Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Software

Software Discuss Olympus Master, Studio and Viewer software applications as well as third party programs like Adobe Photoshop, Lightroom, Apple Aperture, and others.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 20th December 2008
crimbo crimbo is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Shetland
Posts: 1,730
Thanks: 99
Thanked 148 Times in 129 Posts
Likes: 22
Liked 116 Times in 61 Posts
Which RAW developer

i look on RAW converters as similar to developers in the old wet darkroom days - they all do much the same thing but are all different.

So which is your preferred RAW converter?
Is there a converter that works best/worst with Olympus RAW files?
__________________
chris
shetland
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20th December 2008
rich s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Which RAW developer

Quote:
Originally Posted by crimbo View Post
i look on RAW converters as similar to developers in the old wet darkroom days - they all do much the same thing but are all different.

So which is your preferred RAW converter?
Is there a converter that works best/worst with Olympus RAW files?
As a straightforward RAW converter, after downloading and using trials of most (Bibble, Silkypix etc) - I went for Capture One 4. Interface is very straightforward and easy to use, & conversion is very quick. It also seems to me to give the closest colour to Oly files without using Studio.

For general file management and most other editing I use ACDSee Pro.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20th December 2008
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,148
Thanks: 399
Thanked 2,340 Times in 1,184 Posts
Likes: 782
Liked 1,458 Times in 674 Posts
Re: Which RAW developer

I really recommend Adobe Photoshop Lightroom and the latest version 2.2 has some cool additions, like camera profiles.

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20th December 2008
tlove
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Which RAW developer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian View Post
I really recommend Adobe Photoshop Lightroom and the latest version 2.2 has some cool additions, like camera profiles.

Ian
That's very interesting Ian - I've got version 1 of Lightroom (latest version 1 that is), and thought it was brilliant, but the downside for me is that it stripped out Exif info when I saved my images (e.g for sending them in to this site) . It's probably because I'm doing something wrong, and although I've looked thoroughly I can't find a way of retaining it. As a consequence, I don't use it too often now. I like the look of version 2 but a) I can't afford it (not allowed - not even an upgrade), and b) if I could afford it I'm wary of the Exif info thing.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20th December 2008
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,148
Thanks: 399
Thanked 2,340 Times in 1,184 Posts
Likes: 782
Liked 1,458 Times in 674 Posts
Re: Which RAW developer

Quote:
Originally Posted by tlove View Post
That's very interesting Ian - I've got version 1 of Lightroom (latest version 1 that is), and thought it was brilliant, but the downside for me is that it stripped out Exif info when I saved my images (e.g for sending them in to this site) . It's probably because I'm doing something wrong, and although I've looked thoroughly I can't find a way of retaining it. As a consequence, I don't use it too often now. I like the look of version 2 but a) I can't afford it (not allowed - not even an upgrade), and b) if I could afford it I'm wary of the Exif info thing.
Which version are you running (1.4?) - I don't have problems with retaining exif when I export... I have 1.4 and 2.2 on different machines.

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20th December 2008
terryw's Avatar
terryw terryw is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: East Yorkshire
Posts: 71
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Likes: 3
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Which RAW developer

In your trials you don't mention the Adobe DNG converter. I understood that Adobe developed it with the intention of it becoming a universal converter and with the latest 5.2 version it covers a fair range of diifferent makes and models.

Does Light Room not use the .dng converter, or am I missing something here?

Terry
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20th December 2008
crimbo crimbo is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Shetland
Posts: 1,730
Thanks: 99
Thanked 148 Times in 129 Posts
Likes: 22
Liked 116 Times in 61 Posts
Re: Which RAW developer

Okay so one for C1 4 and one for LR


any others for developing the RAW file prior to PP?
__________________
chris
shetland
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20th December 2008
tlove
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Which RAW developer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian View Post
Which version are you running (1.4?) - I don't have problems with retaining exif when I export... I have 1.4 and 2.2 on different machines.

Ian
I'm running 1.4 (1.4.1 to be exact, with Camera Raw 4.4.1). As I suspected, it's obviously something I'm doing then when exporting my images as jpegs. When I've got time, I might finally get it sorted

Oh - forgot to say earlier that, given the fact that I can't use Lightroom (), I usually access my raw images through Adobe Bridge, do any tweaking with the Adobe raw (dng) converter, then open into Photoshop CS3.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20th December 2008
Pete Riley's Avatar
Pete Riley Pete Riley is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ware, Hertfordshire
Posts: 77
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Likes: 0
Liked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Re: Which RAW developer

I find that Rawtherapee does a good a job as any and it's free. It also has an algorithm designed for Olympus as a choice in the set up.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 20th December 2008
Jim Ford Jim Ford is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Watford, Herts..
Posts: 7,242
Thanks: 360
Thanked 514 Times in 442 Posts
Likes: 2,150
Liked 1,341 Times in 859 Posts
Re: Which RAW developer

Do any of the raw developers other than ACR have the facility to adjust highlights by holding down the alt button and clicking on the exposure button? With ACR this highlights the highlights to enable you to adjust the exposure to recover highlight detail. You can also do the same to recover shadow detail.

I find this a very useful facility that I wouldn't like to lose with another raw developer.

BTW - it's 'raw', not 'RAW'. Raw is not an acronym like JPEG or TIFF, so shouldn't be capitalised. Raw doesn't stand for anything and is just what it says - unprocessed.

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 20th December 2008
crimbo crimbo is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Shetland
Posts: 1,730
Thanks: 99
Thanked 148 Times in 129 Posts
Likes: 22
Liked 116 Times in 61 Posts
Re: Which RAW developer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete Riley View Post
I find that Rawtherapee does a good a job as any and it's free. It also has an algorithm designed for Olympus as a choice in the set up.
Mmm looks interesting...couldnt find the Oly algorhythm
__________________
chris
shetland
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 20th December 2008
Gwyver's Avatar
Gwyver Gwyver is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: nr Stockport
Posts: 1,416
Thanks: 90
Thanked 319 Times in 205 Posts
Likes: 319
Liked 409 Times in 187 Posts
Re: Which RAW developer

Quote:
Originally Posted by tlove View Post
That's very interesting Ian - I've got version 1 of Lightroom (latest version 1 that is), and thought it was brilliant, but the downside for me is that it stripped out Exif info when I saved my images (e.g for sending them in to this site) . It's probably because I'm doing something wrong, and although I've looked thoroughly I can't find a way of retaining it. As a consequence, I don't use it too often now. I like the look of version 2 but a) I can't afford it (not allowed - not even an upgrade), and b) if I could afford it I'm wary of the Exif info thing.
Thea,
The Export Functions in Lightroom version 2 (Library Module) allow you to specify whether or not you want to strip out the (EXIF) metadata - and I can confirm that if you choose not to "Minimise embedded Metadata" it leaves it intact in the JPGs or whatever format you save to.

There are also several user-created Export plug-ins readily available which allow you even more precise control of which sub-sets of metadata to retain. Go to the Lightroom forum at
http://www.lightroomforums.net/index.php
and have a look for further links. (I think some of the well-known plug-ins are also compatible with LR 1.4.1 - though I only started with LR @ version 2.1 so I can't confirm this.)

HTH
__________________
Chris
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 20th December 2008
snaarman's Avatar
snaarman snaarman is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Baaarkshire UK
Posts: 6,761
Thanks: 486
Thanked 416 Times in 324 Posts
Likes: 482
Liked 1,244 Times in 483 Posts
Re: Which RAW developer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Ford View Post
With ACR this highlights the highlights to enable you to adjust the exposure to recover highlight detail. You can also do the same to recover shadow detail.
Jim
Oooh, I didn't realise it that !! Just tried it...

Pete
__________________
Look, I'm an old man. I shouldn't be expected to put up with this.


Pete's photoblog Misleading the public since 2010.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 20th December 2008
PaulE PaulE is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mid Wales
Posts: 330
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Which RAW developer

Quote:
Originally Posted by snaarman View Post
Oooh, I didn't realise it that !! Just tried it...

Pete

Nope me neither Thanks for the tip Jim I think that will come in very handy in future
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 20th December 2008
tlove
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Which RAW developer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gwyver View Post
Thea,
The Export Functions in Lightroom version 2 (Library Module) allow you to specify whether or not you want to strip out the (EXIF) metadata - and I can confirm that if you choose not to "Minimise embedded Metadata" it leaves it intact in the JPGs or whatever format you save to.

There are also several user-created Export plug-ins readily available which allow you even more precise control of which sub-sets of metadata to retain. Go to the Lightroom forum at
http://www.lightroomforums.net/index.php
and have a look for further links. (I think some of the well-known plug-ins are also compatible with LR 1.4.1 - though I only started with LR @ version 2.1 so I can't confirm this.)

HTH
Thank you very much Chris - I'll have a look later on today !

Knew it was probably something I was doing that I shouldn't, or vice versa ! Looks like we're all learning something today!

Thanks again
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:01 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2018, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger