PDA

View Full Version : SOLVED E3 problem


Melaka
18th October 2009, 07:05 PM
I have a 4Gb Extreme III card and, as fall back, a 2Gb XD card in my E3.

Last week I took a large number of photos using the CF card, leaving, I think, 79 unused frames. I have a vague recollection there were fewer frames showing than I had expected before I started, but cannot be sure. I copied the pix to the PC and then deleted them from the CF card using Windows.

This morning I switched on and only 79 frames were showing. I formatted the CF card but still only got 79. I switched to the XD and that showed 79 also. I took 11 pix on the XD and 24 on the CF at the end of which both cards showed 43. I took both cards out and inserted a 2Gb Extreme III which also showed 43 frames. I formatted that and still only got 43.

It appears the problem lies in the camera rather than the cards. Can anyone help please?

EH1
18th October 2009, 07:10 PM
Have you tried to reset the camera? this often sorts problems out on the E-3.

Melaka
18th October 2009, 09:34 PM
Thank you. I've given it a try but just lost all my old settings without getting any more frames! It looks as if it will have to go back to Olympus.

Joop
18th October 2009, 10:56 PM
I have a 4Gb Extreme III card and, as fall back, a 2Gb XD card in my E3.

Last week I took a large number of photos using the CF card, leaving, I think, 79 unused frames. I have a vague recollection there were fewer frames showing than I had expected before I started, but cannot be sure. I copied the pix to the PC and then deleted them from the CF card using Windows.

This morning I switched on and only 79 frames were showing. I formatted the CF card but still only got 79. I switched to the XD and that showed 79 also. I took 11 pix on the XD and 24 on the CF at the end of which both cards showed 43. I took both cards out and inserted a 2Gb Extreme III which also showed 43 frames. I formatted that and still only got 43.

It appears the problem lies in the camera rather then the cards. Can anyone help please?
You have to format the cards in the camera, don't do anything in Windows then only copying to a folder. Also deleting in camera is better than deleting by Windows. The reason for this is that (small) bugs are repaired by Microsoft when you log on for an update while the software in the E-3 might have an other version of that program if they are the same, which I don't believe. Due to these upgrades small changes might be made to the toc of the card. This can give problems in the camera.

Melaka
19th October 2009, 06:11 AM
Thank you. The formatting was done in camera and I'm increasingly sure it's a camera issue not a card one as even cards that have not been used recently in the camera exhibit the same problem.

Nick Temple-Fry
19th October 2009, 07:10 AM
Well, this a strange one.

I might try


shooting all 43 (or 79) and see if it recalculates (seems to do so in the last 10-15 shots)

trying a completely new card (the cheapest you can get in Tescos etc) just to rule out any card header corruption coming from your computer/card reader.

Taking out the battery for 48hrs +, just in case it's a memory field that's stuck.

Let us know how you get on - I think we are all intrigued.

Nick

Melaka
19th October 2009, 04:45 PM
Thanks. I fired off the remaining 43 shots until I got to zero. I then did a reset and formatted the card. Bingo it showed 256 frames (it was the 2Gb card). I've shot off a few and am now waiting to put in another card and see what that reads.

Nick Temple-Fry
19th October 2009, 05:02 PM
Sounds promising - let's hope there is no relapse.

Nick

Melaka
20th October 2009, 09:15 AM
Phew! It seems to have worked. Many thanks to all who offered advice.

PeterD
20th October 2009, 09:51 AM
David,

I had the same problem as you see http://e-group.uk.net/forum/showthread.php?t=5903

I re-formatted using the PC.

Melaka
20th October 2009, 10:33 AM
Thanks for flagging that up - I had forgotten about it. I think the difference in my case was that all three cards (two CF and one XD) I tried showed the reduced number of available frames which is what led me to think it was a camera rather than a card problem.

PeterD
20th October 2009, 10:45 AM
Thanks for flagging that up - I had forgotten about it. I think the difference in my case was that all three cards (two CF and one XD) I tried showed the reduced number of available frames which is what led me to think it was a camera rather than a card problem.

It may well be worth having a trouble shooting tips section on the site (Faqs). These sorts of issues which can easily be resolved are lost in the mountain of posts. What about it Ian?