PDA

View Full Version : Something stange with my new 12-60


Greytop
22nd March 2010, 05:31 PM
I've had it for a few days now and have taken a few images with it. It seemed fine until I noticed today that the 12-60 or my E-30 is reporting the wrong focal length in the meta data. As an example if I zoom to 60mm take an image then zoom back to 12mm and take another image, the image at 12mm is reported as 60mm. This appears to happen almost 100% in this sequence. However if I take an image at mid zoom then return to 12mm and take another image 12mm it is reported correctly :confused:

Anybody had a similar experience? Looks like a return of lens is in order :(

Examples of below, checkout the meta data.

Reported as 60mm
http://img100.imageshack.us/img100/5020/p3220164.jpg

Reported as 60mm, should be 12mm
http://img687.imageshack.us/img687/7783/p3220163.jpg

Reported as 12mm correctly
http://img87.imageshack.us/img87/9365/p3210155x.jpg

Reported as 60mm, should be 12mm
http://img101.imageshack.us/img101/8629/p3210154.jpg

Ian
22nd March 2010, 05:39 PM
It's worth ensuring that the lens and body contacts are clean, and that the firmware is up to date (v1.1) - if that doesn't help, it certainly does look like a fault in the lens.

Reminds me of the very original pre-production Olympus Micro Four Thirds lense I tried that reported strange focal lengths from time to time, but this was fixed before the lenses went on sale as far as I now.

Ian

mike_j
22nd March 2010, 05:49 PM
original pre-production Olympus Micro Four Thirds lense

Ian

Ian!!!!! Bad boy!:D

Greytop
22nd March 2010, 05:54 PM
It's worth ensuring that the lens and body contacts are clean, and that the firmware is up to date (v1.1) - if that doesn't help, it certainly does look like a fault in the lens.

Reminds me of the very original pre-production Olympus Micro Four Thirds lense I tried that reported strange focal lengths from time to time, but this was fixed before the lenses went on sale as far as I now.

Ian

Ian, thanks for responding so quickly. All seems to be present and correct, body firmware is V1.1 and 12-60 firmware is V1.1. The contacts are pristine in both the body and lens.

forester
22nd March 2010, 06:03 PM
Ian, thanks for responding so quickly. All seems to be present and correct, body firmware is V1.1 and 12-60 firmware is V1.1. The contacts are pristine in both the body and lens.

Ask The retailer to replace the lens as it was sent out faulty, I have always had bad luck using that retailer, bits missing that should have been sent and once a damaged lens that was sent out as new :mad:

Ian
23rd March 2010, 08:56 AM
Ian!!!!! Bad boy!:D

My tgpyni seems to be getting worse with age :(

Ian

Greytop
23rd March 2010, 05:47 PM
A quick update the 12-60 is going back to the supplier tomorrow to be replaced with a new unit.
Further observation leads me to conclude that there is something very wrong with the internal zoom position electronics because not only does the lens report 60mm at an actual 12mm but it also stops down to f/4.0. Then as soon as you move off the stop at 12mm (read as 60) the aperture opens up to f/2.8 I guess as you would expect because the two are linked (Position & aperture).

I hope my replacement 12-60 is like my original 12-60 from a year and a half ago... faultless.

forester
23rd March 2010, 06:00 PM
I will keep my fingers crossed for you Huw *chr

Greytop
27th March 2010, 05:28 PM
Just a quick update, a new replacement 12-60 arrived from SRS this morning. This one works perfectly and to top it all is very slightly sharper wide open than the faulty one that went back, all in all very pleased :)