Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Olympus E-3

Olympus E-3 E-3 specific discussion.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 21st July 2010
Garrie's Avatar
Garrie Garrie is offline
SonorG
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,003
Thanks: 65
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Likes: 2
Liked 7 Times in 3 Posts
Is the E3 able to produce the same shot?

Hi,

I'm not one to post often and for that I'm sorry. I've not been togging much recently and have a little "lost the mojo" feeling..

However I saw this and this killed all my mojo..



My best man has a 5Dmk2 (who togged my wedding last year), I'm just feeling as though my E3 doesn't cut it. The shot above was taken on a 5dmk2 and it looks awesome. I've ask the dude what he did processing etc but he is very vague.

Can the E3 produce the same results and how do I go about processing a shot in this way? The pic was taken at 4.39pm.

I understand how its split between 3 canvases btw

Cheers
Garrie
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21st July 2010
theMusicMan's Avatar
theMusicMan theMusicMan is offline
E-3 Enthusiast....:)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: South Wales
Posts: 5,878
Thanks: 143
Thanked 267 Times in 178 Posts
Likes: 8
Liked 30 Times in 19 Posts
Re: Is the E3 able to produce the same shot?

Well, if it was taken at 4:39pm, then it was either taken in winter time with some ND filter, or recently with an ND110 10 stop filter.

If I knew where it was taken, and I could get there... I'd give it a go Garrie.

Oh, and yes of course, the 5D(mkII) is an awesome piece of kit; but I reckon I could produce something similar to this on my E-3, with the 11-22 (not 7-14, as I can't use filters on that) and the ND110.

It is a great shot I must add.
__________________
John

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st July 2010
theMusicMan's Avatar
theMusicMan theMusicMan is offline
E-3 Enthusiast....:)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: South Wales
Posts: 5,878
Thanks: 143
Thanked 267 Times in 178 Posts
Likes: 8
Liked 30 Times in 19 Posts
Re: Is the E3 able to produce the same shot?

Oh sorry... my take on the processing is;
  • ND110 10 stop filter
  • some wide angle lens
  • I'd say around 3 to 5 mins exposure, at somewhere around f13
  • tweeked using Lightroom (I'm sure I could match the processing - it looks slightly cross processed)
  • I'd say it was taken a lot earlier in the year, as there seems to be street lights turned on, and they wouldn't be turned on at this time of day this time of year.
  • It's also very underexposed (see the blacks on the river bank!)
How's that...?
__________________
John

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st July 2010
Radar
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Is the E3 able to produce the same shot?

First of all: YES! You can do this one. why not? It's the photographer, not the camera.
The photo is taken with a long shutter (118sec) on f18 and ISO100. since there's a green tint in the photo I think it's either a filter used or the whitebalance is fiddled with and some colour maps in Photoshop. Shouldn't be too hard. Could be a cross-processing thing he's done.

PS! Photo taken yesterday morning (20th of July)

Last edited by Radar; 21st July 2010 at 10:37 PM. Reason: Extra info
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st July 2010
Kiwi Paul
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Is the E3 able to produce the same shot?

It's the Sydney Harbour Bridge in Aussieland, it certainly is a very effective shot and I agree it could be replicated with an E3 or for that matter any OLY DSLR.

Paul
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21st July 2010
theMusicMan's Avatar
theMusicMan theMusicMan is offline
E-3 Enthusiast....:)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: South Wales
Posts: 5,878
Thanks: 143
Thanked 267 Times in 178 Posts
Likes: 8
Liked 30 Times in 19 Posts
Re: Is the E3 able to produce the same shot?

Quote:
Originally Posted by theMusicMan View Post
Oh sorry... my take on the processing is;
  • ND110 10 stop filter
  • some wide angle lens
  • I'd say around 3 to 5 mins exposure, at somewhere around f13
  • tweeked using Lightroom (I'm sure I could match the processing - it looks slightly cross processed)
  • I'd say it was taken a lot earlier in the year, as there seems to be street lights turned on, and they wouldn't be turned on at this time of day this time of year.
  • It's also very underexposed (see the blacks on the river bank!)
How's that...?
Oooooh.... considering I can't see the EXIF for some reason, I reckon my guess was pretty darned good... hehe!
__________________
John

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21st July 2010
gregles gregles is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,176
Thanks: 614
Thanked 396 Times in 381 Posts
Likes: 175
Liked 112 Times in 67 Posts
Re: Is the E3 able to produce the same shot?

I would say that this could have been taken with any dslr Garrie. The processing is very good and I would have no idea how to get there - but the shot is sharp and well exposed, which would suit some nice glass on any decent body

Where you been anyway
__________________
My Flickr Home Page
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 21st July 2010
Radar
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Is the E3 able to produce the same shot?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Woofmix View Post
It's the Sydney Harbour Bridge in Aussieland
Almost right! Almost! It's Tyne Bridge in Newcastle upon Tyne. Constructed by the same company from M'boro that constructet the Sydney Harbour Bridge so there's a resemblence :-)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 21st July 2010
Zuiko's Avatar
Zuiko Zuiko is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dunmow, Essex
Posts: 21,990
Thanks: 1,976
Thanked 3,139 Times in 2,448 Posts
Likes: 3,359
Liked 4,435 Times in 2,102 Posts
Re: Is the E3 able to produce the same shot?

Hi Garrie,

Don't get disillusioned just because another tog has perfected a technique you don't understand. OK, he did it with a 5DII which will give him a bigger file size, less noise if it was taken at high ISO (which I doubt) and probably a marginally better tonal quality and dynamic range. The point is, if he is good enough to produce that, he could have got a pretty similar result if he'd used an E-3.

You tend to forget you have a special talent for tonemapping, which you take for granted but which leaves many of us in awe (BTW - about time we saw some more ) and no doubt there are some 5DII owners who would love to be able to replicate your technique. I wonder if they agonize over whether they should upgrade to an E-3?
__________________
John

"A hundredth of a second here, a hundredth of a second there even if you put them end to end, they still only add up to one, two, perhaps three seconds, snatched from eternity." ~ Robert Doisneau
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 21st July 2010
Zuiko's Avatar
Zuiko Zuiko is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Dunmow, Essex
Posts: 21,990
Thanks: 1,976
Thanked 3,139 Times in 2,448 Posts
Likes: 3,359
Liked 4,435 Times in 2,102 Posts
Re: Is the E3 able to produce the same shot?

Just to add that this shot obviously relies heavily on the processing to such an extent that the real question should not be which camera but which software. I wish I had his processing skills!
__________________
John

"A hundredth of a second here, a hundredth of a second there even if you put them end to end, they still only add up to one, two, perhaps three seconds, snatched from eternity." ~ Robert Doisneau
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 21st July 2010
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 8,048
Thanks: 635
Thanked 931 Times in 720 Posts
Likes: 2,239
Liked 1,568 Times in 900 Posts
Re: Is the E3 able to produce the same shot?

OK it's a "nice" picture and cleverly produced, but you must be seeing things that we can't for you to rate it so highly.

Also with a triptych style image, lines need to flow continuously through the set and not be disjointed as they are here.

As for Post Processing, I rate your productions well above those of many.
__________________
Graham

We often repeat the mistakes we most enjoy...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 22nd July 2010
snaarman's Avatar
snaarman snaarman is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Baaarkshire UK
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 493
Thanked 416 Times in 324 Posts
Likes: 489
Liked 1,285 Times in 496 Posts
Re: Is the E3 able to produce the same shot?

Nice picture... However I suspect the only thing the 4:3 E3 couldn't do is the aspect ratio

Pete
__________________
Look, I'm an old man. I shouldn't be expected to put up with this.


Pete's photoblog Misleading the public since 2010.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 22nd July 2010
Kiwi Paul
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Is the E3 able to produce the same shot?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zuiko View Post
Hi Garrie,

You tend to forget you have a special talent for tonemapping, which you take for granted but which leaves many of us in awe (BTW - about time we saw some more )
He certainly does, I just looked on his website and I had forgotten about how good those tonemapped images are.

That's something I've never tried to dabble in, where can I find info about doing tonemapping? I seem to recall Photomatix does it, can it be done in LR3 or CS3?

Paul
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 22nd July 2010
dj69's Avatar
dj69 dj69 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Belfast
Posts: 123
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 1 Post
Re: Is the E3 able to produce the same shot?

Garrie

Remember your dentist's chair shots...... Wow!

Keep the faith
David
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 22nd July 2010
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,381
Thanks: 413
Thanked 2,438 Times in 1,227 Posts
Likes: 821
Liked 1,635 Times in 730 Posts
Re: Is the E3 able to produce the same shot?

There no technical hurdle that would prevent an E-3 (or any Olympus DSLR, including the original E-1) from taking a shot like this. As has been mentioned, it looks like a 'big stopper' neutral density filter has been used to reduce the light to the extent that a long exposure has been made possible to smooth the water and give the clouds some motion blur. Long exposures, with any camera, will induce noise, but using the noise reduction mode on the camera (which does a dark frame subtraction) would deal with that.

Finally, this picture is not just about the camera but also the photographer and his or her skill in post processing.

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EP2 with 4/3 9/18 beach shot deckitout Foto Fair 6 8th April 2010 05:09 PM
How to produce a web site? Adagio The lounge 16 3rd August 2009 12:02 PM
First E-3 shot StephenL Foto Fair 1 7th November 2008 03:24 PM
Bee holiday shot Who's_E Foto Fair 3 28th August 2008 11:33 AM
My first shot with E3 Bo_Nydahl Olympus E-3 4 29th November 2007 11:19 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:03 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger