Olympus UK E-System User Group

Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net/forum/index.php)
-   Olympus E-30 (http://e-group.uk.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=35)
-   -   Camera confused upon "switch On". (http://e-group.uk.net/forum/showthread.php?t=48837)

ChiaroScuro 22nd September 2018 06:29 PM

Camera confused upon "switch On".
 
My E-30 spends most of its time in Aperture Priority. However, when I turn it on, it frequently turns on in P.

S or M, makes sense. Obviously, I just forgot to set it back to A before I shut it off, but I never use P and Ps. I don't really see their purpose.

Is this a known "quirk"?

Graham_of_Rainham 22nd September 2018 06:59 PM

Re: Camera confused upon "switch On".
 
I have a recollection of that happening when I used “Studio” to control the E3.

It would start up with whatever I had set it to via tethering rather than what the mode dial was set at.

ChiaroScuro 22nd September 2018 07:23 PM

Re: Camera confused upon "switch On".
 
Thanks, you may be on to something. I also use OlyStudio2 frequently, and have problems with Studio it self.
The camera becomes uncooperative and the "Busy lamp" keeps on flashing. Only solution is to disconnect camera from PC, remove external power and remove battery.

I'll do some experimenting and see what happens:)

Again thanks.

CS

andym 22nd September 2018 07:36 PM

Re: Camera confused upon "switch On".
 
My E-M1 mk1 will do this every now and again. Don't use it all that often now but not been able to figure out ant pattern.
One turn of the dial from A to P and back again clears it.

Ross the fiddler 23rd September 2018 03:43 AM

Re: Camera confused upon "switch On".
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ChiaroScuro (Post 458384)
My E-30 spends most of its time in Aperture Priority. However, when I turn it on, it frequently turns on in P.

S or M, makes sense. Obviously, I just forgot to set it back to A before I shut it off, but I never use P and Ps. I don't really see their purpose.

Is this a known "quirk"?

Yes, I have had that issue with mine too. It is the mode dial connections getting dirty. I have just spun the dial a little to get better connection & I think someone else had sprayed contact cleaner into it with success, but please don't try unless willing to risk it.

*chr

ChiaroScuro 24th September 2018 10:00 AM

Re: Camera confused upon "switch On".
 
Good point. I'll "spin" the knob a number of times, and see what happens.

Thanks

MJ224 24th September 2018 11:00 AM

Re: Camera confused upon "switch On".
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ChiaroScuro (Post 458439)
Good point. I'll "spin" the knob a number of times, and see what happens.

Thanks

Be careful, makes you blind...………...*chr


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:51 PM.


© The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2018, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger