Olympus UK E-System User Group

Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net/forum/index.php)
-   Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II (http://e-group.uk.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=73)
-   -   Shutter Count not working (http://e-group.uk.net/forum/showthread.php?t=47802)

wornish 2nd May 2018 04:34 PM

Shutter Count not working
 
Just tried to get my latest shutter count and it doesn't seem to work.
This is the first time I have tried this since upgrading the firmware. Can someone please confirm the published steps still work.

Or am I doing something wrong.

This is what I tried seems ok until step 6

1. Start with the Camera Off
2. Hold down the menu button and turn the camera on.
3. Release the Menu button and press the Menu button again to bring up the menus
4. Select LCD Brightness (third selection from the top) in the “Wrench” menu.
5. Press the Right Arrow to show the screen adjusters
6. Press INFO and then OK. Something like this will appear on your screen OLYMPUS E-M1 02 01 01 01.
7. Press the Up Arrow, Down Arrow, Left Arrow, Right Arrow, Shutter Button, and Up Arrow in this order and page 1 of the hidden menu will appear.
8. The shutter actuation count is located on page 2. Press the Right Arrow for page 2.
Press the Up Arrow for Page 1
Press the Right Arrow for page 2
Press the Down Arrow for page 3
Press the Left Arrow for Page 4
Thanks and regards,

MikeOxon 2nd May 2018 05:05 PM

Re: Shutter Count not working
 
Works for me as usual on E-M1 MkII Firmware 2.0

wornish 2nd May 2018 05:46 PM

Re: Shutter Count not working
 
Thanks,
I am on 2.1 so not sure whats going on.

MikeOxon 2nd May 2018 06:01 PM

Re: Shutter Count not working
 
The only difference I noticed was that 'R' on Page 2 seems to have been replaced with 'MS', which I'm guessing means Mechanical Shutter release count.

I've occasionally had difficulty in accessing these menus in the past. I don't know if timing matters when entering the sequence but it might be worth giving it a few more tries.

I shall hold off 2.1 until someone else responds *chr

wornish 2nd May 2018 06:30 PM

Re: Shutter Count not working
 
Its worked in the past thats why I am concerned.

It might be just timing.

I will wait and see if someone else can confirm it works on 2.1.

Growltiger 2nd May 2018 07:54 PM

Re: Shutter Count not working
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by wornish (Post 446338)
Just tried to get my latest shutter count and it doesn't seem to work.
This is the first time I have tried this since upgrading the firmware. Can someone please confirm the published steps still work.

Or am I doing something wrong.

This is what I tried seems ok until step 6

1. Start with the Camera Off
2. Hold down the menu button and turn the camera on.
3. Release the Menu button and press the Menu button again to bring up the menus
4. Select LCD Brightness (third selection from the top) in the “Wrench” menu.
5. Press the Right Arrow to show the screen adjusters
6. Press INFO and then OK. Something like this will appear on your screen OLYMPUS E-M1 02 01 01 01.
7. Press the Up Arrow, Down Arrow, Left Arrow, Right Arrow, Shutter Button, and Up Arrow in this order and page 1 of the hidden menu will appear.
8. The shutter actuation count is located on page 2. Press the Right Arrow for page 2.
Press the Up Arrow for Page 1
Press the Right Arrow for page 2
Press the Down Arrow for page 3
Press the Left Arrow for Page 4
Thanks and regards,

Here are the instructions I have, they work:

Check system information
- Camera OFF
- Hold down MENU button and turn ON the camera
- Release MENU button and press MENU again to get to Menus
- Go to LCD Brightness Menu, that's in Spanner Menu, fourth item down.
- Press RIGHT to show screen adjusters.
- Press INFO then OK. (Note this changes the screen.)
- The E-M1 II shows:
-- E-M1MarkII
-- 03 01 01 01
- Press in sequence UP/DOWN/LEFT/RIGHT/SHUTTER/UP and Page 1 info appears
- Press RIGHT for Page 2, DOWN for Page 3, LEFT for Page 4 and UP again to get Page 1

Page 2 shows:
MS 5181 [mechanical shutter count]
S 00007 [shot count with flash]
C 000000
U 000177 [turn on count which is ultrasonic wave cleaner count]
V 000000
B 000123 [seems to be total number of times shutter button is fully pressed for any reason]
L 000000

Page 3 shows:
CS: the serial number

On Page 4 is D:
Damage code log, blank is good.

MikeOxon 2nd May 2018 08:21 PM

Re: Shutter Count not working
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Growltiger (Post 446355)
Here are the instructions I have, they work:

What firmware revision do you have?

wornish 2nd May 2018 09:07 PM

Re: Shutter Count not working
 
Thanks Growltiger. Thats the same as I posted. What level of firmware are you on?

Olybirder 2nd May 2018 09:44 PM

Re: Shutter Count not working
 
It worked for me using firmware version 2.1. It failed the first time but I repeated it, pressing the arrow buttons more quickly at step 7 and it worked. My mechanical shutter count is 3715 (barely run in.) :)

Ron

Growltiger 2nd May 2018 10:26 PM

Re: Shutter Count not working
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by MikeOxon (Post 446356)
What firmware revision do you have?

2.1

Did you get to where it says:
E-M1MarkII
03 01 01 01

If you can see that, and the instructions that followed didn't work, try them again until they do work.

- Press in sequence UP/DOWN/LEFT/RIGHT/SHUTTER/UP and Page 1 info appears
- Press RIGHT for Page 2, DOWN for Page 3, LEFT for Page 4 and UP again to get Page 1

I just did it, and had to do the Up/Down stuff twice.
My MS (Mechanical shutter) is 6402.

wornish 3rd May 2018 04:14 PM

Re: Shutter Count not working
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Growltiger (Post 446362)
2.1

Did you get to where it says:
E-M1MarkII
03 01 01 01

If you can see that, and the instructions that followed didn't work, try them again until they do work.

- Press in sequence UP/DOWN/LEFT/RIGHT/SHUTTER/UP and Page 1 info appears
- Press RIGHT for Page 2, DOWN for Page 3, LEFT for Page 4 and UP again to get Page 1

I just did it, and had to do the Up/Down stuff twice.
My MS (Mechanical shutter) is 6402.

This is driving me crazy. I can get to where it says

E-M1MarkII
03 01 01 01

After that it just sits there . :mad:
I just tried a full factory reset and still no joy.

Olybirder 3rd May 2018 04:49 PM

Re: Shutter Count not working
 
I found with my Mk 1 that, if I lingered too long on each button press to check what came next, it didn't always work. I found it was better if I rehearsed the actions and then pressed the buttons smoothly and quickly without any pausing between presses. It's probably nothing to do with that but it might be worth a try.

Ron

MJ224 3rd May 2018 04:50 PM

Re: Shutter Count not working
 
Just checked mine. Works OK 3146 mechanical shutter, and no page 4, which I assume is good...................*chr

(PS I use the Electronic shutter almost exclusively)

Growltiger 3rd May 2018 10:38 PM

Re: Shutter Count not working
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by wornish (Post 446395)
This is driving me crazy. I can get to where it says

E-M1MarkII
03 01 01 01

After that it just sits there . :mad:
I just tried a full factory reset and still no joy.

Try the instructions from that point on more than once until it works. Press the buttons with your fingernail to make sure you get a certain single click. It will work if you keep trying.

Phill D 3rd May 2018 11:00 PM

Re: Shutter Count not working
 
I had the same problem with my Mk1. I just couldn't get it to work. I must have tried dozens of times over about a year before all of a sudden it started to work. never did anything different as far as I was aware. After that I can't be bothered to try my Mk2 sorry.


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:05 AM.


© The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger