Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Olympus E-520

Olympus E-520 E-520 specific discussion.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11th October 2010
Alan Clogwyn
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
HDR Bracket focus lock

Was out last night dong my sunset ar pictures, and had intended to do them HDR, but with the 14-42 lens it decided it wanted to refocus between the 3 shots, and evidently not in the same place as when I combined the images they weren't quite aligned.

Is there no way it can be set to record in burst mode with bracketing as well so I don't keep having to press the shutter button and risk moving the camera on the tripod that tinyiest bit?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11th October 2010
j.baker j.baker is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: North Wiltshire
Posts: 1,071
Thanks: 0
Thanked 20 Times in 11 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: HDR Bracket focus lock

What camera are you using?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th October 2010
theMusicMan's Avatar
theMusicMan theMusicMan is offline
E-3 Enthusiast....:)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: South Wales
Posts: 5,878
Thanks: 143
Thanked 267 Times in 178 Posts
Likes: 8
Liked 30 Times in 19 Posts
Re: HDR Bracket focus lock

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan Clogwyn View Post
Was out last night dong my sunset ar pictures, and had intended to do them HDR, but with the 14-42 lens it decided it wanted to refocus between the 3 shots, and evidently not in the same place as when I combined the images they weren't quite aligned.

Is there no way it can be set to record in burst mode with bracketing as well so I don't keep having to press the shutter button and risk moving the camera on the tripod that tinyiest bit?
Just make sure you have AEB set to whatever number and _+EV you want, and also ensure you have frame burst mode turned on.

Then when you take a shot, if you have set the AEbracketing to be taken over say three shots, when you press and hold the shutter the camera will take three shots and stop. No need to press the shutter three times.
__________________
John

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th October 2010
Alan Clogwyn
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: HDR Bracket focus lock

Where do I turn that on? I don't see it?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11th October 2010
Alan Clogwyn
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: HDR Bracket focus lock

It's ok found it, didnt realise it had it's own button!

Now to find something to make a HDR photo of!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11th October 2010
theMusicMan's Avatar
theMusicMan theMusicMan is offline
E-3 Enthusiast....:)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: South Wales
Posts: 5,878
Thanks: 143
Thanked 267 Times in 178 Posts
Likes: 8
Liked 30 Times in 19 Posts
Re: HDR Bracket focus lock

What camera do you have Alan?
__________________
John

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11th October 2010
Alan Clogwyn
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: HDR Bracket focus lock

E520 - and now I look again I can see it's even an option on the main LCD screen!

In my defence my good eye is out of action at the moment
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11th October 2010
Nick Temple-Fry's Avatar
Nick Temple-Fry Nick Temple-Fry is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Wiltshire
Posts: 4,395
Thanks: 17
Thanked 190 Times in 142 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Re: HDR Bracket focus lock

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan Clogwyn View Post
E520 - and now I look again I can see it's even an option on the main LCD screen!

In my defence my good eye is out of action at the moment
It may not have its own button - but it is prominent on the SCP.

Use of the focus point to match it to an area of high contrast is good, as it reduces the tendency to want to re-focus.

Burst mode does turn of Dark Frame subtraction (NR), so it's not always the best for dim conditions.

Nick
__________________
Nick Temple-Fry

Medicine as a science ranks somewhere between archaeology and economics.

www.theChurchPhotographer.co.uk 90 Churches -- Fairford St Mary's, exceptionally splendid
www.temple-fry.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11th October 2010
theMusicMan's Avatar
theMusicMan theMusicMan is offline
E-3 Enthusiast....:)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: South Wales
Posts: 5,878
Thanks: 143
Thanked 267 Times in 178 Posts
Likes: 8
Liked 30 Times in 19 Posts
Re: HDR Bracket focus lock

Forgot to mention... if you want to absolutely ensure it doesn't try to refocus, simply use manual focusing.
__________________
John

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Agric Bracket andym Foto Fair 3 4th October 2010 05:47 PM
WTB L bracket for E-3 Rod Souter For sale or wanted small ads 0 18th April 2010 08:03 PM
Lock keeper`s House, Hertford. EH1 Foto Fair 7 13th September 2009 07:40 PM
Old Ford Lock andym Foto Fair 4 22nd December 2008 11:22 PM
Lock up sapper Olympus E-3 17 7th November 2008 01:33 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:20 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger