PDA

View Full Version : Zuiko 35mm macro VS Zuiko 50mm macro.

rgb_123
12th June 2010, 10:03 AM
Hello everybody :)

I'm glad I have finally found an Olympus based forum. I have tried to post a few questions on the larger UK based forums but generally get shunned by all the Nikon & Canon fanboys LOL!!.

Anyway here's where I'm at...

I'm rather new to photography & a complete newbie in the area I'm concentrating on; Jewellery. Yeah, I know - not the easiest place to start but oh well. I am shooting highly polished silver jewellery on a white background for a website.

The kit I have is as follows:

Olympus E-520 (+ED 14-42mm kit lens)
Zuiko 35mm (http://www.olympus.co.uk/consumer/dslr_ZUIKO_DIGITAL_35mm_1_3_5_Macro.htm) macro lens
Light tent
Tripod
2 5000k 150w Lights
Camera Remote

After playing with the curves, saturation & a light background erase in Photoshop the results I'm getting are ok, but not 100% yet :confused:. The images look a bit blurred & the whites tend to be slightly blown out.

I'm shooting in Manual mode with the 35mm macro & ISO/100, 1/50s shutter speed, F14, custom white balance (to match lights), auto focus, with remote shutter release.

I have recently been thinking about selling my 35mm & then buying the 50mm (http://www.olympus.co.uk/consumer/dslr_ZUIKO_DIGITAL_ED_50mm_1_2_0_Macro.htm) macro which I have heard good things about... your thoughts?

If anyone has any experience or tips regarding camera settings or shoot setup or anything else they want to share with me pleeease do :)

Thanks.

E-3
12th June 2010, 10:43 AM
Changing from the 35mm macro to the 50mm macro wont make matters any better, the 35mm is a very sharp lens so i think this is a focusing issue, or your not using a tripod, which is giving you movement blur :-)

RogerMac
12th June 2010, 11:04 AM