PDA

View Full Version : Monopod questions

snaarman
22nd April 2010, 07:06 AM
I am considering buying a monopod (something I have never used before).
I am looking for advice from pod owners I guess.

So, here is my list of requrements and my questions...

It needs to double as a walking pole, and be light.
It needs to extend to a reasonable height (I am 6ft tall) yet collapse so that it isn't an encumberance.
I think it needs a tilt head (BTW - why would you need a pan and tilt head on a monopole?) and it needs a QR camera plate (why would you want your camera attached by screw, surely that's inconvenient?)
I don't think I want a footrest (what's the point??)

I don't have a fortune to spend, I would like good but cheap I guess. For example I have a splendid Manfrotto tripod in the Garage here. Built like a tank, solid as a rock, it was quite expensive, but its too heavy and I use it about twice a year. By contrast I've had this cheap Cobra aluminium and polycarbonate tripod that is not quite so rigid but light - so I use that a lot more :-)

Any comments and experiences you monopodophiles?

Pete

Ian
22nd April 2010, 07:19 AM
I have a Manfrotto 681 three section monopod and a 234RC quick release tilt head. I really wanted a 680 four section monopod (shorter when closed up) but I needed on quickly and the shop didn't have a 680 in stock.

Apart from the size when not in use, the 681 is a very fine monopod, as is the 234RC head.

Ian

snaarman
22nd April 2010, 07:31 AM
Hmm. I can see I will have to start researching this subject... 3 sections or 4 etc

I had a mad photo idea that could use a monopod. I wonder if anyone has tried this?

If you fit a wide angle lens on your E620, use its articulating screen and set live view and self timer.... Could you use the monopod and tilt head to take a top-down or overhead view of a scene by lifting the camera up above your head on top of the monopole to get the extra altitude?