Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Micro Four Thirds > Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II

Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II The second Micro Four Thirds camera that offers phase detect focusing so you can use Four Thirds DSLR lenses normally as well a Micro Four Thirds lenses.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 30th April 2017
Talkingdrum Talkingdrum is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: London
Posts: 26
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 2 Posts
EVF "Grid settings"

Can someone explain why "EVF Grid Settings" permanently greyed out?
Thanks

Last edited by Talkingdrum; 30th April 2017 at 05:26 PM. Reason: I've worked out the answer to my first question.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30th April 2017
PeterBirder's Avatar
PeterBirder PeterBirder is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: BRAINTREE ESSEX
Posts: 5,950
Thanks: 1,760
Thanked 1,024 Times in 854 Posts
Likes: 1,922
Liked 797 Times in 466 Posts
Re: EVF "Info Settings"

There are two places in the menus where the grids can be switched on.

1/. "Cogs" menu D3 in Disp/PC ,manual p116.

2/. "Cogs" menu I in EVF styles, manual p121.

It may be that if you are using EVF Style 3 which is the same as the monitor display style you have to use both settings.

I don't have an E-M1 MKII but my E-M10 MKII does something similar.

Hope this helps.
__________________
Peter

she looked at me and said "It's official. I hate your camera. It's just so amazing and perfect I want one!"

E-M10 MK II, E-M5, E-PL1, E-PM2, mZ 12-50, mZ 14-42mm EZ, mZ 17mm f 1.8, mZ 25mm f1.8, mZ 45mm f1.8, mZ 75-300mm II.
OM1n, OM 50mm f1.8.
Oly Viewer3, Dxo Pro 11. FastStone.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st May 2017
Talkingdrum Talkingdrum is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: London
Posts: 26
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Re: EVF "Info Settings"

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterBirder View Post
There are two places in the menus where the grids can be switched on.

1/. "Cogs" menu D3 in Disp/PC ,manual p116.

2/. "Cogs" menu I in EVF styles, manual p121.

It may be that if you are using EVF Style 3 which is the same as the monitor display style you have to use both settings.

I don't have an E-M1 MKII but my E-M10 MKII does something similar.

Hope this helps.
Thanks, got it. With such a long menu I wonder why they feel they need to duplicate items?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st May 2017
Growltiger Growltiger is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 200
Thanks: 1
Thanked 58 Times in 43 Posts
Likes: 6
Liked 35 Times in 24 Posts
Re: EVF "Info Settings"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Talkingdrum View Post
Thanks, got it. With such a long menu I wonder why they feel they need to duplicate items?
The I menu grid settings are only for the old fashioned EVF styles 1 and 2 which some people may still want to use. You have to turn off the last setting on the D3 grid settings before that menu item comes to life. It is much more limited than the new grid setting options on the D3 menu.

So the reason is simply to provide backward compatibility for some people. New users will simply see the I menu entry greyed out.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Growltiger For This Useful Post:
OM USer (1st May 2017)
  #5  
Old 1st May 2017
Talkingdrum Talkingdrum is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: London
Posts: 26
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Likes: 0
Liked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Re: EVF "Info Settings"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Growltiger View Post
The I menu grid settings are only for the old fashioned EVF styles 1 and 2 which some people may still want to use. You have to turn off the last setting on the D3 grid settings before that menu item comes to life. It is much more limited than the new grid setting options on the D3 menu.

So the reason is simply to provide backward compatibility for some people. New users will simply see the I menu entry greyed out.
Ah ok. Now I understand.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
evf, info settings

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"shopping in" and "cloning out" ? Chevvyf1 The lounge 15 17th September 2014 02:38 PM
"Hey, boys." "Yeah, what!? Ross the fiddler Foto Fair 6 23rd January 2014 12:44 PM
What's the difference between "zoom" and "magnify" ? DJMC Olympus OM-D E-M5 6 28th October 2012 10:30 PM
"All" vs "Not Transferred Yet" When Uploading - Can I Set A Default On Launch? Phaedrus Software 1 4th July 2011 08:52 AM
How do I switch from "HELP" to "SOLVED" Graham_of_Rainham The lounge 1 8th April 2010 10:10 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:39 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2018, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger