Olympus UK E-System User Group
Olympus UK E-System User Group

Join our unique resource for Olympus Four Thirds E-System DSLR and Pen and OM-D Micro Four Thirds photographers. Show your images via our free e-group photo gallery. Please read the e-group.uk.net forum terms and conditions before posting for the first time. Above all, welcome!


Go Back   Olympus UK E-System User Group > Cameras, lenses and system accessories > Camera conference > Olympus E-30

Olympus E-30 An Olympus 12.1MP upper mid-range DSLR, the E-30.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 22nd September 2018
ChiaroScuro's Avatar
ChiaroScuro ChiaroScuro is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Norway
Posts: 42
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Likes: 23
Liked 19 Times in 9 Posts
Question Camera confused upon "switch On".

My E-30 spends most of its time in Aperture Priority. However, when I turn it on, it frequently turns on in P.

S or M, makes sense. Obviously, I just forgot to set it back to A before I shut it off, but I never use P and Ps. I don't really see their purpose.

Is this a known "quirk"?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 22nd September 2018
Graham_of_Rainham's Avatar
Graham_of_Rainham Graham_of_Rainham is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Rainham
Posts: 7,653
Thanks: 604
Thanked 898 Times in 692 Posts
Likes: 2,074
Liked 1,415 Times in 819 Posts
Re: Camera confused upon "switch On".

I have a recollection of that happening when I used “Studio” to control the E3.

It would start up with whatever I had set it to via tethering rather than what the mode dial was set at.
__________________
Graham

We often repeat the mistakes we most enjoy...
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Graham_of_Rainham For This Useful Post:
ChiaroScuro (22nd September 2018)
  #3  
Old 22nd September 2018
ChiaroScuro's Avatar
ChiaroScuro ChiaroScuro is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Norway
Posts: 42
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Likes: 23
Liked 19 Times in 9 Posts
Re: Camera confused upon "switch On".

Thanks, you may be on to something. I also use OlyStudio2 frequently, and have problems with Studio it self.
The camera becomes uncooperative and the "Busy lamp" keeps on flashing. Only solution is to disconnect camera from PC, remove external power and remove battery.

I'll do some experimenting and see what happens

Again thanks.

CS
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd September 2018
andym's Avatar
andym andym is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Epping Forest
Posts: 4,334
Thanks: 36
Thanked 344 Times in 256 Posts
Likes: 39
Liked 987 Times in 293 Posts
Re: Camera confused upon "switch On".

My E-M1 mk1 will do this every now and again. Don't use it all that often now but not been able to figure out ant pattern.
One turn of the dial from A to P and back again clears it.
__________________
All the best

Being left handed my brain sometimes works sdrawkcab

Andy

Lots of cameras and lenses.


My Flickr
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23rd September 2018
Ross the fiddler's Avatar
Ross the fiddler Ross the fiddler is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Blue Mtns, NSW Australia
Posts: 12,822
Thanks: 1,920
Thanked 1,204 Times in 953 Posts
Likes: 4,742
Liked 1,636 Times in 951 Posts
Re: Camera confused upon "switch On".

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChiaroScuro View Post
My E-30 spends most of its time in Aperture Priority. However, when I turn it on, it frequently turns on in P.

S or M, makes sense. Obviously, I just forgot to set it back to A before I shut it off, but I never use P and Ps. I don't really see their purpose.

Is this a known "quirk"?
Yes, I have had that issue with mine too. It is the mode dial connections getting dirty. I have just spun the dial a little to get better connection & I think someone else had sprayed contact cleaner into it with success, but please don't try unless willing to risk it.

__________________
Ross
I fiddle with violins (when I'm not fiddling with a camera).
Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/ross-the-fiddler/
Cameras: OM-D E-M1 & Mk II, Olympus Stylus 1, OM-D E-M5.
Lenses: M.ZD12-40mm f2.8 PRO Lens, M.ZD40-150mm f2.8 PRO Lens with MC-14, M.ZD12-50, M.ZD60 Macro, M.ZD75-300 Mk II, MMF-3, ZD14-54 II, Sigma 150mm F2.8 APO Macro DG HSM.
Flashes: FL36R X2, FL50R, FL50.
Software: Capture One Pro 10 (& Olympus Viewer 3).
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24th September 2018
ChiaroScuro's Avatar
ChiaroScuro ChiaroScuro is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Norway
Posts: 42
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Likes: 23
Liked 19 Times in 9 Posts
Re: Camera confused upon "switch On".

Good point. I'll "spin" the knob a number of times, and see what happens.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24th September 2018
MJ224's Avatar
MJ224 MJ224 is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Carmarthenshire
Posts: 9,006
Thanks: 577
Thanked 451 Times in 427 Posts
Likes: 4,199
Liked 2,149 Times in 1,076 Posts
Re: Camera confused upon "switch On".

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChiaroScuro View Post
Good point. I'll "spin" the knob a number of times, and see what happens.

Thanks
Be careful, makes you blind...………...
__________________
My Sailing Page

My Flickr
Reply With Quote
The Following Users Liked This Post:
ChiaroScuro (28th September 2018), Ross the fiddler (24th September 2018)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! How to get rid of or amend "OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA" in the metadata? Dallas Camera conference 6 20th November 2015 02:41 PM
What's the difference between "zoom" and "magnify" ? DJMC Olympus OM-D E-M5 6 28th October 2012 10:30 PM
"All" vs "Not Transferred Yet" When Uploading - Can I Set A Default On Launch? Phaedrus Software 1 4th July 2011 08:52 AM
The "Ever Ready" camera case davidsa General accessories 3 29th August 2010 10:08 AM
How do I switch from "HELP" to "SOLVED" Graham_of_Rainham The lounge 1 8th April 2010 10:10 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:34 PM.


© The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2018, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger