Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Software

Software Discuss Olympus Master, Studio and Viewer software applications as well as third party programs like Adobe Photoshop, Lightroom, Apple Aperture, and others.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 9th February 2012
sapper sapper is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Leigh on Sea, Essex
Posts: 4,971
Thanks: 177
Thanked 451 Times in 254 Posts
Likes: 389
Liked 931 Times in 358 Posts
Lightroom

How do I make LR my default when opening images? I have searched preference but nothing obvious. I seem to remember I could do that but since upgrading PS to CS55 that opens instead of LR.
__________________
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 9th February 2012
Sabroc
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Lightroom

hover over a photo, right click and chose 'open with' and then 'Choose default programme'
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th February 2012
sapper sapper is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Leigh on Sea, Essex
Posts: 4,971
Thanks: 177
Thanked 451 Times in 254 Posts
Likes: 389
Liked 931 Times in 358 Posts
Re: Lightroom

Thanks for this but I don't want to hover over pics, I just want for them to open in LR automatically.
__________________
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 9th February 2012
Sabroc
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Lightroom

they will do once you have selected Lightroom as the default, I meant hover just to get the options up

once you have selected it, any photo you open ill open with Lightroom
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 9th February 2012
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,411
Thanks: 415
Thanked 2,443 Times in 1,232 Posts
Likes: 829
Liked 1,651 Times in 739 Posts
Re: Lightroom

Right click over a file of the type you want to open and click on properties. In the resulting window, in the General tab, you will find options for changing the default program for opening this kind of file. Lightroom might not be listed by default so you may have to find it in the program files folder.

To be honest I'm not sure this is a good idea as Lightroom is only designed to work with files in its database. My guess is that if you open a new photo with Lightroom you will get the import dialogue box.

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 9th February 2012
OlyPaul's Avatar
OlyPaul OlyPaul is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: West Midlands
Posts: 5,470
Thanks: 140
Thanked 715 Times in 577 Posts
Likes: 177
Liked 875 Times in 355 Posts
Re: Lightroom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian View Post

To be honest I'm not sure this is a good idea as Lightroom is only designed to work with files in its database. My guess is that if you open a new photo with Lightroom you will get the import dialogue box.

Ian
Ian is correct and you will get the import dialogue and be importing every image that is in that same folder.
__________________
Regards Paul.
One day I hope to be the person my dogs think I am.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/paul_silk/
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 9th February 2012
sapper sapper is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Leigh on Sea, Essex
Posts: 4,971
Thanks: 177
Thanked 451 Times in 254 Posts
Likes: 389
Liked 931 Times in 358 Posts
Re: Lightroom

Quote:
Originally Posted by OlyPaul View Post
Ian is correct and you will get the import dialogue and be importing every image that is in that same folder.
Oh. Not sure I understand but will have to put up with it.
__________________
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 9th February 2012
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,411
Thanks: 415
Thanked 2,443 Times in 1,232 Posts
Likes: 829
Liked 1,651 Times in 739 Posts
Re: Lightroom

Quote:
Originally Posted by sapper View Post
Oh. Not sure I understand but will have to put up with it.
Basically, Lightroom doesn't have a viewer function that works with Windows Explorer. It can only provide views of images imported into its library and so in its databaase.

Any images sent to Lightroom from 'outside' trigger the Lightroom import dialogue. It then presents thumbnails of any images it understands in the folder and will offer to import any that it doesn't yet have in its database.

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 9th February 2012
sapper sapper is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Leigh on Sea, Essex
Posts: 4,971
Thanks: 177
Thanked 451 Times in 254 Posts
Likes: 389
Liked 931 Times in 358 Posts
Re: Lightroom

Oh. But I use a Mac, should have said that before, don't suppose it makes any difference.
__________________
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 9th February 2012
David Morison's Avatar
David Morison David Morison is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fulbeck, Lincolnshire
Posts: 3,507
Thanks: 71
Thanked 588 Times in 472 Posts
Likes: 48
Liked 298 Times in 175 Posts
Re: Lightroom

Quote:
Originally Posted by OlyPaul View Post
Ian is correct and you will get the import dialogue and be importing every image that is in that same folder.
If you click on "Deselect all" you can reselect the image(s) you want to develop. For general viewing I use Viewer 2 and then drag and drop into Lightroom library.
David
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 9th February 2012
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,411
Thanks: 415
Thanked 2,443 Times in 1,232 Posts
Likes: 829
Liked 1,651 Times in 739 Posts
Re: Lightroom

Quote:
Originally Posted by sapper View Post
Oh. But I use a Mac, should have said that before, don't suppose it makes any difference.
It makes no difference - Lightroom isn't designed to be a general purpose viewer. Isn't iPhoto good enough?

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 9th February 2012
sapper sapper is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Leigh on Sea, Essex
Posts: 4,971
Thanks: 177
Thanked 451 Times in 254 Posts
Likes: 389
Liked 931 Times in 358 Posts
Re: Lightroom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian View Post
It makes no difference - Lightroom isn't designed to be a general purpose viewer. Isn't iPhoto good enough?

Ian
I do use iPhoto but when I put in a CD with images on it and click on an image CS 5 opens up. Seeing as I do most of my editing in LR it would have been quicker to import them straight into LR.
Job done now, I usually import straight into LR from memory cards, not CD's.
__________________
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 9th February 2012
theMusicMan's Avatar
theMusicMan theMusicMan is offline
E-3 Enthusiast....:)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: South Wales
Posts: 5,878
Thanks: 143
Thanked 267 Times in 178 Posts
Likes: 8
Liked 30 Times in 19 Posts
Re: Lightroom

You have got it Dave. That's the way to do it.

Import your images from the CD directly into Lightroom, then use LR to edit the images as you desire.

Not sure if you are aware though... on OSx you can simply click the image and press the spacebar to open the image in a preview window if you like. You can do this with any file type... document, spreadsheet, pdf, any image format. Then press the spacebar again to close the view.
__________________
John

Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 9th February 2012
sapper sapper is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Leigh on Sea, Essex
Posts: 4,971
Thanks: 177
Thanked 451 Times in 254 Posts
Likes: 389
Liked 931 Times in 358 Posts
Re: Lightroom

Quote:
Originally Posted by theMusicMan View Post
You have got it Dave. That's the way to do it.

Import your images from the CD directly into Lightroom, then use LR to edit the images as you desire.

Not sure if you are aware though... on OSx you can simply click the image and press the spacebar to open the image in a preview window if you like. You can do this with any file type... document, spreadsheet, pdf, any image format. Then press the spacebar again to close the view.
Ahhhh, didn't know that John, ta.
__________________
Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For sale Lightroom 3 George Dorn For sale or wanted small ads 9 3rd November 2011 10:03 PM
Lightroom 3.3 PeterD The lounge 11 7th December 2010 02:51 PM
Lightroom use... theMusicMan The lounge 22 21st October 2009 10:35 PM
Lightroom 2.5 available StephenL Software 5 15th September 2009 01:46 PM
Lightroom 2.4 shirley Software 19 25th August 2009 10:14 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:29 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger