PDA

View Full Version : Filters

Mickyjoe
8th February 2010, 05:00 PM
Hi All.

got my new E-420 recently and very pleased with it. im looking for filters for my kit lens to improve images, mainly of landscapes. ive been looking but kinda getting confused with it all. one filter might be 58mm and another 52mm. so as you can tell im new to this..just wondering which is which and why the different sizes?

a simple request for some, but hard for me :confused: :eek:

Thanks *chr

shenstone
8th February 2010, 05:35 PM
Welcome on board MickyJoe - nice to see another "local" whereever in Wales you are

The last part first ...

52 or 58 are simply the diameter of the front of the lens - you need a filter the same size to fit so if the front of the lens is 52 you need a 52 ets. It's written on the front of the lens e.g 52

In terms of what you "need" Start with a UV filter if not already fitted as it's the most sensible thing to have on the front of your lens to protect it. If you don't understand why yet then take a look at this recent near horror story where a filter saved an expensive lens http://e-group.uk.net/forum/showthread.php?t=8209

After that, for landscapes many people use a polarising filter to darken blue skies. For the E-System like most Autofocus you need a CPL or Circular polariser. This is the same as any polarising filter, but with an additional circular filter to allow the AF system to work. You can spin the filter around to allow all the light or filter some our as you prefer. Some people don't like the effect and increasingly people are doing this in software post processing. I have to admit to still preferring to take a number of shots in the field with a polarizer as I like to see the effect whilst I'm there. As well as darkening skies it can cut reflections on water which can change the look of a picture quite a lot. You can't do this in PP which why I think this is still a very sensible next step.