Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Micro Four Thirds > Olympus OM-D E-M1

Olympus OM-D E-M1 The first Micro Four Thirds camera that offers phase detect focusing so you can use Four Thirds DSLR lenses normally as well a Micro Four Thirds lenses.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10th November 2017
jmgrain jmgrain is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Derbyshire, England
Posts: 5
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Problems with shutter control

Hi, new to this forum but not Olympus, I have revisited very close macro and wanted to use my laptop to aid focusing, so I installed Olympus Capture today.

Prior to using Capture my camera worked fine, after using capture the shutter release button will not actuate the shutter although on half press it will indicate AF lock, also neither of my remote triggers work since using capture.

But..... the shutter works fine when actuated with the touch screen and it works when actuated from within Capture.

I feel this is too much of a coincidence for it to be a failure of the shutter button and both my remote triggers.

I hope someone on here can help...please.

I have checked all menu settings and can't find anything set wrong, I have also done a full reset to no avail.

John
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10th November 2017
wornish's Avatar
wornish wornish is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 5,538
Thanks: 314
Thanked 494 Times in 381 Posts
Likes: 2,558
Liked 1,464 Times in 719 Posts
Re: Problems with shutter control

Have you got anything connected to the hot shoe? .. If so remove it.

Also try removing the battery for a few minutes ?

If it the shutter activates from the touch screen AND from Capture then the only thing left is the button itself. Seems very strange.

There is a setting that prevents the shutter activating if the image is not in focus - not sure if that only affects the button shutter release though.
__________________
Dave

My Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th November 2017
jmgrain jmgrain is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Derbyshire, England
Posts: 5
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Problems with shutter control

Thanks for your reply but I have tried all of that
John
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th November 2017
jmgrain jmgrain is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Derbyshire, England
Posts: 5
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Problems with shutter control

Thanks for your reply John, I have done what you suggest and the problem still exists.

Thanks John.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11th November 2017
MJ224's Avatar
MJ224 MJ224 is online now
Full member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Carmarthenshire
Posts: 12,377
Thanks: 830
Thanked 641 Times in 598 Posts
Likes: 6,175
Liked 3,323 Times in 1,542 Posts
Re: Problems with shutter control

Beginning to sound like a faulty shutter mechanism. Capture mode may of strained it beyond......

The EM1 mk1 has a silent shutter mode if I remember correctly. Does that work??

Mj
__________________
My Sailing Page

My Flickr
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MJ224 For This Useful Post:
jmgrain (12th November 2017)
  #6  
Old 12th November 2017
Ross the fiddler's Avatar
Ross the fiddler Ross the fiddler is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Blue Mtns, NSW Australia
Posts: 13,781
Thanks: 2,024
Thanked 1,301 Times in 1,016 Posts
Likes: 5,284
Liked 1,943 Times in 1,079 Posts
Re: Problems with shutter control

Quote:
Originally Posted by MJ224 View Post
Beginning to sound like a faulty shutter mechanism. Capture mode may of strained it beyond......

The EM1 mk1 has a silent shutter mode if I remember correctly. Does that work??

Mj
That would at least confirm whether the 2nd switch part of the shutter button works or not.

Also, will the shutter button work in MF & in Manual mode? That should bypass any other setting that could be happening (but I can't think what it could be though).

Also, remove the SD card. If it has a fault then it's possible it can cause all sorts of strange issues with the camera too.
__________________
Ross
I fiddle with violins (when I'm not fiddling with a camera).
Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/ross-the-fiddler/
Cameras: OM-D E-M1 & Mk II, Olympus Stylus 1, OM-D E-M5.
Lenses: M.ZD12-40mm f2.8 PRO Lens, M.ZD40-150mm f2.8 PRO Lens with MC-14, M.ZD12-50, M.ZD60 Macro, M.ZD75-300 Mk II, MMF-3, ZD14-54 II, Sigma 150mm F2.8 APO Macro DG HSM.
Flashes: FL36R X2, FL50R, FL50.
Software: Capture One Pro 10 (& Olympus Viewer 3).
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ross the fiddler For This Useful Post:
jmgrain (12th November 2017)
  #7  
Old 12th November 2017
jmgrain jmgrain is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Derbyshire, England
Posts: 5
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Problems with shutter control

To johnheatingman.

Hi John, I think I have gone as far as I can, my thinking was that the firmware has been corrupted, but Olympus don't allow the firmware to be reinstalled, so after much delving I found this site, lightsnowdev.com and installed FW V 3.1 and then reinstalled FW V4.3 and the problem still exists.

I don't know if there is deeper software in the camera that could have been affected or is it some electronic component that's failed.

I had hoped there would be some Olympus technicians on this forum but it seems not.

Thanks for your reply, John
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12th November 2017
jmgrain jmgrain is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Derbyshire, England
Posts: 5
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Problems with shutter control

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ross the fiddler View Post
That would at least confirm whether the 2nd switch part of the shutter button works or not.

Also, will the shutter button work in MF & in Manual mode? That should bypass any other setting that could be happening (but I can't think what it could be though).

Also, remove the SD card. If it has a fault then it's possible it can cause all sorts of strange issues with the camera too.
Hi Ross, my remote shutter triggers don't work with the camera anymore, so it's more than the shutter button.

I have reinstalled FW V 4.3 so that rules out corrupted FW and any wrong settings the modes and other settings have no effect.

John
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jmgrain For This Useful Post:
Ross the fiddler (12th November 2017)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shutter speed using electronic shutter. Kiwi Paul Olympus OM-D E-M5 Mark II 8 27th November 2015 08:59 AM
PC control of EM-1 raichea Olympus OM-D E-M1 8 15th September 2014 02:26 PM
EM-1 Remote control wfi app robes Olympus OM-D E-M1 21 8th October 2013 10:18 AM
Problems with the shutter speed Is it me? Moneypenny2k Olympus E-500 7 30th April 2011 08:15 PM
HELP! Remote Control malcapone Olympus E-620/600 10 6th June 2010 08:42 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:05 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger