Olympus UK E-System User Group

Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net/forum/index.php)
-   Olympus E-3 (http://e-group.uk.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Update to E3 firmware V1.2 (http://e-group.uk.net/forum/showthread.php?t=2091)

Bo_Nydahl 13th June 2008 11:46 AM

Update to E3 firmware V1.2
 
http://www.olympus.co.jp/en/support/...firm/e1/e3.cfm

Mike

Westy 13th June 2008 01:29 PM

Re: Update to E3 firmware V1.2
 
Just Updated to 1.2 firmware. Took approx 3 mins in total, all seems ok. The funny thing is on initial inspection settings don't seem to have been reset? camera does state in menu ver 1.2

Invicta 13th June 2008 05:07 PM

Re: Update to E3 firmware V1.2
 
Just updated to 1.2.

And my settings were not set back to factory defaults, e.g. my two my-modes were still configured as expected.

Looks like a very useful change to the update procedure *chr

Westy 13th June 2008 05:30 PM

Re: Update to E3 firmware V1.2
 
Certainly makes for a more user friendly experience not having to remember all the changes that you have made to the camera. Especially on a camera that is so customisable. Well done Olympus.*chr

Bo_Nydahl 13th June 2008 05:40 PM

Re: Update to E3 firmware V1.2
 
It would appear from the DP Review site that the camera only resets to defaults if you have added an extra language.

Mike

250swb 14th June 2008 06:55 AM

Re: Update to E3 firmware V1.2
 
Yes it was a relief to find that it hadn't reset like last time, well done Oly!


Steve

Paulpp 14th June 2008 08:09 AM

Re: Update to E3 firmware V1.2
 
Just wondered if others are having problem. At the moment am getting a server error, which presumably is a fault with the Olympus server, but more worryingly when connecting the camera the information window does not show the camera as attached with current firmware version etc.

Melaka 14th June 2008 09:56 AM

Re: Update to E3 firmware V1.2
 
I've just updated mine (about five minutes ago) and had no problems. I'd hoped the new release might have addressed the battery problems but it doesn't claim to and doesn't do so.

Julia 14th June 2008 09:59 AM

Re: Update to E3 firmware V1.2
 
apologies I should have put this up on here too.

Julia

dpnow.com/4869.html

CaptainD 14th June 2008 10:49 AM

Re: Update to E3 firmware V1.2
 
Thanks for bringing the firmware update to my attention, I have upgraded with no problems at all.

Cheers

Chris *chr

Paulpp 14th June 2008 01:20 PM

Re: Update to E3 firmware V1.2
 
Seems I have a software fault as when I connect either my E3 or E410 (in storage mode) Master or Studio seem to recognise that the camera is attached (i.e. I don't get a "camera not attached error message"), but the initial screen that shows the current version numbers appears but without any information on it, and if I try and update anyway I get a server error message.
I use an iMac running 10.5.3

Paulpp 14th June 2008 07:30 PM

Re: Update to E3 firmware V1.2
 
Interestingly just tried the update using Windows running on my Mac, and it was ok. I wonder if there is a conflict with the latest version of Apple software?

tlove 15th June 2008 11:35 AM

Re: Update to E3 firmware V1.2
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Paulpp (Post 18176)
Interestingly just tried the update using Windows running on my Mac, and it was ok. I wonder if there is a conflict with the latest version of Apple software?

Paul - this is going to seem like a really dumb thing for me to say (no change there :o), but I know Olympus updated the Olympus Master software quite recently to run with OSX Leopard. I was having terrible problems updating my firmware (I couldn't, basically), but once I'd updated to the latest Master software I've had no problems since, and I'm using an intel iMac running Leopard.

Forgive me if this has been covered before, but I'm new to the site - just thought I'd suggest it.

Hope you get it sorted soon.

Thea

Paulpp 15th June 2008 04:53 PM

Re: Update to E3 firmware V1.2
 
Thanks - I thought I had updated to the latest versions but will re-check

nad 21st June 2008 02:04 PM

Re: Update to E3 firmware V1.2
 
Just updated with no problems.

Now you don't have to exit the Play mode - just half press the shutter like on E-500, - 400 and -510...

niels


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:54 AM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger