Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Micro Four Thirds > Olympus Pen E-PL2

Olympus Pen E-PL2 The first Olympus Pen to be Pen Pal accessory compatible.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 25th November 2012
IainMacD's Avatar
IainMacD IainMacD is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Drumnadrochit
Posts: 3,933
Thanks: 1,226
Thanked 547 Times in 490 Posts
Likes: 1,849
Liked 846 Times in 238 Posts
Remote Control - just in case I have missed something?

I have an IR remote control that I use(d) on my E-system cameras and wondered if it would work on my E-PL2? I have looked through the menus and the manual and can't find anything to suggest it will - can anyone confirm or otherwise?
Thank you
__________________
Iain

E-M5 II, E-M1, E-M1 II, 7.5, 8-18, 12-40, 25, 40-150, 45, 60, 300

Website
Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25th November 2012
mike_j
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Remote Control - just in case I have missed something?

Why not just try it? It's a volt free contact so won't do any harm.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th November 2012
IainMacD's Avatar
IainMacD IainMacD is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Drumnadrochit
Posts: 3,933
Thanks: 1,226
Thanked 547 Times in 490 Posts
Likes: 1,849
Liked 846 Times in 238 Posts
Re: Remote Control - just in case I have missed something?

Sorry, I should have explained that I have tried pointing it at the camera from all angles to no avail and wondered if something needed to changed in the settings to make it work. It is an RM-1 equivalent remote
__________________
Iain

E-M5 II, E-M1, E-M1 II, 7.5, 8-18, 12-40, 25, 40-150, 45, 60, 300

Website
Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25th November 2012
mike_j
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Remote Control - just in case I have missed something?

I misunderstood - my mistake. I thought you were talking about the two part gadgets with a receiver that plugged into the camera and a remote transmitter.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25th November 2012
Who's_E's Avatar
Who's_E Who's_E is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: London
Posts: 612
Thanks: 1
Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 1 Post
Re: Remote Control - just in case I have missed something?

Do you not need to set the camera to be ready to receive the IR signal - I think that's how I did it on my E3. I recall it was via the drive mode menu but I don't know if the EPL2 has it.

Nick
__________________
Bodies: E3, E-P1
Lenses: 8mm, 14-42mm, 12-60mm, 50-200mm
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25th November 2012
cariadus's Avatar
cariadus cariadus is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Barry, Vale of Glamorgan
Posts: 1,406
Thanks: 10
Thanked 140 Times in 129 Posts
Likes: 10
Liked 156 Times in 78 Posts
Re: Remote Control - just in case I have missed something?

I'm pretty sure it doesn't have IR. I had an IR remote for my E-1 which doesn't work with my E-M5. Instead you need to use a remote and transmitter which plugs into the USB socket. I would imagine that the E-PL2 is the same. It's a shame because IR remote is so much easier.
__________________
Roger

E-M5, 20mm/1.7, 45mm/1.8
OM-1N, OM-10, OM-4ti, 24mm/2.8, 50mm/1.8, 85mm/2, Tamron 70-210mm/3.5
cariadus.com | flickr | tumblr
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to cariadus For This Useful Post:
IainMacD (25th November 2012)
  #7  
Old 25th November 2012
IainMacD's Avatar
IainMacD IainMacD is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Drumnadrochit
Posts: 3,933
Thanks: 1,226
Thanked 547 Times in 490 Posts
Likes: 1,849
Liked 846 Times in 238 Posts
Re: Remote Control - just in case I have missed something?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cariadus View Post
I'm pretty sure it doesn't have IR. I had an IR remote for my E-1 which doesn't work with my E-M5. Instead you need to use a remote and transmitter which plugs into the USB socket. I would imagine that the E-PL2 is the same. It's a shame because IR remote is so much easier.
It is so much smaller too, which is useful when keeping kit to a minimum size. I have a corded remote and one of the receivers that plugs into the USB so I am covered; I just fancied the smaller lighter option.
Thanks for your help.
__________________
Iain

E-M5 II, E-M1, E-M1 II, 7.5, 8-18, 12-40, 25, 40-150, 45, 60, 300

Website
Flickr
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RM-CB1 Remote Control jamie allan Olympus E-3 5 30th April 2011 10:51 AM
HELP! Remote Control malcapone Olympus E-620/600 10 6th June 2010 08:42 AM
Testing IR Remote Control Sidmariner Olympus E-3 1 26th February 2009 07:05 PM
Remote Control Poacher General accessories 4 11th December 2008 08:15 AM
Remote control tony47 General accessories 4 6th January 2008 03:38 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:15 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger