Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Software

Software Discuss Olympus Master, Studio and Viewer software applications as well as third party programs like Adobe Photoshop, Lightroom, Apple Aperture, and others.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 26th November 2007
R MacE's Avatar
R MacE R MacE is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: N.I.
Posts: 252
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Noise Filter Settings

Hi,

is there anyway to find out what noise filter settings have been used on an image taken as jpeg. I've tried using Master 2 but while the 'As Shot' setting is shown for an Orf (Raw) file in the develop page there appears to be nothing either in exif or in the jpeg processing page to indicate the setting (off/low/standard/high) if the original was taken as jpeg.
__________________
In theory there's no difference between theory and practice but in practice there is.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26th November 2007
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,411
Thanks: 415
Thanked 2,443 Times in 1,232 Posts
Likes: 829
Liked 1,652 Times in 739 Posts
Re: Noise Filter Settings

Quote:
Originally Posted by R MacE View Post
Hi,

is there anyway to find out what noise filter settings have been used on an image taken as jpeg. I've tried using Master 2 but while the 'As Shot' setting is shown for an Orf (Raw) file in the develop page there appears to be nothing either in exif or in the jpeg processing page to indicate the setting (off/low/standard/high) if the original was taken as jpeg.
I don't know the anser to this question, but I'd guess it was a custom 'Maker note' value in the EXIF data. You will need a dedicated EXIF reader to gain access to these entries.

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26th November 2007
R MacE's Avatar
R MacE R MacE is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: N.I.
Posts: 252
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Noise Filter Settings

Hi Ian, thanks, it's no big deal as I usually shoot Raw. It's unfortunate though that if I want to apply the Olympus Noise Filter presets I need to use Master 2 but as I normally use Lightroom I'll need to come up with an alternative solution.

What do you do if you want to shoot Raw at say iso1600 or 3200?

Richard
__________________
In theory there's no difference between theory and practice but in practice there is.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26th November 2007
emirpprime
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Noise Filter Settings

Personally I shoot RAW, import into Lightrooma and convert to DNG, process (except sharpening if I know there is noise to deal with), then export into Photoshop where I use Noise Ninja. Then sharpen and output.

Depends on your workflow I guess. Also, I do it this was partly as I really don't like Master or Studio. I just can't wait for Lightroom to include Noise Ninja (apparently being worked on now Adobe released the APIs for 3rd party developers).

All the best,
Phil
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26th November 2007
R MacE's Avatar
R MacE R MacE is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: N.I.
Posts: 252
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Noise Filter Settings

Hi,

sounds pretty much like my current workflow. I've actually only got the Free version of 'Neat Image' which works outside of PS but I too process in Lightroom and output to PS for sizing, sharpening saving for web etc.

Cheers, Richard
__________________
In theory there's no difference between theory and practice but in practice there is.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Out the box settings Rod Souter Olympus E-510 26 27th November 2007 08:45 PM
E 500 Noise/Hot Pixels Garrie Olympus E-500 4 22nd November 2007 09:28 PM
E3 Noise Ninja Profiles for download here... emirpprime Software 0 22nd November 2007 03:48 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:17 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger