Olympus UK E-System User Group

Olympus UK E-System User Group (https://e-group.uk.net/forum/index.php)
-   Olympus E-400 (https://e-group.uk.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   CF Cards (https://e-group.uk.net/forum/showthread.php?t=18214)

Turbogirlie 27th December 2011 08:39 PM

CF Cards
 
Hi,

I have an E-400 which I happily use a SanDisk 16gb 30mbps CF card. In RAW, it can take 724 images - perfectly happy with this. Figuring I need a back up CF card, I bought a Kingston ultimate 16gb/266x CF card. Having bought Kingston memory for the laptop, I trusted the brand.

When I put this into the camera, it tells me I can only take 723 images - ok, not quibbling over one image. But I'll be damned if I can then download the photos onto my laptop (running Windows Vista - totally jams the system up) or my new desktop PC running Windows 7 - if I try to view what's on the card via a card reader, it tells me I have to format the card! The only way is from the camera to the PC & it takes forever.

Anyone else had issues with any makes of CF card? Perhaps I should stump up some cash & get another SanDisk card...:eek:

StephenL 27th December 2011 08:54 PM

Re: CF Cards
 
First of all welcome to the forum!

This might not answer your question, but every Kingston card I have ever owned has corrupted in one way or another. These days I mainly use Sandisk.

IainMacD 27th December 2011 08:58 PM

Re: CF Cards
 
Did you format the card in camera? If not transfer the images the slow way and then try it.
Iain

PeterBirder 27th December 2011 09:04 PM

Re: CF Cards
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by IainMacD (Post 145173)
Did you format the card in camera? If not transfer the images the slow way and then try it.
Iain

Beat me to it Iain.:)

It's also a good idea to re-format from time to time instead of just deleting.

Regards.*chr

David M 27th December 2011 09:20 PM

Re: CF Cards
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by PeterBirder (Post 145175)
Beat me to it Iain.:)

It's also a good idea to re-format from time to time instead of just deleting.

Regards.*chr

I've never deleted, I reformat every time.

Turbogirlie 27th December 2011 09:48 PM

Re: CF Cards
 
Hi guys,

Yip, formatted the card in the camera but to no avail.

Always format my CF card nowadays, but never experienced any issues with the SanDisk, have contacted the outlet where I got the Kingston from, hoping that they'll do the honourable thing, although purchased it in Sept this yr...

RogerMac 27th December 2011 10:28 PM

Re: CF Cards
 
I would check that the actual card reader you are using is capable of reading ultimate cards. For example try another ultimate card in the reader, or look at the manufacturer's web site for a speciication of the reader

If my guess is correct you will need a new card reader - but they are cheap nowadays

Roger

maccabeej 28th December 2011 07:43 AM

Re: CF Cards
 
I use a number of Kingston cards and have had no problems (touch wood). I would agree with Roger about the card reader, I am on my third.
Jim

Turbogirlie 28th December 2011 02:47 PM

Re: CF Cards
 
Thanks, will do a bit of research on card readers - I have 3 (don't ask) & have the same problem with all of them. The only computer in the house which can see the folder within the CF card is an old Toshiba running XP! But that's struggling as well.

Turbogirlie 28th December 2011 02:50 PM

Re: CF Cards
 
Don't have any other ultimate cards to try. But why would I get a difference in the number of pictures that the ultimate card can take, compared to the SanDisk - it's only one, but surely, being 16gb, it should be the same?

wanderer 28th December 2011 08:55 PM

Re: CF Cards
 
Hi and welcome to the forum.

Quote:

But why would I get a difference in the number of pictures that the ultimate card can take, compared to the SanDisk - it's only one, but surely, being 16gb, it should be the same?
The software in your camera will assume an average size of picture taken to be put on the card. It errs on the cautious side. There is also the 'tags attached' thing, adding/absorbing the data, which might account for the 1 shot difference. If you are somewhere where it is not easy to down load and you take lots you will find that it doesn't take just 723 photos. As you fill the card up you may find that the real capacity is much nearer 800.

Turbogirlie 28th December 2011 10:53 PM

Re: CF Cards
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by wanderer (Post 145283)
Hi and welcome to the forum.



The software in your camera will assume an average size of picture taken to be put on the card. It errs on the cautious side. There is also the 'tags attached' thing, adding/absorbing the data, which might account for the 1 shot difference. If you are somewhere where it is not easy to down load and you take lots you will find that it doesn't take just 723 photos. As you fill the card up you may find that the real capacity is much nearer 800.

Hi Wanderer!

Thanks for the welcome!

Also, thanks for the explanation on the issue over the difference in number of photos that the memory cards hold - makes sense!

Turbogirlie 30th December 2011 10:30 PM

Re: CF Cards
 
Well, I've heard back from the Amazon seller who has agreed to take this back for either refund or replacement which is very reasonable of them. I will return it for refund in the New Year & buy another SanDisk. Having experienced the problems I have, doing further research about the Kingston, it appears that they do have a higher fault rate than the SanDisk.

Thanks for your comments, very much appreciated.*chr*yes

Graptolite 3rd January 2012 07:01 PM

Re: CF Cards
 
I've just bought a Duracell 16 GB 600x UDMA CF card from Amazon for under 30. So far it seems to be working perfectly - and downloading to the PC (using a bog standard card reader) seems lightning fast compared to my old Kingston 133x card (no problems with that one either over the past 2 years though I did get a bit fed up waiting for it to download when it was full). Very happy with the Duracell so far!

Chevvyf1 4th January 2012 08:43 AM

Re: CF Cards
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by David M (Post 145177)
I've never deleted, I reformat every time.

ME TO ! *chr


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:12 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger