PDA

View Full Version : Filter Question

stevednp3
14th May 2010, 05:10 PM
Hi Everyone

I was hoping someone could answer my following question, I recently bought a 12-60mm and the kind gentleman supplied a UV filter with it.

I've never used a UV filter before and was wondering if its ok to double up on the UV filter with other filters ie polariser and ND screw in filters or is it normally best to remove the UV first ?

Cheers

Steve

Ian
14th May 2010, 05:32 PM
UV filters were popular for film cameras reduce excessive blue in bright and sunny conditions (the filter is slightly yellow) but mainly to protect the front element of the lens. Personally, I don't use protective filters. An extra layer of glass potentially sacrifices image quality. If you look after your lenses you shouldn't have problems without protective filters.

I certainly wouldn't recommend sandwiching filters if at all possible.

Ian

j.baker
14th May 2010, 05:32 PM
I would always suggest that your remove the existing filters first.

stevednp3
14th May 2010, 05:50 PM
*chr Guys, that answers that for me then, I cant be lazy :D

theMusicMan
14th May 2010, 06:37 PM
Hi Steve

I am 100% with Ian here, and tend not to use UV filters on lenses. Why place a sheet of glass unnecessarily in front of an expensive series of elements??

Just take care with your lenses and they will be fine.

JerryE-1
14th May 2010, 06:55 PM
I'm firmly in the no protective filter camp, but I like to keep lens hoods permanently attached to my lenses for the impact protection they offer. I'd only ever use a filter to protect from flying grit and stones if I needed to shoot rally cars at close range.

Jerry.

stevednp3
14th May 2010, 06:58 PM
Cheers John, I hear mixed reviews on this, but do see your point, unless its a very expensive filter, its not going to match the quality of the glass in the lens *chr

I will do some tests and pixel peep :o

David M
14th May 2010, 09:40 PM