Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!

Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Olympus E-500

Olympus E-500 E-500 specific discussion.

Old 19th December 2009
joanns

Question I am trying to do a Stepped Greyscale test

Hi, My name is Jo and I have just joined this site
I am in the process of doing an on-line photography course (I am a complete novice) and I have to do a Stepped Greyscale Test with a grey card to determine the dynamic range of my camera.

I appologise now for the log winded thread but this is what I have got to do - Outside open shade and at least half hour of constant lighting, I've set ISO 100 and f/8 on manual exposure, auto white balance and tried to manually focus on the card, Selected RAW format all as instructed- ok so far. (This where I am stuck) Now Ive got to take a meter reading off the greycard and in manual mode set shutter speed to get correct exposure without exposure compensation leaving aperture at f/8, write down this setting. Once I have got that sussed I have to do 6 exposures increasing shutter speeds by one stop intervals then returning to original setting and then decreasing shutter speeds etc.
I have the info screen up and have the EV value at the midway point (optimum exposure as described in the manual ?) The numbers I am writing down I presume is shutter speed (1/13 in this case) and the aperture value which as stated f/8 is that right ???? If that is all right then why can't I take the shot - I 'm pressing the button but nothing is happening the AF confirmation mark keeps blinking.
Please can someone help, I don't understand what I am doing wrong ?