Olympus UK E-System User Group

Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net/forum/index.php)
-   Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II (http://e-group.uk.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=73)
-   -   Problems with Drive Modes (http://e-group.uk.net/forum/showthread.php?t=47792)

Allan_Devon 30th April 2018 12:56 PM

Problems with Drive Modes
 
I have been trying to set both my E-M1 Mkll cameras to the same settings and have come across a problem in setting Anti-Shock, Silent and Hi-Res options.
From all sources, Oly Manual,Wrotniak and Tony Phillips there is a 2 stage process: firstly enable the modes in "Shooting Menu 2 Anti-Shock/Silent", secondly choose which varieties to display in the Button or SCP list using "Custom menu D1.4"
On both cameras all three of these options show as Off and there is no way to switch them on that I can find. To compound this on one camera the Hi-Res, whilst being off in the Shooting Menu is displayed and works whilst on the other camera the Icon for Hi-Res is greyed out when using the front drive button or via the SCP.
What am I doing wrong and how do I fix this please?

Bikie John 30th April 2018 01:15 PM

Re: Problems with Drive Modes
 
Let's start with the basics - if the cameras are behaving differently, are they at different firmware levels?

John

RobEW 30th April 2018 03:00 PM

Re: Problems with Drive Modes
 
Just a guess as I don't have mark II, but I find (on classic E-M1) that some menu options only work when I have a M43 lens attached and are disabled when I have a Four Thirds lens attached via an adaptor.

Allan_Devon 30th April 2018 03:55 PM

Re: Problems with Drive Modes
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Bikie John (Post 446187)
Let's start with the basics - if the cameras are behaving differently, are they at different firmware levels?

John

Thanks John but both set at 2.1.

Allan_Devon 30th April 2018 04:36 PM

Re: Problems with Drive Modes
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by RobEW (Post 446197)
Just a guess as I don't have mark II, but I find (on classic E-M1) that some menu options only work when I have a M43 lens attached and are disabled when I have a Four Thirds lens attached via an adaptor.

Thanks for the input, I clearly mis-understood the mechanism to enable these modes, altering the parameter on the silent and anti-shock modes effectively switches them on, I was expecting to be able to switch off to on as with so many other menu items!
However, I still cannot get the Hi-Res to work on one camera, the other one will use this mode with any of my Panasonic or Olympus lenses. It is greyed out in the menu bar using either SCP or from the front drive button.

Growltiger 30th April 2018 05:57 PM

Re: Problems with Drive Modes
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Allan_Devon (Post 446208)
However, I still cannot get the Hi-Res to work on one camera, the other one will use this mode with any of my Panasonic or Olympus lenses. It is greyed out in the menu bar using either SCP or from the front drive button.

Shooting Menu 2. Hi res shot. Make sure it isn't turned Off.

Allan_Devon 30th April 2018 06:48 PM

Re: Problems with Drive Modes
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Growltiger (Post 446217)
Shooting Menu 2. Hi res shot. Make sure it isn't turned Off.

I have gone into this menu, set delay at 1 sec pressed OK, moved to charge time set 2 sec pressed OK, pressed OK again then pressed menu, greyed out. This is exactly similar to how I have set Hi-Res in the other camera and is active.
I have had the odd blackout with this camera so I am beginning to think it might be defective.

Growltiger 30th April 2018 07:02 PM

Re: Problems with Drive Modes
 
I suggest you completely reset that camera, I bet that makes Hires come back. Then apply your settings, typing them up as you go, so you have a fully documented record of what you have done. Keep checking hires is still there. This should either fix it or pin down what the setting is that is disabling it.

Allan_Devon 30th April 2018 07:23 PM

Re: Problems with Drive Modes
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Growltiger (Post 446224)
I suggest you completely reset that camera, I bet that makes Hires come back. Then apply your settings, typing them up as you go, so you have a fully documented record of what you have done. Keep checking hires is still there. This should either fix it or pin down what the setting is that is disabling it.

I was afraid that advice would surface! If no one else comes up with anything concrete I will have to spend a spare afternoon following your suggestion. I fear it might be the camera, if it is that will be two afternoons spent re-setting my parameters.
Can I copy the settings in the one that is working to the camera I am having problems with?
Thanks for your suggestion
Allan

Growltiger 30th April 2018 08:42 PM

Re: Problems with Drive Modes
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Allan_Devon (Post 446226)
I was afraid that advice would surface! If no one else comes up with anything concrete I will have to spend a spare afternoon following your suggestion. I fear it might be the camera, if it is that will be two afternoons spent re-setting my parameters.
Can I copy the settings in the one that is working to the camera I am having problems with?
Thanks for your suggestion
Allan

Yes, you can, and that is an excellent idea.
Connect the good camera, run the updater and tell it to save the settings. Note the location and name of the file.
Then close it, connect the bad camera and run it again. Tell it to restore the settings - select the file you just made from the other camera.

Do make sure you use the latest updater, that is v2.1 (only coincidence that it is the same number as the latest firmware). (Or use Olympus Viewer 3 and update the software and then go into the hardware updater.)

It takes me only about 30 minutes to enter every setting from my printed sheet, it doesn't need to take all afternoon. I know this because I also have an E-M1 where you can't save and restore the settings. It really is worth taking the time to document all your settings, and it makes it easy to review them all.

Allan_Devon 1st May 2018 05:03 PM

Re: Problems with Drive Modes
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Growltiger (Post 446229)
Yes, you can, and that is an excellent idea.
Connect the good camera, run the updater and tell it to save the settings. Note the location and name of the file.
Then close it, connect the bad camera and run it again. Tell it to restore the settings - select the file you just made from the other camera.

Do make sure you use the latest updater, that is v2.1 (only coincidence that it is the same number as the latest firmware). (Or use Olympus Viewer 3 and update the software and then go into the hardware updater.)

It takes me only about 30 minutes to enter every setting from my printed sheet, it doesn't need to take all afternoon. I know this because I also have an E-M1 where you can't save and restore the settings. It really is worth taking the time to document all your settings, and it makes it easy to review them all.

Many thanks for your input; I was actually entering the settings onto a sheet when I noticed the difference between the two cameras and my missing drive options. I will follow your advice and then try to update the "bad" camera
Allan

Allan_Devon 2nd May 2018 09:36 AM

Re: Problems with Drive Modes
 
Sorted I hope? I had "Bracketing" On in "shooting menu 2" although not selected.
I shall press on with recording my settings and apply to both cameras. Thanks to all who have tried to help
Allan

Bikie John 2nd May 2018 11:58 AM

Re: Problems with Drive Modes
 
Fingers crossed for you that you've got to the bottom of it.

This sort of thing comes up as a side-effect of the complexity of the Oly menu system. It is great that we have a lot of ways to customise a powerful and flexible camera to our liking, and that inevitably leads to a plethora of options. Unfortunately the menu system has grown rather organically, with bits added here and there as they become relevant, and this means that an option buried deep down one leg of the system can affect behaviour in a completely different part. And there is often no clue to the source of the problem.

As has been stated here plenty of times before, what it really needs is a redesign from the ground up by people who are expert in user interface design. Of course, that would screw up those of us who have grown up alongside the system for a while, but would be much better in the medium term (i.e. until we need to repeat the process all over again).

John

Growltiger 2nd May 2018 02:11 PM

Re: Problems with Drive Modes
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Allan_Devon (Post 446313)
Sorted I hope? I had "Bracketing" On in "shooting menu 2" although not selected.
I shall press on with recording my settings and apply to both cameras. Thanks to all who have tried to help
Allan

That makes perfect sense. Well done finding the solution.

It would be good to have a list of all settings that prevent the use of other settings. I know there are things to do with flash, HDR, bracketing, electronic shutter and so on, but I can't remember them all.

OM USer 2nd May 2018 02:24 PM

Re: Problems with Drive Modes
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Bikie John (Post 446323)
...what it really needs is a redesign from the ground up by people who are expert in user interface design. Of course, that would screw up those of us who have grown up alongside the system for a while, but would be much better in the medium term (i.e. until we need to repeat the process all over again)....

Well, yes. But now that you can save and restore your settings to a computer what it needs is a computer application with a good UI to view and edit your settings.


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:12 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2018, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger