PDA

View Full Version : AF issues on E-410


davinharvey
16th September 2009, 09:28 AM
Hi,

I've had my E-410 for a couple of years now, and recently I've noticed that the auto-focus has pretty much stopped working when using the 3-point auto selection. The AF is OK if I manually select the centre point, but not with either of the 2 outside ones. I can change it manually, but the camera loses the change when I turn the camera off and back on.

So, this brings up 2 questions really:

1) Any advice on what could be wrong/what I can clean to solve this.
2) If the answer to 1) comes to nothing, is there any way I can make the camera save the AF setting between power cycles.

One more thing, it doesn't matter what the lighting is like, inside or outside, nor whether I'm using the internal flash or an FL36. The camera will pretty much refuse to focus.

Thanks
Davin

Ian
16th September 2009, 10:56 AM
Hi,

I've had my E-410 for a couple of years now, and recently I've noticed that the auto-focus has pretty much stopped working when using the 3-point auto selection. The AF is OK if I manually select the centre point, but not with either of the 2 outside ones. I can change it manually, but the camera loses the change when I turn the camera off and back on.

So, this brings up 2 questions really:

1) Any advice on what could be wrong/what I can clean to solve this.
2) If the answer to 1) comes to nothing, is there any way I can make the camera save the AF setting between power cycles.

One more thing, it doesn't matter what the lighting is like, inside or outside, nor whether I'm using the internal flash or an FL36. The camera will pretty much refuse to focus.

Thanks
Davin

Grabbing at straws here - but have you cleaned the lens and body electrical contacts with a clean, lint-free, cloth?

Ian

davinharvey
16th September 2009, 11:09 AM
Thanks Ian - I haven't done anything as yet except check the lenses and shutter mechanism inside the camera for dirt. Unfortunately, it's not just me that uses the camera and my kids are not quite as careful when changing lenses as me. I cleaned the rear of the lenses, which improved things for a while but it's worse than ever now.

I'll try what you suggest tonight and see how it goes.

Davin

cychwr
16th September 2009, 11:13 AM
In all but the auto mode you can choose Auto reset, from the settings, the camera will then keep your last setting.

davinharvey
17th September 2009, 09:28 PM
Well, it looks like I might have sorted it. I tried wiping the contacts but that made no difference. Then I found a post on another forum (http://photo.net/olympus-camera-forum/00RHbH) regarding dust getting onto the AF sensor as it is in a pit at the bottom of the camera, and is pretty much the only place for dust to settle when it gets shaken off by the SSWF.

I put my cleaning brush in to try and clear some of the dust that may have been in there and the AF is much, much better now. I'm going to get one of those rocket air blowers tomorrow and finish the job off, but I'm actually quite hopeful that it'll be fine.

Davin

Ian
18th September 2009, 07:52 AM
Well, it looks like I might have sorted it. I tried wiping the contacts but that made no difference. Then I found a post on another forum (http://photo.net/olympus-camera-forum/00RHbH) regarding dust getting onto the AF sensor as it is in a pit at the bottom of the camera, and is pretty much the only place for dust to settle when it gets shaken off by the SSWF.

I put my cleaning brush in to try and clear some of the dust that may have been in there and the AF is much, much better now. I'm going to get one of those rocket air blowers tomorrow and finish the job off, but I'm actually quite hopeful that it'll be fine.

Davin

Thanks for letting us know - I hadn't thought of that. Another new lesson learned!

Ian

ChrisW
18th September 2009, 10:24 AM
I had similar problems with my E1 and found what looked like fine cotton strands over the pit at the bottom of the camera body where the AF sensor lives. I tried a blower, but this did not remove them.

In the end I went hi-tech and used a toothpick with a tiny finger of blue of Blu-Tac on its end to remove the cotton strands. Needless to say I took great care not to touch the AF sensor, but only the edges of the pit above it.

Presumably somebody had been poking around inside the camera with cotton buds, or something similar in the past :eek: