PDA

View Full Version : Updating firmware - remove memory card?


Ellie
7th February 2008, 02:19 PM
I've never updated my E-400, but it looks as if there's something on the Olympus site that changes the 'mode' colour to natural, or offers a choice.

I haven't used any of the modes since I first got the camera (when I tried out everything it could do) partly because I didn't like the bright colour. I use aperture priority almost all the time now, but it might be fun to try something different sometimes.

I read somewhere, ages ago, that it's a good idea to take out the memory cards when updating anything, I don't remember why. Is that the right thing to do?

R MacE
7th February 2008, 02:48 PM
Hi Ellie,

I recently updated my E-3 and I did remove both memory cards.

Richard

art frames
7th February 2008, 02:48 PM
Ellie

don't have an E400 to talk about specifics but in general it is wise to do as much as you can to avoid any issues with updating firmware. Standard advice from Olympus is:

take out the memory card

charge the battery before updating

I'd just add from my experience E500, E1 and E3 (scary that one!) ....read the instructions a number of times and take your time. It isn't hard.

I'm sure someone with an E400 will talk about what you get for the upgrade.

Peter

Ellie
8th February 2008, 01:16 AM
Thanks everybody :)

I haven't got the courage to do it yet, I think I'll leave it until we've been away on a short holiday. I'd hate to make a mess of it and end up without my camera when there are new things to see.

RogerMac
8th February 2008, 04:47 AM
I have updated the E510 several times plus one lens without any hastle. Just remember to have a fully charged battery and connect the camera (storage mode) before you load Master.

I always have left the card in to avoid any card missing error messages but I made sure that any important images were copied to the computer first. Just in case!

Roger

Melaka
8th February 2008, 07:49 AM
Thanks everybody :)

I haven't got the courage to do it yet, I think I'll leave it until we've been away on a short holiday. I'd hate to make a mess of it and end up without my camera when there are new things to see.

At various times I've updated the E1, E3, E500 and FE200 all with the card in place and a freshly charged battery and there's never been a problem. It only takes a few minutes.

theMusicMan
8th February 2008, 07:49 AM
Hi Ellie - honestly, you really have nothing to worry about when upgrading your cameras firmware, it rally is very simple.

I do appreciate the apprehension though, but keep calm, work out and read through the upgrade process so that you know what to do next, take a few deep breaths, and go for it.

Tell you what... if I were to say that I am more than happy to offer to help/support you as you go through the process... would that help...? Maybe we could set up an IM chat, or... if you have a Mac... an iChat session...? Please do shout if this would help.

I haven't upgraded my E-510 yet and so can run through the upgrade as you do, swapping progress notes as the firmware upgrade goes through each of its steps.

Over to you m'lady...:)

HughofBardfield
8th February 2008, 11:24 AM
I always have left the card in to avoid any card missing error messages but I made sure that any important images were copied to the computer first. Just in case!

Roger

Ditto - never occurred to me to take them out. Had no problems with E500 and E510 updates and even eventually beat the E1 into submission - all with cards on board. I think fresh batteries and making sure nothing disturbs the USB lead are probably more important...

However, I sympathise, as it is traumatic the first time you do it. Just follow the instructions carefully and you'll be fine. If you can take up TheMusicMan's offer, I'm sure it'll help!

Nick Temple-Fry
8th February 2008, 11:54 AM
I've always suspected that the occaisional advice to remove the memory card is to remove any risk of conflict - if the card is in and the computer is configured to associate the usb device/media types with an application, then you could get the computer trying to talk to the card whilst the update is running. This is probably less than ideal and potentially a source of problems.

Nick

Ellie
8th February 2008, 11:44 PM
It's good to know I'm not the only one who is (or has been) a bit apprehensive about doing a firmware update. :)

I do appreciate the apprehension though ...

Over to you m'lady...:)
The last time I did anything above basic I managed to kill the computer, it's made me rather nervous of taking the initiative, and all I did was defragment the thing. It went beep and that was that, end of hard disc!

I probably will take you up on your offer, but not before our break - which starts middle of next week, we're back end of the following week. I've got a Skype account, don't do messenger or stuff like that. But, will it affect any download if the internet is being used for something else? Our is a fairly slow broadband.

Zuiko
1st March 2008, 09:35 PM
It doesn't always go smoothly!

I updated my E510 recently without removing the cards. Since then I've had problems transferring pictures from the camera to the computer. The camera will upload between three and six pictures, then get stuck. The only way to progress is to cancel the upload, delete the picture already uploaded from the card, then transfer another 3 to 6 images and keep repeating.

The other solution I have found is to put the card in my old E500 and upload from there, without any problems. It's hardly ideal and I wish I'd never bothered. :(

I'll certainly never download firmware to a camera again!

Zuiko

Belsaye
6th March 2008, 01:49 PM
I have been attempting to update my firmware to my E1, with Olympus viewer all I get is the message ' Unable to detect camera check if the camera is correctly connected to the PC' I know that the usb cable is connected my PC tells me so, I have also tried on my laptop, same message.

Any ideas, assistance would be appreciated.


BJK:confused:

andym
6th March 2008, 01:55 PM
I have been attempting to update my firmware to my E1, with Olympus viewer all I get is the message ' Unable to detect camera check if the camera is correctly connected to the PC' I know that the usb cable is connected my PC tells me so, I have also tried on my laptop, same message.

Any ideas, assistance would be appreciated.


BJK:confused:


BJK

See this thread,you probably need to download the driver for XP service pack 2

http://e-group.uk.net/forum/showthread.php?t=90

Belsaye
6th March 2008, 02:15 PM
andym

Many thanks updating as I write this, it's all a load of drivers!!!!!!!!!


Bjk

andym
6th March 2008, 02:15 PM
Have a look at this page,I believe you may need the USB auto connect driver about half way down

http://www.olympus.co.jp/en/support/imsg/digicamera/download/software/#driver

andym
6th March 2008, 02:16 PM
We must have been typing at the same time.

Glad to have helped

OlyFlyer
6th March 2008, 04:50 PM
oops!

I always forget that, and never remove the cards. So far so good, both the E-500 and two E-3s has been updated without problems. But I suppose it is always best to remove.

theMusicMan
6th March 2008, 05:36 PM
Each of the updates I have carried out have had the CF cards and an xD card inserted - both upgrades went well, with no issues.