Olympus UK E-System User Group

Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net/forum/index.php)
-   Olympus OM-D E-M1 Mark II (http://e-group.uk.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=73)
-   -   EM1 MKII Lock Up (http://e-group.uk.net/forum/showthread.php?t=43715)

G2EWS 18th December 2016 09:01 AM

EM1 MKII Lock Up
 
Morning all,

Thought I would let you know that whilst out and about doing a bit of street photography yesterday the OMD EM1 MkII locked up twice!

I had the new 12-100 on both times and I am certain it was as I took a few shots very quickly. Not in multi shot, but pressing the shutter myself.

Only way out was to remove the battery.

Will keep an eye on it and report back if it happens again and what circumstances.

Regards


Chris

pdk42 18th December 2016 09:16 AM

Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up
 
Guess you'll need to wait for firmware v 1.1 (or 1.2 or 2.0).
Lots of new tech = lots of new software = bugs!

G2EWS 18th December 2016 09:22 AM

Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up
 
You may well be right Paul,

Guess I am interested to see if anyone else has experienced the same problem.

Regards

Chris

birdboy 18th December 2016 09:51 AM

Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up
 
I wonder if this is a lens related problem Andy (andym) reported a similar problem and he was using a 12-100. I have not had any lock up problems yet touch wood and have used a variety of lenses edit but not the 12-100.

Ricoh 18th December 2016 10:21 AM

Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up
 
It could be a memory card issue. It is known to happen even on 5000 Leicas!!!
I'm aware the EM1 MK II has two card slots. I would try shooting with one card for a period of time, and using a card that you have gained confidence with, eg having used in another camera for some time without issue (remembering to format in the MK II).

Zuiko 18th December 2016 10:25 AM

Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up
 
I'll let you guys iron out the bugs and in 5 years I'll buy one of your cameras in perfect working order for about 250. :p :D

Ricoh 18th December 2016 10:31 AM

Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Zuiko (Post 401288)
I'll let you guys iron out the bugs and in 5 years I'll buy one of your cameras in perfect working order for about 250. :p :D

Best to buy some spare batteries now, John, in 5 years they could be obsolete. (Nah, course not in 5 years, but in 10 years probably odds on).

G2EWS 18th December 2016 10:39 AM

Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up
 
Using the same cards and only one that I use in my MkI's.

Chris

Ricoh 18th December 2016 10:52 AM

Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up
 
Plural of card, not sure if you were using two simultaneously. To help you and Olympus diagnose the issue, you need to limit the number of variables. So just use one card for a period of time. If it still happens, try ctrl-alt-del, ie a factory reset, and run with the initial setup for a period of time.
I always find cameras lockup when you're just about to capture that 'once in a lifetime' decisive moment, never to be repeated. It's just as well our lives don't depend on such issues!

G2EWS 18th December 2016 10:55 AM

Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up
 
Hi Steve,

My bad.

Just one card. But the same as I used in one of my MkI's.

No problem out with the dog just now with the 40-150mm. So will see later when I go out again but will put the 12-100mm back on.

Regards

Chris

Ricoh 18th December 2016 11:32 AM

Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up
 
Instead of waiting for picture opportunities, fire off 100 or so shots, 1000 shots etc, of anything, see if the fault can be replicated. If so, you could ask for it to be fixed, and then if it fails again you have the right to a replacement.

Gwyver 18th December 2016 11:36 AM

Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up
 
I had a couple of lock-ups in the past month with the 12-100 Pro on my Mk1 EM1 - but powered off & on again and didn't think much more about it.

Maybe there is a problem is with the 12-100 firmware?

G2EWS 18th December 2016 12:51 PM

Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up
 
Hi Steve,

Had already planned to sit in the conservatory with a glass of vino shortly and fire off a few shots. Certainly not as many as 1,000 though!


Hi Chris,

It certainly seems like the common factor. Will see how it goes.

The MkII needed the battery removed, turning off did nothing. It still had the last photo I took in the EVF until the battery was removed.

Regards

Chris

Bikie John 18th December 2016 01:01 PM

Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up
 
Oh dear. The symptoms you describe Chris sound horribly familiar. Something else to be aware of is that if you have changed any options (ISO, focussing mode etc.) since switching the camera on, when you resuscitate it by removing and replacing the battery the body will probably go back to how it was when you last switched it on.

There seems to be a new plague of lock-ups - when the E-M1 Mark I came out some people had no problems at all while others (including me) were plagued with lockups. Eventually after a lot of firmware upgrades and a replacement body they went away - but I got them again recently when using C-AF with the 300mm f/4. Upgrading the firmware in both lens and body seems to have fixed that, touch wood.

These problems must be very difficult for Olympus to diagnose. When I was getting lots of lockups in the early days of the Mark 1 I could never reproduce it to order. It would work fine whenever I tested it, and then wait for a critical point in the game before failing. Which is reminiscent of Murphy's Law:

The toast always lands butter-side down, except when required to do so to demonstrate Murphy's Law.

I hope they get it ironed out soon.

John

Ricoh 18th December 2016 01:25 PM

Re: EM1 MKII Lock Up
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by G2EWS (Post 401302)
Hi Steve,

Had already planned to sit in the conservatory with a glass of vino shortly and fire off a few shots. Certainly not as many as 1,000 though!


Hi Chris,

It certainly seems like the common factor. Will see how it goes.

The MkII needed the battery removed, turning off did nothing. It still had the last photo I took in the EVF until the battery was removed.

Regards

Chris

It happened a couple of times with my M240, but since updating the firmware to the latest... I'm just off to touch some wood.


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:35 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2018, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger