Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Olympus E-520

Olympus E-520 E-520 specific discussion.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 22nd July 2008
garethlovering garethlovering is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Swansea, Wales, UK
Posts: 175
Thanks: 4
Thanked 7 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 1
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Hello

Hi guys. Just joined the forum so I thought I would say hello.
I have an E520 with a 30mm macro, 12-60mm & 70-300mm lenses.
Has anybody had problems taking panorama shots with the E520
After I have taken the 1st shot the panorama symbol turns red and the camera will not focus any ideas please
Many thanks in advance for any help given
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23rd July 2008
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,410
Thanks: 415
Thanked 2,443 Times in 1,232 Posts
Likes: 829
Liked 1,651 Times in 739 Posts
Re: Hello

Quote:
Originally Posted by garethlovering View Post
Hi guys. Just joined the forum so I thought I would say hello.
I have an E520 with a 30mm macro, 12-60mm & 70-300mm lenses.
Has anybody had problems taking panorama shots with the E520
After I have taken the 1st shot the panorama symbol turns red and the camera will not focus any ideas please
Many thanks in advance for any help given
Hi Gareth, welcome to the site!

Do I presume you are trying to take a panorama?

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23rd July 2008
garethlovering garethlovering is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Swansea, Wales, UK
Posts: 175
Thanks: 4
Thanked 7 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 1
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Re: Hello

Hello Ian. Many thanks for your welcome. Yes I am trying to take a panorama without much luck.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25th July 2008
garethlovering garethlovering is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Swansea, Wales, UK
Posts: 175
Thanks: 4
Thanked 7 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 1
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
E520 Panarama shots

I have solved the problem I have been having taking panorama shots. If you take the photos and transfer them to a computer and use the software to stitch them together it does not work.
But if you leave the photos on the XD card load up the software you can stitch them together. Olympus forgot to menation this in their manual.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25th July 2008
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 8,050
Thanks: 635
Thanked 931 Times in 720 Posts
Likes: 2,241
Liked 1,568 Times in 900 Posts
Thumbs up Re: Hello

Gareth,

So "when all else fails, read the manual" wouldn't have worked

Well done on solving that and posting a useful bit of info.

Welcome to the forum, hopefully we can help out on any future problems before you solve them for yourself.
__________________
Graham

We often repeat the mistakes we most enjoy...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25th July 2008
StephenL's Avatar
StephenL StephenL is offline
Senior Pixelmonger
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Yorkshire Dales
Posts: 9,863
Thanks: 984
Thanked 1,126 Times in 921 Posts
Likes: 658
Liked 755 Times in 499 Posts
Re: Hello

Welcome. That's an interesting wee glitch you've found! How do you find the image quality on the E520 compared to whatever you were using before?
__________________
Stephen

A camera takes a picture. A photographer makes a picture

Fuji X system, + Leica and Bronica film

My Flickr site
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25th July 2008
garethlovering garethlovering is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Swansea, Wales, UK
Posts: 175
Thanks: 4
Thanked 7 Times in 3 Posts
Likes: 1
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Re: Hello

Hello Stephen. My previous camera was an Olympus E400. The quality is just the same I think as they are both 10 Megapixels cameras. I changed the camera because the E520 has a built in antiblur, and the E400 has a setting for this and once you choose that setting everything else is auto. And also I lie the idea of a remote flash.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:50 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger