Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Olympus E-450

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10th April 2011
chrisdoig24k
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Problem with bulb exposure + remote

I was trying to do some nice star trail photos on the weekend but I noticed that after I'd left the shutter open for about 10 minutes, the camera would freeze up and not save the picture. I was using the wireless remote doodad.
Anybody else got the same problem / way to fix it?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10th April 2011
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,261
Thanks: 410
Thanked 2,378 Times in 1,198 Posts
Likes: 799
Liked 1,545 Times in 698 Posts
Re: Problem with bulb exposure + remote

Were you keeping the shutter open by keeping the IR remote button pressed? It's not really designed to work like that. You really need to get a cable release that attaches to the USB port on the camera. The Olympus part is RM-UC1, but there are lots of cheaper third party options.

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th April 2011
David Gethin's Avatar
David Gethin David Gethin is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 376
Thanks: 33
Thanked 28 Times in 14 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Problem with bulb exposure + remote

Are you sure it had frozen? Was the noise reduction on? I think it is that where after a long exposure, another exposure of the same length of time is taken with the mirror down that is then subtracted from the first exposure. The idea is that any hot pixels from taking such a long exposure are located and deleted. It would perhaps give you the impression that your camera had frozen.
__________________
David

Olympus E-30 | Falcon 8mm fisheye | 8mm fisheye | 12-60mm | 25mm f/2.8 pancake | 40-150mm | 50-200mm | 70-300mm | Tamron 135mm f/2.5 | EX-25 | FL-36R | YN460 & YN460-II | B&W ND110 | Lightroom 2.7 | Photoshop CS3
flickr - Photo52 2011
My Photo52 2011 Thread on TP
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th April 2011
chrisdoig24k
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Problem with bulb exposure + remote

The remote I'm using is the Olympus RM-1.
David - I think the noise reduction was on standard. Would it be worth turning off? I was only at ISO 100 or 200 (I forget - it was late and after a few beers!).

And do you think a cable release would be more reliable than the infra red one?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11th April 2011
David Gethin's Avatar
David Gethin David Gethin is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 376
Thanks: 33
Thanked 28 Times in 14 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Problem with bulb exposure + remote

Hi Chris, I will try to remember to reply when I have access to my camera again to look through what might be happening here.
__________________
David

Olympus E-30 | Falcon 8mm fisheye | 8mm fisheye | 12-60mm | 25mm f/2.8 pancake | 40-150mm | 50-200mm | 70-300mm | Tamron 135mm f/2.5 | EX-25 | FL-36R | YN460 & YN460-II | B&W ND110 | Lightroom 2.7 | Photoshop CS3
flickr - Photo52 2011
My Photo52 2011 Thread on TP
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11th April 2011
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 7,880
Thanks: 623
Thanked 913 Times in 705 Posts
Likes: 2,180
Liked 1,513 Times in 862 Posts
Re: Problem with bulb exposure + remote

With the RM-1 you can open the shutter with the "W" button and close it with the "T" button, so you don't have to hold the main button
__________________
Graham

We often repeat the mistakes we most enjoy...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11th April 2011
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,261
Thanks: 410
Thanked 2,378 Times in 1,198 Posts
Likes: 799
Liked 1,545 Times in 698 Posts
Re: Problem with bulb exposure + remote

Noise Reduction is pretty essential for long exposures and works regardless of ISO speed. Basically the longer the exposure the higher the chance of random pixels producing the wrong colour or brightness - so-called hot pixels.

With Noise Reduction after the long exposure shot has been taken, it's stored in a memory buffer and the sensor is refreshed and left sensitised for the same length of time as when the shot was taken, but with the shutter closed. The same hot pixels will appear (they are independent of exposure by light) and the exposed image is compensated for according to the hot pixels recorded. This is also called dark frame subtraction.

But it does mean the camera is tied up for as much time again after the original exposure has finished and it may indeed look like the camera has frozen up. So if you do a 10 minute exposure, you will have to wait for a further ten minutes for the dark frame subtraction process.

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com

Last edited by Ian; 12th April 2011 at 12:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12th April 2011
chrisdoig24k
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Problem with bulb exposure + remote

That's interesting, I'll give it another go properly some time soon. If I remember rightly I couldn't even get the shutter to close though. But I'm not sure, so I'll try again and get back to you!
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12th April 2011
Who's_E's Avatar
Who's_E Who's_E is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: London
Posts: 612
Thanks: 1
Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 1 Post
Re: Problem with bulb exposure + remote

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian View Post
But it does mean the camera is tied up for as much time again after the original exposure has finished and it may indeed look like the camera has frozen up. So if you do a 10 minute exposure, you will have to wait for a further ten minutes for the dark frame subtraction process.

Ian
To add to Ian's point, the card-write light should be flashing while it is subtracting the frame.

Nick
__________________
Bodies: E3, E-P1
Lenses: 8mm, 14-42mm, 12-60mm, 50-200mm
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 13th April 2011
chrisdoig24k
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Problem with bulb exposure + remote

I know I saw the write light flashing after I got a successful exposure over a couple of minutes so I assume that was noise reduction.
(the other alternative to my worries is that I may have had auto sleep on, in which case I will actually kick myself)
But the problem will still remain. When we take a shot with several hours exposure, do we just accept that we'll have to wait another few hours for noise reduction? Or is there some other way to fix it up without having to wait? I have a bad feeling leaving the camera essentially taking photos for 8 hours would murder my battery and I wouldn't want to lose a shot that took so long to take just because of battery!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 13th April 2011
David Gethin's Avatar
David Gethin David Gethin is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 376
Thanks: 33
Thanked 28 Times in 14 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Problem with bulb exposure + remote

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisdoig24k View Post
... (the other alternative to my worries is that I may have had auto sleep on, in which case I will actually kick myself)
But the problem will still remain. When we take a shot with several hours exposure, do we just accept that we'll have to wait another few hours for noise reduction?
Well I would turn off the NR if you want a single exposure star trail, and then deal with the hot pixels in PP - laborious but it will be clear where there are as they will be the single pixel stars rather than trails (unless you have the North Star in the image - what is the Southern hemisphere equivalent?).

Alternatively, you could shoot multiple 30 second exposures and combine using photoshop or startrails software using image stacking processing. Have a google for how to do this. After long periods of shooting multiple exposures the sensor will still get warm and you will still probably suffer from hot pixels appearing.
__________________
David

Olympus E-30 | Falcon 8mm fisheye | 8mm fisheye | 12-60mm | 25mm f/2.8 pancake | 40-150mm | 50-200mm | 70-300mm | Tamron 135mm f/2.5 | EX-25 | FL-36R | YN460 & YN460-II | B&W ND110 | Lightroom 2.7 | Photoshop CS3
flickr - Photo52 2011
My Photo52 2011 Thread on TP
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 13th April 2011
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 11,261
Thanks: 410
Thanked 2,378 Times in 1,198 Posts
Likes: 799
Liked 1,545 Times in 698 Posts
Re: Problem with bulb exposure + remote

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Gethin View Post
Well I would turn off the NR if you want a single exposure star trail, and then deal with the hot pixels in PP - laborious but it will be clear where there are as they will be the single pixel stars rather than trails (unless you have the North Star in the image - what is the Southern hemisphere equivalent?).

Alternatively, you could shoot multiple 30 second exposures and combine using photoshop or startrails software using image stacking processing. Have a google for how to do this. After long periods of shooting multiple exposures the sensor will still get warm and you will still probably suffer from hot pixels appearing.
I tried the multiple shots method but got hyphenated trails!

Ian
__________________
Founder and editor of:
Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net)
Four Thirds User (http://fourthirds-user.com)
Digital Photography Now (http://dpnow.com)
Olympus camera, lens, and accessory hire (http://e-group.uk.net/hire)

Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
NEW: My personal BLOG ianburley.com
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 13th April 2011
chrisdoig24k
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Problem with bulb exposure + remote

Next time I'm somewhere nice and somewhere dry (rain seems to be coming back into fashion here in Aus), I'll give it a try with no NR.
AND MAKE SURE I HAVE SLEEP OFF!!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 13th April 2011
theMusicMan's Avatar
theMusicMan theMusicMan is offline
E-3 Enthusiast....:)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: South Wales
Posts: 5,878
Thanks: 143
Thanked 267 Times in 178 Posts
Likes: 8
Liked 30 Times in 19 Posts
Re: Problem with bulb exposure + remote

Just to add to Ians very informative post #7 above; this may sound obvious but it's also something people may wonder about - I also learned from Ian telling me on one of our eGroup meets that it is OK to move and reposition your camera while this #2nd exposure for dark frame subtraction is going on.

Just to say...
__________________
John

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
problem with bulb shutter hihi2u2 Olympus E-420 8 7th July 2010 10:01 AM
Exposure bracketing benvendetta Olympus E-3 11 8th April 2010 05:13 PM
Bulb Function gregles Olympus E-510 11 30th January 2010 04:53 PM
E-510 exposure problem Andrew Riddell Olympus E-510 3 4th February 2009 08:12 AM
Exposure bracketing using remote control b.spooner Olympus E-1 6 5th February 2008 10:41 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:46 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2018, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger