Anyone got an idea as to what happened? It will probably have to go back to Oly for a service.
Dave

Before responding fully - Do you mean you had mirror lock up?

Peter
__________________
Best Regards

PeterD

www.imageinuk.com/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 6th November 2008
250swb 250swb is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Peak District
Posts: 132
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Lock up

I have had a lockups early on, but it was my fault for not noticing what was going on. The camera was set such that some of the bracket exposure times went into the 'seconds', and thereby the Noise Reduction function kicks in and the time taken for the exposures becomes twice as long while a dark frame is processed. So a five second exposure became a ten second exposure, and ten seconds can seem like a lifetime when you are not expecting it. During this time I was trying to press buttons, switch on and off etc, but the camera failed to respond, and I assume it got very confused. I wonder if not being able to switch it off was because the camera needs to record the last used settings, which were probably queueing up by then.

Other people have reported that a build up of heat can cause lockups especially when using Live View, but this has never happened to me, I think...

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 6th November 2008
sapper sapper is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Leigh on Sea, Essex
Posts: 4,370
Thanks: 85
Thanked 437 Times in 241 Posts
Likes: 238
Liked 745 Times in 278 Posts
Re: Lock up

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterD View Post
Dave

Before responding fully - Do you mean you had mirror lock up?

Peter
Menu calls it "Anti shock".
__________________
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 6th November 2008
PeterD PeterD is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 2,248
Thanks: 44
Thanked 88 Times in 73 Posts
Likes: 14
Liked 36 Times in 11 Posts
Re: Lock up

Quote:
Originally Posted by sapper View Post
Menu calls it "Anti shock".
Dave,

The anti shock function is not what I meant. I have never used it. I really do mean that the mirror moves up and refuses to drop again. Hence my query of mirror lock-up.

Peter
__________________
Best Regards

PeterD

www.imageinuk.com/
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 6th November 2008
sapper sapper is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Leigh on Sea, Essex
Posts: 4,370
Thanks: 85
Thanked 437 Times in 241 Posts
Likes: 238
Liked 745 Times in 278 Posts
Re: Lock up

No Peter, it wasn't the mirror locking up. Just when trying to change shutter speed or aperture, nothing happened. Screen was OK, but no 'movement' when trying to change things.
__________________
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 6th November 2008
PeterD PeterD is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 2,248
Thanks: 44
Thanked 88 Times in 73 Posts
Likes: 14
Liked 36 Times in 11 Posts
Re: Lock up

Thanks Dave,

I have not seen those symptoms at all.

Peter
__________________
Best Regards

PeterD

www.imageinuk.com/
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 6th November 2008
PeterD PeterD is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 2,248
Thanks: 44
Thanked 88 Times in 73 Posts
Likes: 14
Liked 36 Times in 11 Posts
Re: Lock up

Dave,

I have had a number of issues over time and always contacted Olympus Technical support. They have always been invaluable in giving advice. You may have done this already but I mention it just in case. They have always given good advice and they are in contact with users throughout the EU.

Peter
__________________
Best Regards

PeterD

www.imageinuk.com/
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 6th November 2008
Chillimonster Chillimonster is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: SK15
Posts: 764
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Lock up

Did you have a 'grip' on the camera?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 6th November 2008
Zuiko's Avatar
Zuiko Zuiko is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dunmow, Essex
Posts: 20,678
Thanks: 1,910
Thanked 2,944 Times in 2,284 Posts
Likes: 2,855
Liked 3,804 Times in 1,784 Posts
Re: Lock up

Hi Dave,

You say you were bracketing, were you using RAW? Maybe if you took a lot of shots in quick succession it was a buffering problem? Was the red light on the back of the camera flashing? Approximately how long was it before your camera became functional again?

Cheers,

John.
__________________
John

"A hundredth of a second here, a hundredth of a second there even if you put them end to end, they still only add up to one, two, perhaps three seconds, snatched from eternity." ~ Robert Doisneau
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 6th November 2008
sapper sapper is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Leigh on Sea, Essex
Posts: 4,370
Thanks: 85
Thanked 437 Times in 241 Posts
Likes: 238
Liked 745 Times in 278 Posts
Re: Lock up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chillimonster View Post
Did you have a 'grip' on the camera?
No. Camera mounted on a tripod via 510 head.
__________________
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 6th November 2008
sapper sapper is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Leigh on Sea, Essex
Posts: 4,370
Thanks: 85
Thanked 437 Times in 241 Posts
Likes: 238
Liked 745 Times in 278 Posts
Re: Lock up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zuiko View Post
Hi Dave,

You say you were bracketing, were you using RAW? Maybe if you took a lot of shots in quick succession it was a buffering problem? Was the red light on the back of the camera flashing? Approximately how long was it before your camera became functional again?

Cheers,

John.
It could have been this John. I was shooting RAW, don't remember seeing the buffering light though. I will try it out in the garden tomorrow, cheers.
__________________
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 6th November 2008
Zuiko's Avatar
Zuiko Zuiko is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dunmow, Essex
Posts: 20,678
Thanks: 1,910
Thanked 2,944 Times in 2,284 Posts
Likes: 2,855
Liked 3,804 Times in 1,784 Posts
Re: Lock up

Any pics from the course BTW?
__________________
John

"A hundredth of a second here, a hundredth of a second there even if you put them end to end, they still only add up to one, two, perhaps three seconds, snatched from eternity." ~ Robert Doisneau
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 6th November 2008
Zuiko's Avatar
Zuiko Zuiko is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dunmow, Essex
Posts: 20,678
Thanks: 1,910
Thanked 2,944 Times in 2,284 Posts
Likes: 2,855
Liked 3,804 Times in 1,784 Posts
Re: Lock up

Quote:
Originally Posted by sapper View Post
It could have been this John. I was shooting RAW, don't remember seeing the buffering light though. I will try it out in the garden tomorrow, cheers.
Just another thought, Dave. What memory card were you using? A "slow" card may extend the buffering times.

Cheers,
__________________
John

"A hundredth of a second here, a hundredth of a second there even if you put them end to end, they still only add up to one, two, perhaps three seconds, snatched from eternity." ~ Robert Doisneau
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:10 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2018, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger