Olympus UK E-System User Group

Olympus UK E-System User Group (http://e-group.uk.net/forum/index.php)
-   Olympus E-3 (http://e-group.uk.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Silkypix won't process E3 1.3 RAW files (http://e-group.uk.net/forum/showthread.php?t=5030)

jdal 2nd April 2009 03:55 PM

Silkypix won't process E3 1.3 RAW files
 
As per another thread, I had my E3 fixed at Oly service and the firmware upgraded to 1.3. Now Silkypix won't process the RAW files properly. It will show the first 'draft' thumbnail, which I'm guessing is the embedded jpeg in the raw file, but it never gets to stage 2 (which is to show a nice sharp thumbnail) and it won't show the full size image if you double click on it.

Anyone else seen this behaviour? Lightroom is ok. I'm wondering if it's just my E3 that's knacked, or is this a known problem with Silkypix/E3 Raw.
Does anyone know of any 1.3 raw files anywhere I can download?

Interesting that the 1.3 upgrade seems to have changed the raw files somehow.

StephenL 2nd April 2009 04:01 PM

Re: Silkypix won't process E3 1.3 RAW files
 
I can put an E3 raw file on my web site if you wish? I can then give you the direct URL.

andym 2nd April 2009 04:39 PM

Re: Silkypix won't process E3 1.3 RAW files
 
John

I use Silkypix as my main raw convertor and am running 1.3 firmware.


I have no problems.


I am running version 3.0.18.3 of Silkypix.

Ian 2nd April 2009 05:13 PM

Re: Silkypix won't process E3 1.3 RAW files
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by andym (Post 40980)
John

I use Silkypix as my main raw convertor and am running 1.3 firmware.


I have no problems.


I am running version 3.0.18.3 of Silkypix.

I happen to have Version: 3.0.28.1 installed and it seems to be working normally with 1.3 firmware E-3 files too.

I must say, though I find Silkypix very hard work...

Ian

jdal 2nd April 2009 06:03 PM

Re: Silkypix won't process E3 1.3 RAW files
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by StephenL (Post 40977)
I can put an E3 raw file on my web site if you wish? I can then give you the direct URL.

Cheers, that'd be great.

jdal 2nd April 2009 06:06 PM

Re: Silkypix won't process E3 1.3 RAW files
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ian (Post 40992)
I happen to have Version: 3.0.28.1 installed and it seems to be working normally with 1.3 firmware E-3 files too.

I must say, though I find Silkypix very hard work...

Ian

It's a bit of an acqured taste, I agree, but I don't like Lightrooms interface all that much either. It sems to want 2 gig as it's so slooooow on my 1 gig machine.

I preferred the output from Silkypix over ACR/Lightroom for the E300, but for the E3 I think lightroom's colours most closely match the jpeg output.

jdal 2nd April 2009 06:35 PM

Re: Silkypix won't process E3 1.3 RAW files
 
I'd appreciate it if someone could try out http://www.dalrymple.me.uk/personal/test_pics/ and try v3_1.orf on Silkypix I'd appreciate it. I've tried on the latest version 3.0.27.6 and it doesn't work.

StephenL 2nd April 2009 06:46 PM

Re: Silkypix won't process E3 1.3 RAW files
 
PM sent with url for raw file

PaulE 2nd April 2009 06:52 PM

Re: Silkypix won't process E3 1.3 RAW files
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jdal (Post 41011)
I'd appreciate it if someone could try out http://www.dalrymple.me.uk/personal/test_pics/ and try v3_1.orf on Silkypix I'd appreciate it. I've tried on the latest version 3.0.27.6 and it doesn't work.

That RAW file won't work for me in Silkypix latest version 3.0.27.6 either.

andym 2nd April 2009 06:54 PM

Re: Silkypix won't process E3 1.3 RAW files
 
No it wont open

You can see the preveiw image which i assume is the embeded Jpeg.

andym 2nd April 2009 07:04 PM

Re: Silkypix won't process E3 1.3 RAW files
 
Somethig wrong with that image.The only one of my raw developers it will open in is Raw Therapee

jdal 2nd April 2009 07:10 PM

Re: Silkypix won't process E3 1.3 RAW files
 
Ok, thanks all. I can open Stephens image fine, mine I can't. Others can't open my image, so it looks like when my firmware update went wrong it went badly wrong and Oly's reset of the camera hasn't worked properly. That would explain both focus and image problems.

Thanks for the assistance on this everyone!

*chr all round

DerekW 3rd April 2009 10:01 AM

Re: Silkypix won't process E3 1.3 RAW files
 
Possibly redundant response - but the file was opened and displayed by Aperture.


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:12 PM.


The Write Technology Ltd, 2007-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger