Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Out of Focus area > The lounge

The lounge Relax, take a break from photo and camera talk - have a chat about something else for a change. Just keep it clean and polite!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 1st August 2012
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,412
Thanks: 415
Thanked 2,444 Times in 1,232 Posts
Likes: 829
Liked 1,653 Times in 740 Posts
Virgin Media tip for existing customers

Julia casually pointed out to me the other day that she had seen some rather low priced Sky TV and broadband ads and wondered why we were apparently paying a lot more. I can't see us moving to Sky for all sorts of reasons (Murdoch, limited interactivity compared to Virgin cable, etc.) but I thought I'd do some research to see if, as a customer since long before Virgin took over (we had cable TV back in the mid-90s) we might be able to improve our package.

I noticed that the Virgin packages on offer (they're now called Collections) seemed cheaper than what we are currently paying and Virgin has now discontinued the V+ set top box that we use so there is now a basic V HD box (no hard drive so no pausing and rewinding live TV) or a Tivo box. The Tivo is a super super and smarter replacement for the old V+ box. It has much more hard disk space and a slick new user interface with the ability to automatically record programmes it estimates you might be interested in based on your viewing patterns and interests. You can also remote control it from the Web or using a smartphone app. And it has Youtube, Facebook and Twitter access. I have also heard it has Picasa online photo sharing too, but not 100% sure.

In the past we have been offered a Tivo upgrade but for 5/month extra. We thought we were paying enough already so resisted the temptation!. We have been paying about 70-odd a month including options and call charges and phone line rental for the mid-tier XL phone, TV and broadband package. Anyway, I thought I'd give Virgin a call to see what they could do.

After chatting with a very friendly Virgin rep we decided that some of the options we had were unnecessary, like Voicemail Plus (which lets you remotely access your voice messages), an international discount calling plan (we don't use this as much as we need to in order to make enough savings and T-Mobile has just introduced a free cheap European calls feature so we'll use that via our mobiles instead), and we had free weekday calls to UK landlines; again we have lots of prepaid minutes on the mobiles. And we were offered a 500MB Tivo box to replace our 100MB V+ box and for 49.95 we could retain the V+ box and have it relocated to another part of the house and use it with no additional monthly charge. By pruning our options we're saving 8/month overall (45 for TV and broadband and 13.90 for phone line rental) and we will have a much better Tivo main set top box and the V+ box will go in the back of the house where we have a Freeview TV. Plus, our broadband was recently upgraded from 20Mb to 60Mb for no extra cost.

I think that is a result

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ian For This Useful Post:
George Dorn (3rd August 2012)
  #2  
Old 1st August 2012
dbutch's Avatar
dbutch dbutch is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Yateley, Hampshire
Posts: 652
Thanks: 46
Thanked 29 Times in 19 Posts
Likes: 21
Liked 13 Times in 9 Posts
Re: Virgin Media tip for existing customers

Got a similar package also recently, did have a customer loyalty discount from a while back when I questioned the pricing, but it was good to keep the V+ and have the Tivo - the only thing I don't like about the Tivo is you can't set a reminder to change the channel when a program comes on which you can on the V+

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st August 2012
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,412
Thanks: 415
Thanked 2,444 Times in 1,232 Posts
Likes: 829
Liked 1,653 Times in 740 Posts
Re: Virgin Media tip for existing customers

Quote:
Originally Posted by dbutch View Post
Got a similar package also recently, did have a customer loyalty discount from a while back when I questioned the pricing, but it was good to keep the V+ and have the Tivo - the only thing I don't like about the Tivo is you can't set a reminder to change the channel when a program comes on which you can on the V+

Cheers
Thanks for that - are there any particularly cool features on the Tivo box compared to the V+?

Ours is being installed this afternoon.

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st August 2012
dbutch's Avatar
dbutch dbutch is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Yateley, Hampshire
Posts: 652
Thanks: 46
Thanked 29 Times in 19 Posts
Likes: 21
Liked 13 Times in 9 Posts
Re: Virgin Media tip for existing customers

It seems to all work pretty well and I'm sure we could do more with ours than we do
One thing that is pretty neat is you can set it up to record programs with an actor you like so any time a film is on with them in it automatically records it
Also with the series link you can set it to record the series or anytime it is on so don't do that for CSI as it will record about 3 episodes a day from all the different channels that show it

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 1st August 2012
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,412
Thanks: 415
Thanked 2,444 Times in 1,232 Posts
Likes: 829
Liked 1,653 Times in 740 Posts
Re: Virgin Media tip for existing customers

We were recording re-runs of Warehouse 13 on the V+ box but what we did get was only some of the series and they seemed out of sequence Hopefully that will be sorted with the Tivo.

I also read you can record according to genre and even director.

Have you tried the online remote programming yet?

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 1st August 2012
dbutch's Avatar
dbutch dbutch is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Yateley, Hampshire
Posts: 652
Thanks: 46
Thanked 29 Times in 19 Posts
Likes: 21
Liked 13 Times in 9 Posts
Re: Virgin Media tip for existing customers

Yes the director Genre thing appears to work but not played much with it
Have used my android phone and recorded a program seemed a bit slow but notices the app has been updated
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 1st August 2012
Ulfric M Douglas Ulfric M Douglas is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Northumberland
Posts: 2,894
Thanks: 262
Thanked 234 Times in 215 Posts
Likes: 128
Liked 172 Times in 119 Posts
Re: Virgin Media tip for existing customers

I wouldn't be without my PVRs, although I have a Humax and basic Freeview.
I hope the TIVOs are reliable, let us know how you find it Ian.
I have a mate with Virgin cable and I don't think he's got one yet ...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2nd August 2012
Footloose1949 Footloose1949 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Reading, Berkshire, UK
Posts: 86
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Virgin Media tip for existing customers

Used to be with NTL, then went over to Sky, but the one thing that annoys me, is the 'Favourites' selector, still means it trawls through all the channels you don't want, rather than just show only the channels I want to see. How does Virgin's system work?

Still looking for a service provider which only passes on a portion of my fee to football sports channels if I watch it, (which I never do!) and makes all of the football channels subject to additional pay to watch fees.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2nd August 2012
Chevvyf1's Avatar
Chevvyf1 Chevvyf1 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 12,269
Thanks: 1,744
Thanked 1,281 Times in 1,112 Posts
Likes: 1,169
Liked 522 Times in 392 Posts
Re: Virgin Media tip for existing customers

Ian, this is a GREAT THREAD

Since our MEGA Virgin on the ridiculous problems ... NO Broadband for a month and poor Broadband for 3 months ... when we were paying 70+ pcm - we now pay 30 ... I said "Thanks for fixing it" ... but we are leaving you ... they wanted to discuss our "service package ... " to our advantage ...

We got rid of Childrens channels on the TV - never ever watched them and in the re packaged "Collections we could get rid of them not losing our FAV channels ...) .... the playroom has it owns TV and CBeebies meets their needs or a DVD from their library ... Swallows & Amazons; The Railway Children; Surfs Up ; Happy Feet are my FAVS

We also have free UK calls - but with Virgin you pay top dollar for 08 numbers

We got a FREE upgrade to 20 or 30Mb Broadband - well, given the months of little and none ... thats decent ... and now it works very well (98% of the time)

Dear old Richard ... he wants to help us get REAL value for money ... BUT he has to make profits for him, his foundations and the Shareholders ... SO do as Ian HIGHLIGHTS here ... ask to re negotiate your package to your advantage or LEAVE

ps the other TRICK I am told is have your contract in one name, then you can give notice and the other half take a Virgin Contract in their name as a NEW Customer TWO can play at Richards games
__________________
.
.
[I].
.
I Lurve Walking in our Glorious Countryside; Photography;
Riding Ducati Motorbikes; Reading & Cooking ! ...


http://www.flickr.com/photos/photomagicf1_chevvy/sets/

the ONE photo album
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2nd August 2012
smartwombat's Avatar
smartwombat smartwombat is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 249
Thanks: 1
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Virgin Media tip for existing customers

We left.
After months of no or poor broadband and no response to complaints.
We went to ADSL and it was as promised.
Then the company went into administration and we changed to Sky.
We are now paying less for rock solid 16M ADSL, and TV, and phone ... than we were for "up to 20MB" broadband which was often slower than a modem.

Virgin offered to replace our hardware, but as a broadband only service it just wasn't worth it. And having experienced their customer disservice I wasn't going to give them a second chance.
__________________
PAul
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12th August 2012
ringneck's Avatar
ringneck ringneck is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 2,860
Thanks: 59
Thanked 135 Times in 131 Posts
Likes: 159
Liked 48 Times in 32 Posts
Re: Virgin Media tip for existing customers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian View Post
Thanks for that - are there any particularly cool features on the Tivo box compared to the V+?

Ours is being installed this afternoon.

Ian
Hi Ian....did you have to pay to have the installations.....I think it might be 49.99.

As Chevvy says it's a great thread and I hope it goes on and on to help us to get the best out of our services.

Keith
__________________
Keith


http://www.flickr.com/photos/68459774@N05

E500,E510 now dead,E520 (now retired),E600 and Grip,14-42,14-45,2x40-150,Sigmas 105 and 135-400 Now Dead..ex 25. Manfrotto 190. Plus lots of OM stuff.
Now also 4 items from the dark side...........
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Virgin - a tale of two cameras ... Ann1e Foto Fair 4 22nd May 2012 07:18 PM
Olympus Ignored By Media & Retailers? Phaedrus The lounge 48 1st July 2011 07:41 PM
software database of customers monoboard Software 7 9th February 2011 07:49 AM
Hi from an Olympus virgin. NSS Introduce yourself 11 9th October 2009 12:45 PM
Church: St Mary the Virgin, Tintern - buried in the woods theMusicMan Foto Fair 6 7th September 2009 08:42 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:06 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger